We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of Alba Uno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alba Uno Hotel
Ranked #18 of 83 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This is a very nice place. The building is pretty new. For the price, it's a steal. Comfortable beds, 32" LCD TV, hot and cold shower, very cheap breakfast (less than $3.00), accomodating staff, you can't ask for more. The only downside is the location. Yes, its near IT Park with a lot of shops, offices, restaurants and banks, the immediate vicinity is not quite nice. But you can always ask the guard to get you a cab and it's just about 2 minutes to IT Park (about $1.00, yes it's that near) and about 5 mins to Ayala Center (a very nice mall).

Take note though, it's not a hotel. It's a bed & breakfast (hostel as the call it in Hong Kong), but its very good for the price.

If you are looking for a hotel accomodation, book the nearby Waterfront Hotel. Price is about 3 times more.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DennisMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

I will never regret staying in Alba Uno whilst enjoying my visit to Cebu. It's awesome. I like the scenery, staff, food and the bed feels like home. I will see you soon! Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainsaleramirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Alba Uno is a small but newer hotel and is very centrally located, walking distance to IT Park. Reception is always smiling and always willing to assist in anyway possible. They also have secured parking for those who are renting cars. If you didn't rent a car and need to go anywhere reception will call for a cab and it's usually there within 5 mins. We stayed in a couple different rooms on a couple different dates as Cebu was our base for travel in the Phils. All rooms were well appointed and if anything was out of order they wouldn't hesitate to assist. The only issue I had with this hotel is the shower heads did work properly and there wasn't really any good water pressure. I mentioned that to management so hopefully they will get it corrected.
Notes for fussy travelers: There is a 'squater' camp right next to the hotel but we were never bothered by these people. The area seems a little bit sketchy but I never felt unsafe. Also, you might see a couple ants in the rooms but I've learned this is pretty standard anywhere in SE Asia.
I was there with my Fiance but this hotel is suitable for families, solos or business travelers. In short, they can accommodate most.
This is an excellent hotel for the price, why pay more for less!

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zachman97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Came here in June 2011 to avoid the exorbitant prices of the hotels.

It is a very well-designed little inn. Probably built a few months before my visit.

We definitely got what we paid for. Excellent accommodation and DELICIOUS food. Very prompt and courteous staff (they can speak excellent English). Alba Uno has a little cafe at the ground floor which serves any type of coffee drink you can think of, and absolutely delightful food.

Very few drawbacks: an inexperienced shuttle driver, breakfast took FOREVER to cook (though only on our first day), water heater didn't work, and security guard kept on smoking (the smoke would reach the cafe area).

Room Tip: Internet bookings get discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AceLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

My experience with Alba Uno:
Good thing: The lobby and room interior are well designed, elevators
Bad thing: Aircon is leaking the whole time, faucet is not functioning well
Worst things: Taxi drivers rarely know the hotel location
Around squatter area, far from big roads
Waste of time waiting for a cab to pass by the hotel area (at least 10 mins for a cab, will reach up to 30 mins for 2 cabs)
Security guards are not helpful in finding taxis (he even told us to walk and search for a jeepney at 5am and didn't bother help us with our luggages!, very snob and not-friendly receptionist (especially the lady who is on the night shift: she accused another guest of not paying his room when in fact it was not even his--it was ours; not to mention she spent the whole time combing her hair and surfing the net)
Got stuck in the room CR for almost half an hour because the door knob is defective, so the guard and the repairman have to destroy it, the door was open the entire night (there was not even a single "sorry" from any of the hotel members/receptionist/guard/repairman)

Our decision: Move to another hotel

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank si_kat07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We chose Alba Uno Inn because its way cheaper than other hotels. It is located near the IT Center but you have to walk like 2km in the suburbs to reach it. Beds have hair and blood trace and cr door locks itself and would not open.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pandaginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Simple six story hotel, good for travellers who have businesses in Asiatech, Cebu's I.T. Hub. The area surrounding the hotel is not yet fully developed at this time.
Rooms are clean and a bit cramped,
No free toothbrush or anything fancy, just one sache of shampoo and one hand soap.
Breakfast is not included when you stay but can be ordered separately.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shandawanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.8 mi away
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
#23 of 92 in Cebu City
248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
1.6 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
West Gorordo Hotel Cebu
West Gorordo Hotel Cebu
#34 of 92 in Cebu City
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tsai Hotel & Residences
Tsai Hotel & Residences
#32 of 92 in Cebu City
48 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
#6 of 92 in Cebu City
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba Uno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Uno Hotel

Address: | 1007 Villa Amores Compound, Apas, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range: £19 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alba Uno Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alba Uno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Uno Residencia Hotel Cebu City
Alba Uno Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing