We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Stella
Ranked #82 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed 27 May 2012

For a budget Hotel, i do recommend this Hotel . Right at your budget .Clean room and pretty interior . Suited for people who are tight of budget. Affortable but convenient. They also have friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P0rtiaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

First of all, beware of the people at the airport especially the one that is suppose to help you get taxi. They are really crooked. They will direct you to a private hired car for a fix fee rather than a taxi cab. It costed me 450p rather than the standard 350p that other people paid. After all, this is a very corrupt country. The government is the worst offender.

I booked my room directly through the hotel website for 1 week. It was cheaper than through agoda. Be aware that price changes through out the months. I did request early checkin. Unfortunately, the hotel was full so that idea went out the window. I was told to come back at 2PM. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I did not have any problem with getting replacement towels or anything. The security guard outside the door were the best. They copy down the taxi cab number and the time so they can track them in the event of any problem. The breakfast was minimal by Western standard but it is more than adequate for the regular Filipino. A typical breakfast consisted of rice or bread, some kind of meat and a egg plus a drink (coffee or OJ). If you don't want to come down for breakfast, you can also have them send it to your room. The lobby is small and cramped. The room is really small, clean and windowless. If you're claustrophobic, the hotel is not for you. There is no clock so you can easily get disorientated. The window inside the room is just for decoration. I think it opens into the ventilation shaft. Bathroom is also small. If you're a Westerner, you really have to squeeze in. This also include the so call shower. You can not adjust the angle of the shower head to aim up or down. The trick is to adjust the water pressure. Some previous customer complained about the room not having blanket. Rather, all you get is a bed sheet. IT IS TRUE. The only way to sleep through the night is to turn down the temperature of the A/C so you don't catch a cold. This way you can even sleep naked. I stayed on the 2nd floor. I did not have problem accessing the wifi. Up there, stella2 works best. Down in the lobby, the PLDT?? works best. When I first got there, I was able to log into the router but there was no internet access. Once the modem was rebooted, everything worked. Internet is slow.

Since this is a relatively new hotel, a lot of the taxi cab still don't know where the hotel is located so remember the address. The hotel is centrally located by the Capitol. It is also a leisurely walk to Robinson and Mango Square where all the action are located. Overall, it was a very good value for the money. I had looked at the new Tune Hotel by Ayala Mall. Since there were no reviews I decided against it especially when I get only 12 hours of AC and no free breakfast.

Room Tip: Even thought Cebu is next to the sea, there is no good seafood in Cebu so forget it. If you really w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sclin460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Overall had a good experience here. We onlyt spent 1 night here and were out for the majority of the time, so it was essentially just used to "lay our heads".

The hotel lobby is nicely furnished and is very modern, however, don't expect large rooms. The rooms are generally quite cramped even by Philippine standards and I personally didn't like the fact most odf the rooms are windowless. I find that slightly claustaphobic, particularly in what was already a small room. However, that aside the hotel is generally good and fairly conveneiently located in downtown Cebu.

Breakfasts are rather weak in terms of portions and quality, but suffices as a stop gap eat. Internet connection is particularly slow.

If you're looking for a budget hotel for a short stay it's defnitely worth booking, but I suspect there are perhaps some better options for your money as more hotels open and compete in the budget market in Philippines.

Room Tip: Ask for a window room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritFlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Hotel Stella Cebu (I wonder if it is affiliated with other Hotel Stellas, in Rome, Paris, etc.) is a good place to stay when in Cebu. Many things work in it's favor: cleanliness, prime location and very friendly staff... Of course, it wouldn't be fair to compare it with 5-star hotels in the area. After all, one gets what he or she pays for, no more no less!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marwill01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Found the room clean .The beds were comfortable.found no matter what i did could not connect to the wi fi.Air con working well keeping the room cool.bathroom clean and tidy.
The cafe is disappointing...food dear and not much of it...and the wait is long , the cafe is too small...Jollibee is far away at robinsons mall.service and information provided by staff is excellent. Quiet a good budget 3 star hotel but eat out.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

It would be a good value choice for a family or group, but not for me. Internet did not work well, and I spent too much on cab fare for my particular needs.

Room Tip: book the only room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbaiph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

before i book on this hotel i read some review that the hotel room is small. i was thinking it was just a new hotel so i might get it a try. so we decided to book the deluxe thinking it will be bigger room than the standard one. so we check in january 31, 2006.ohhh. what a horrible decision i did to choose this hotel. i mean the room is look like a small box the bed is small. my husband feet is hanging on the end of the bed.and the pillow is square and small. the air condition is facing on the bed. so it is blowing on your bed and on your feet. most hotels that we been stay with, the air condition is on the side of the bed. so its really horrible all night so sleep. the bed is hard. and the bathroom. is very small. so small. most smallest bathroom .i ever seen in a hotel. . the shower is horrible. no water pressure. hot shower is slow.. ohh goodness. i will not ever stay in this hotel again. and upon check out. we also had a problem coz they ask for another payment on us. although we already pay it online,few months before we check in.. so all i can say is that. we will not ever stay on this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delilah v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.5 mi away
Canberry Hotel
Canberry Hotel
#43 of 92 in Cebu City
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#69 of 92 in Cebu City
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#32 of 92 in Cebu City
60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Azia Suites
Azia Suites
#19 of 92 in Cebu City
50 reviews
0 mi away
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
#24 of 92 in Cebu City
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella

Address: Don Gil Garcia Street Capitol Site, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range: £15 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stella Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing