We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Elizabeth Cebu
Ranked #17 of 90 Hotels in Cebu City
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good not great”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

They lost our booking?? (even though we rang the day be fore to confirm).Gave us the wrong room, then took 2 phone calls and 3 hours wait to get a missing jug put in our room.This was our forth time to Cebu so we have tried quite a few hotels, this is a good hotel not a great one. The rooms are nice and clean a bit noisy from the traffic below, breakfast was alright not great. Staff friendly and good position to Ayala.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSwagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    124
    50
    12
    20
See reviews for
98
51
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
641 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

This was my third stay here and generally a pleasant experience. The hotel is situated an easy five minute walk to the Ayala Mall and on a busy road although my room was on the quieter side an had excellent views to the sea.
The Ninth floor rooms tend to be larger than normal and the room size was very spacious indeed and extremely comfortable with a luxury bath/shower room and plenty of hot water for both. Good storage, excellent choice of tv channels, super aircon, sofa and writing table, large comfy bed too.
This seems to be very much a business hotel, no pool, large dining room and okay food, good service throughout and very easy to obtain a taxi.
The fundamental problem I experienced was the terribly erratic and slow wifi connection, even after they attempted to resolve the difficulties, this would definitely prevent me from returning as it's a basic requisite in a modern city.
Very impressive to see the hotel responding on this site to almost every post.

Room Tip: Check your wifi connection first !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PutneySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We're stranded at Cebu due to typhoon Pablo. I picked this hotel this because it's near Ayala mall (3 minutes walk) and they have a nice review, we stayed here for 2 nights (Dec 3-5). We got the executive room. It was big and clean. The staffs are friendly and very accommodating, and patiently give us directions we're to buy the best lechon in town. They have buffet breakfast, the choices are minimal but as what Brian G said "pretty decent breakfast". Their housekeeping and room service will attend your needs in a jiffy. There's wifi and it's free.The only thing i don't like about this hotel was the bed. It was hard...my back hurt when i woke the following morning. I slept on the couch on the following night. :-(

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_traveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

And I mean it; just ok. Big comfortable room, but street noise was crazy. We had a room on the fourth floor and still could hear the sounds of the street all night. I got in late that night and after a 19 hour flight I didn't much care. Nice little bistro-type restaurant that provided a pretty decent breakfast the next morning.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle T, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elizabeth Cebu, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Brian G,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Elizabeth Cebu, and also for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you think our rooms spacious and comfortable. It is unfortunate about the noise from outside. We are situated in one of Cebu's busiest business districts so it is usually very busy at any time of the day or night. However, we are working on finding a way to reduce the noise. We hope you can bear with us while we solve this. We hope to have the pleasure of your patronage once more in the future.

Grow with us,
Gabrielle Talan
Corporate PR Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Hotel Elizabeth is a great value hotel, new, clean and located near Ayala Centre. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Wifi is free and easily available. Quiet hotel at night, ideal for business travellers who wants a good rest and not have the noisy & rowdy entertainment joints

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sungimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle T, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elizabeth Cebu, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Sungimann,

Warm greetings from Hotel Elizabeth Cebu! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and for your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you can consider us once more in the future.

Grow with us,

Gabrielle Talan
Corporate PR Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We picked this hotel because the room we chose online (which had a queen sized bed and single bed, perfect for our family with small kids) seemed to offer the best value for money as compared to say, the Radisson. Fortunately, we were not disappointed. Our room was super clean, comfy, well maintained, and just perfect for our 4-day getaway. For Php4800 (around USD110) per night, you get close to practically all the comforts of a 5-star hotel. The only things missing were a mini bar (which we didn't mind, anyway) and a kettle for boiling water (you could borrow one from housekeeping for the entire duration of your stay). There's room service that offers delicious and affordable food items. The hotel also has a modest gym and a spa. Breakfast was included in our rate. Not a super luxurious spread, but more than enough to fill your tummy -- there's a bread and salad station, porridge, rice, and the usual fare like sausages, bacon, adobo, fish, beef steak, plus cereals, fruits, milk, and coffee. And I must say something about the staff's warm and generous service. Everyone was just really nice to us. Housekeeping always attended to our requests (extra rolls of tissue, change of bath mat, etc.) really quickly, plus the doormen were consistently super fast and ready to call on taxis for us. And they never made you feel like you were obligated to leave them tips, too.

Getting around was a real breeze, since taxis are always readily available outside the hotel (and all around Cebu, for that matter). Ayala Center Mall is just a 5-minute walk away, although for the times when we were carrying a lot of things or when the kids were tired we just opted to take the taxi, which cost a very cheap Php50 (a little over USD1) one-way -- a very small price to pay if you want to save your sanity from whining kids! Taxi drivers in Cebu are also extremely honest and friendly, wish I could say the same for those in Manila!

For sightseeing the hotel can also arrange for you a private taxi to take you around, you can opt to pay Php3,000 for an 8-hour tour or Php1,500 for 3 hours. You can tell the driver to take you around anywhere in Cebu -- like the beaches, Magellan's Cross, Basilica of the Sto. Niño, Lapu-Lapu Shrine, Skywalk at Crown Regency, ancestral houses, etc. The food is delicious and super cheap in Cebu too.

Some minor things I didn't like about the hotel... the room has free wifi but the signal was almost always slow and wonky. You will end up not being able to use it most of the time. The airconditioning in our room was also a bit warm -- for some reason you couldn't adjust the temperature above 22C. Shower pressure is also so-so, and there's no tub, just a shower stall. I was also disappointed that the hotel didn't have a pool for those afternoons when you just want to laze by a poolside, you know? Our fault for not researching too well on that note, though. So if your main objective for visiting Cebu is to enjoy the beach, swim at a pool or be surrounded by nature 24/7, this hotel is not for you. Cebu has plenty of resorts for that. But this hotel is definitely perfect for those who want to stay in the city, be close to the financial/commercial districts, be accessible to popular sightseeing spots, and at the same time enjoy clean and comfortable accommodations and wonderful service at a friendly price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browneyedgirlManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Had an emergency trip to Cebu and had a friend book for us. Checked in at 11PM and had a corner room assigned. Check in was quick and easy. Lobby was clean enough with a bar/cafe open until midnight. Walking distance to a nearby 7-11 for a quick midnight bite after an impromptu late night flight.

Up the lifts, the floor (7th) had a musty smell which was also smelled in the room. Smell left after a few minutes with the A/C on. Room adequate in size. Beds were a little too firm, but comfy enough. Bathroom was fairly large, but the amenities were severely wanting. Had to buy soap and shampoo at the 7-11 as the ones provided by the hotel were of poor quality.

Breakfast was forgettable, but since it was included in the rate, I switch my GI system to volume receptor mode.

Location was top notch as it was walking distance to the Ayala Mall, Perpetual Succour Hospital and taxis are abundant (and HONEST) so getting around was easy.

Would consider staying here but will bring my own soap and shampoo...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajeroManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle T, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elizabeth Cebu, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Dear viajeroManila,

Thank you for your review. On behalf of Hotel Elizabeth Cebu, I am glad that you had a fairly good experience staying with us.

I have forwarded your comment regarding our amenities and the scent on the 7th floor to management. Please be assured that we are working to rectify this.

We hope you can consider making us your home in Cebu once more in the future, and allow us to make up for any shortcomings from your past experience at our hotel.

Grow with us,


Gabrielle Talan
Corporate PR Officer
Fersal Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 90 in Cebu City
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 90 in Cebu City
480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 90 in Cebu City
3,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elizabeth Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elizabeth Cebu

Property: Hotel Elizabeth Cebu
Address: Arch.Reyes Ave | Camputhaw, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elizabeth Cebu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established shortly after its predecessor in Baguio, Hotel Elizabeth Cebu has over 130 stately guestrooms and suites all envisioned by Tessa Prieto-Valdes, style icon and celebrated interior decorator. Breathtaking frescos by painter Alfred Galvez and portraits of well-spent travels adorn its Mediterranean-inspired hallways. Situated conveniently in one of Cebu's bustling business districts, the hotel is just a 2-minute walk to Metro Gaisano and Ayala malls, affording guests easy access to leisure activities, such as shopping and sightseeing.A riot of flavors awaits you at the Flora Cafe, where international cuisine is served in the most inventive and appetizing of ways. Enjoy great music and relax at the Piano Bar while sipping on your favorite wines and cocktails. Pamper yourself with our massage service or work up a good sweat at our Fitness Center. Celebrate momentous occasions and attend seminars and conferences in style and luxurious comfort, in our various function rooms and ballroom. You will fall in love with Hotel Elizabeth. It’s an experience on its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Elizabeth Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elizabeth Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing