We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful, comfortable sleep, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harolds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harolds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Restful, comfortable sleep, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Spent 2 nights on business. Glad to flop on a soft, comfortable bed after a long day. Location is good, convenient to and form the city. Taxi from airport around Php 300 and to Ayala Mall is about PHp 50 (walkable, if you weren't in a hurry). Price included breakfast with a reasonable choice. Rooms and hallways were clean, nice amenities, relaxing and quiet. Rooms had thick carpet, warm neutral colors, big TV and free internet access via cable in room and wifi in the public areas. Staff were friendly and accommodating, helped me get a tour guide for half a day.

Room Tip: Mid floors as there is a roofdeck club with a band.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    176
    31
    5
    13
See reviews for
67
117
30
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Booked 4D3N stay at Harolds Hotel through Agoda at USD66.80/night for a Deluxe Room incl. breakfast. Room was on 5F facing the back. The view was of the slum area behind the hotel, but it was quiet, no noise from road traffic.

Hotel is located on Gorordo Avenue. Taxi from Cebu Airport on Mactan Island to hotel costs PHP250. Hotel is about 10min walk to Ayala Center. If you are lazy to walk, taxi costs only PHP50. It is also inexpensive (under PHP100) to take taxi to the other shopping locations like SM City and Fuente Osmeña Circle. Across the road are branches of Citibank and Bank of the Philippine Islands, and Handuraw Pizza on the other side.

There are hotels like Parklane and Elizabeth which are in the same price range as Harolds and much nearer to Ayala City. Harolds should run a free bus shuttle service for guests to Ayala and Osmeña, as a solution to its location, and incentive for guests to stay here.

Hotel is new, 12-storey building. Room had king bed with 5 pillows (nice!), individual Mitsubishi air-conditioner, Sanyo LCD TV, electronic safe, electronic weighing machine, iron and board, hairdryer, kettle, bath tub with rain shower, magnifying mirror, 2 free bottles water every day. The room alarm clock reset back to midnight every time the power was cut off. Access to elevator and room door was by tapping the room key card. Internet by LAN line was free.

Breakfast was a wide selection of about 10 hot dishes (mostly Filipino food), with fruits, cereals, pastries, egg station. The dining area was small, and when the hotel was full, guests had to wait for a seat. In such situations, the hotel should re-direct tour groups to a separate area (like function rooms) for breakfast.

Hotel does not have a concierge or tour desk, although the reception and bell staff tried to be helpful and accommodating. When I wanted to arrange an island-hopping tour, one of the bellhops had to make a personal introduction to a travel agent somewhere else. Unfortunately, in such cases, what was promised verbally might not be what was actually delivered, since the guest had no tour itinerary or brochure. Furthermore, taking a towel from the hotel was a real hassle, because the hotel did not have a pool, and therefore no pool towels. There were many papers to sign off, and warnings that there would be extra charges for stains or damage to the towel. Not a pleasant experience for a normal hotel guest with a normal request.

Housekeeping was inconsistent. On the first night, the amenities pack was missing. The second night was great, with creative presentation on the bed (see photo). The third night was a problem as the bath towels were not changed and the tea/coffee packs were not replenished. A supervisor must inspect every room to make sure that the quality standard is upheld, and not left to the housekeeper on every floor to do as he/she pleases.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back do not have traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Singapore-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Paying P3,200 for a Deluxe Room? Wow, what more can i ask for? 5 Star room amenity at the best rate! Just the perfect Hotel. I fully recommend this hotel to all of you, quite the opposite of what "bigsandy35" is bad mouthing. (which incidentally, i think i know this guy...he's a hotel skipper...doesnt wanna foot his hotel bills and hops around to different hotels faking negative reviews. good luck man, hope they catch your gimmick)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

There is a striking resemblance between this hotel's font and the more illustrious Harrods brand. They are not affiliated, however, so be careful not to confuse this hotel with the opulent Harrods brand. Nonetheless, it leaves up to its slogan as a "premiere business hotel" in Cebu.

I've stayed in Harolds for two nights in their Deluxe Suite. It was a happy consequence of being upgraded to the suite after my prebooked Superior room suddenly became unavailable (it might have been given to a different guest).

The Deluxe Suite was fantastic: a living room with dining area and bar, bedroom, separate flatscreen tvs for the bedroom and living room, a bathroom with a tub and a separate shower enclosure--all in a uncluttered modern style. The toiletries were top-notched ("Pure Herbs", presumably using only natural ingredients for the shampoo, shower gel, soap, lotion, etc.). The staff appeared and acted quite professionally.

The suite I was given was on the 9th floor, facing down Gorordo Avenue so I could see a good span of the Cebu skyline with views of the mountain and part of the sea. The Ayala mall is within line of sight and I estimate about 15-20 minute walk for anybody with a healthy pair of legs through the side streets. Taking a taxi is much more convenient and inexpensive though. The only thing is even on the 9th floor, I could hear hustle and bustle of the vehicles Gorordo Avenue. It became unnerving in the wee hours of the morning when I was awakened by the screeching tires of drag racers (imagine the Fast and the Furious on Gorordo).

I didn't explore the surrounding restos and bars but my Cebu friends told me that there are a couple of watering holes behind the hotel. The hotel's roof deck is supposed to be chicest place in town but I didn't get a chance to take a peak.

On the whole, I'd recommend this place to my friends and family. The only thing I'd like them to improve is their breakfast buffet. It doesn't do justice to this fine establishment and doesn't really start the guests' day on a high note. There's something about the combination of the food or their taste that was just subpar. But it should be no consequence to those who skip breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing any street may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Quiet elegance. Good small hotel ambience. Didn't try the food. Didn't try to walk to Ayala mall --- it's supposed to be walkable. I like being able to unwind in the mall after a tough work day - which is very easy from Marriott Cebu or the Radisson Blu.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopper-oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Harolds Hotel is an unassuming place amidst business establishments such as banks and a nearby Ayala Mall. The welcome view of the lobby and warm greetings of the front desk staff made up for annoyance due to delayed flight and almost 30 minutes drive to the city.
The hotel has top security concerns for the guest, no one can't get into the guest room without swiping the room key on the elevator's wall ;-) ...such a welcome surprise, considering that not many hotels in Manila have such.
The rooms were spacious, the beds for one person can accommodate 2. and the facilities i.e. T.v, mini ref, digital weighing scale and vault were superb. They also have an iron and ironing board in the room ;-).
The food looks great and tasted great too but I can't figure out what that taste left in the tongue that one would want to remove soonest...Anyway, I enjoyed my stay in the hotel and the accommodating attitudes of the staff, that more than made up for the lack.
I would surely recommend this place to stay in Cebu. Homey but classy and affordable. too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriela14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

at first i was impressed on the location, wow a new hotel, i was excited to see the room. the room is great, impressive design and lightings. contented w/ soft and had 4 pillows. my high expectations lowered down when the power fluctuates and in a night a dozen black outs. the aircon has minimal cold temperature.. grrrrrrrr... i didnt had a good sleep.. i was in sweat despite having soft pillows and king sized bed... hotel crew knocks from time to time..are they spying? cant understand why they do that at the privacy of guests...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank destination007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,977 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
#6 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#10 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harolds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harolds Hotel

Property: Harolds Hotel
Address: Gorordo Avenue | Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#7 Family Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harolds Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HAROLDS HOTEL offers a vantage point to guests with business or leisure reasons in the city. Situated in the uptown area of Cebu City, about 30 minutes away from Mactan International Airport, Harolds Hotel is only ten minutes away from financial districts, government offices, universities and colleges, and major shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Harolds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harolds Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing