We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old Cebu charm in this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Cebu City
Bacolod, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“old Cebu charm in this hotel.”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

a stones throw away from Basilica Minore,Cebu Metropolitan Cathedral & Magellan's Cross..very convenient area,there is an Island Souvenir Shop beside the hotel,711 convenience store & Cebu city hall for a short walk..staffs were friendly and helpful,an Ilonggo staff was ever ready to assist & very courteous. the in house restaurant serves delicious meals,very generous too when I ask for an extra cucumber & banana for my breakfast.

Room Tip: choose rooms on the higher floors,Cebu lights during the night is captivating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raymmiconmapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    84
    81
    13
    8
See reviews for
47
46
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pasig, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The hotel is located close to tourist attractions in Cebu City (Sto Niño Basilica, Fort San Pedro, Magellan's Cross, etc). Also, fast food chains and establishments are just a few blocks away. Room rates are reasonable and the room is clean and well maintained. I got a room with a view of the Basilica and upper Cebu City.

Stayed here last September 2013.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The hotel is just located about 200 steps to the Basilica os Sto. Nino and the cross of Magellan. Very convenient since all restaurants around the church are packed and most establishments do not allow non-patrons to use their restroom or the line is long, you can walk back anytime to your own private room for rest and relaxatoon. One of the best parts is how corteous and helpfull ALL of the staff. Will definitely stay there again for 2015 Sinulog Festival.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk to assist you with regards to tranportation and tour guide for your Cebu tour. Ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilAm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloocan, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had a business meeting in cebu and my client arranged an accomodation in Sampaguita suites, plaza garcia branch, stayed for 3 days and 2 nights.

the location is near Cebus famous spots, Magellan cross, Sto. Nino Church, Capitol. A 7-11 a few meters from the hotel, mc donalds just across the street.

The rooms are pretty neat with basic ameneties like hot and cold shower, cable tv, telephone, and a very comfy pillows and mattress.

elevator with soft touch buttons hehe,

cons, quite far from the airport.

i just like the location of the hotel specially a night, no theres no parteee happening, just love the old feel of the environment, the old structures, the lights, the serenity ( 9 pm onwards ) makes you feel like your in a different city.

the best part is that the rate is affordable if not the most affordable hotel in Cebu, about 18$

i will stay here again thats for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank morenosherwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati City
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Sampaguita Suites has a perfect location, close to almost all tourist attraction of Cebu. Right beside Sto. Niño Basilica and Magellan's Cross. Few blocks away to other location like Plaza and AA Bbq. Another thing, the price of the room is just right for your budget. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaCastisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights from 17/9 to 22/9 at Room 604. We can see the sea from the room. Room is small but sufficient as it has a cabinet with good storage place (unlike most of the budget hotel which doesn't even have a place to hang our clothes). Aircon super cold, water heater and pressure inconsistent. Cabel TV actually has tons of watchable channels. If you asked for any assistance like towel, a flask of hot water , it would happened in a speed of lightning. Not many hotel , even the 5 stars hotel can provide such efficient service.

The staff named Chan is extremely helpful and always cheerful and smiling. He seems to understand our needs and pointed us to all the right place from local eatery, laundry service, internet cafe etc.

The location is simply great as we walked to all the nearby attraction like Magellen Cross, Cebu Metropolitan Cathedral, Yap Santiago House, Plaza Independence, Fort San Pedro ,Colon Street, City Hall.

24 hours Mc Donald is just across the street. The 7-11 is a stone throw away and Internet Cafe and Laundry service (25 peso per kg, minimum 2 kg) located 3 blocks away. Same roll there is a little eatery called Nito's Lechon that sells great roaster pig (about 60 peso for a serving of pork, rice and coke) . We went to the famous TNT Lechon just opposite SM Mall but we prefer Nito's lechon (Open daily from 10am to 8pm). Another place the staff recommend was the AA BBQ next to Plaza Independence, yummy food at reasonable price, try their Green Mango shake.

The street kids at the corner of the hotel as well as street vendors doesn't really bug us much as they are not persistent.

Overall a very pleasant experience. Very good base for our stay in Cebu.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lixT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Superb customer service,..
Kudos to all the staff and crew of this hotel,they are so friendly and accommodating all through out of our stay.keep up the good work guys,..
We will definitely stay at this property again,..good location,food is great,clean room..two thumbs up...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clifton_pascual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#24 of 89 in Cebu City
53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
1.1 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#6 of 89 in Cebu City
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#74 of 89 in Cebu City
89 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
#30 of 89 in Cebu City
87 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#59 of 89 in Cebu City
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia

Property: Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia
Address: Magallanes St. | Plaza Garcia Building, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
#10 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and Cancelon so you can book your Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location Hotel Cebu City
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing