We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice cheap hotel,”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Spa Hotel
Ranked #38 of 76 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Cebu Island, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice cheap hotel,”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

just add 150pesos for gym 199pesos for roach breakfast, bed was king size, but only one chair int he room, no where to really relax in less you or your friends sit on the bed!

better hotels to stay at with better gyms,

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    24
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
13
23
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

they were altering the entrance so things a bit messy. front desk staff so so certainly could of been better. rooms were okay clean and tidy. towels were see through not good. pool, well very good but I do not lap swim so was certainly crowded out I stayed in 1 lane with another swimmer and then a lap swimmer joined in. breakfast okay food was not hot and NO tea only coffee or water NO juice either in the buffet price. I lobby was not lacking light being on so looked dull. 3 days same biscuits and muffins in the cabinet, no shops to walk to

Room Tip: pay more and get a room with a window. these have no fridge though (well mine did not)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clinton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

i stayed at holiday spa for the 2nd time in january,i loved my 1st stay but even though i still like many things about the hotel, quality of the bed, friendly front desk, superb pool & gym(50% discounted for guests)there is definately not been any improvements done since my previous visit nearly 2 years ago. The wi-fi is still hopeless & food average..

Room Tip: Dont pay extra for a poolside room as there is no direct access from your room unless you climb out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theabsentee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We have stayed here twice in Feb 2013. The hotel has great potential but seems to be poorly managed. The staff were friendly and helpful but the atmosphere in the lobby was terrible. The TV in the cafe was always on and turned up full blast. Most of the time the only people wartching it was the bell boy and the cafe staff. The rest of the staff were always on their Facebook when ever we walked up to the front desk. As the free wifi was only in the lobby the noise from the TV was distracting, we also had some friends come and visit us and there was nowhere to sit and talk that wasn't loud. The pool area had some nice tables and chairs but it was usually crowded with smokers so that wasn't an option. Also you had to walk through all the smokers to go from the room to the lobby..... I hate smoke. The gym was ok... lots of broken equipment so when it got busy I had to wait. Again so much potential but just poorly managed. Rooms were clean and comfortable... no smells, showers were good and Spa was good as well. I had 1 massage.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zevymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacloban, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

During our 10 day stay over in Cebu, we decided to stay at the Holiday Spa which came highly recommended by one of ours friends. We booked a pool view room, 1500php. We arrived early, before check in time and unlike the previous hotel, the receptionist, simply said check in is at 2pm, Sir. Our bags were stored and we went off to the hospital to visit a friend there. When we returned in late evening after a busy day, hospital, mall, lunch meeting, shopping, dinner meeting, we discovered that our check in form had been lost, consequently i had to do it all again. The porter carried the one small shopping bag to the room even thought i insisted not to, just give me the key, i hate others carrying my bags. When we arrived at the room he proceeded to turn on the tv air con and every light, and then waited for his tip . . i proceeded to turn off the aircon tv and most of the lights and waited for him to leave. My wife and i got changed to take a 2130hrs swim in then huge pool. We went to the pool side only to be informed it was closed for cleaning !!! grr this was the sole purpose for booking this hotel, so we could take a late night swim. The room was however very large and gave the impression of high quality, the bed massive, however only 4 terrible pillows. A large amount of budget had been spent on the room, but the shower head was aweful, saved money there . .
In the morning i was woken to the noise of swimmers right outside my window, and also the bright sunlight streaming in. No black out curtain used here. We got up and had a little swim in the pool, however its not a fun pool it was filled with serious swimmer types, kind of off putting if ur a terrible swimmer... Whist its in a prime location, the facilities are good, but i wouldnt stay here again . . over priced for what we recieved, like so many other hotels . .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eggwhite41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsop, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Just spent two weeks at this hotel at the promo rate of 1500 per night, for deluxe room with no window. Great value for money. Room was large and well presented, fan a/c, good selection of tv channels, Cinemax had some good action films on. The room was cleaned daily, with fresh sheets and towels. Shower worked well, with plenty of constant hot water. A bath would have been nice, but not the norm, I think. Cleaning staff where friendly and helpful. Eating in was nice, not bad choice, well priced and plentiful, my favourite was the chocolate shake, hehe. Gym and pool was nice also.

Wi-fi, worked well in the room, but not so good in reception. You have to pay for wi-fi in room. Reception staff were always friendly and happy. Location was pretty good, with food outlets fairly close. I will stay here again in the future, great.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

I have stayed three times at the Holiday Spa Hotel. First time was April 2011 and then on two separate occasions in September 2012.

HSH is located close to Ayala Mall and Gaisano Country Mall - approximate 70p and 50p respectively in a taxi. The hotel was originally a health spa with the accommodation rooms added in 2010 - or so I believe.

The hay pool-view rooms and viewless room with a couple of hundred pesos difference in price. As I sat by the pool I saw no pool-view rooms with their curtains drawm back 0 so you might want to think about paying extra for a view you won't look at. The reason being is that the pool is a lap pool. It is not a resort pool. It is approx 25 metres long and line-marked for swimming. I have to say that the water was very clean and not over chlorinated.

The room are very big and clean. I stayed in a room with a king-sized bed. The linen was fresh and the towels small but clean. The shower had some mould in the grout of the floor tiles of the shower recess, but I have seen that in the Crown Regency and other more expensive hotels. There was plenty of water pressure and the hot water was hot.

The walls are covered in a brown felt-type material which does a great job of sound-proofing the room. The curtains were thick, so if you like a very dark room to sleep in (as I do), this is for you. I like a firm bed - firmer than most, but the bed was too firm for me - I woke with a sore back each morning. Perhaps they are not meant for solo sleeping.

The skirting boards of the rooms are made of MDF and therefore are swelling and cracking from the continual mopping of the floor. There was an LCD TV mounted on the wall and the ubiquitous cable channels to choose from. There was no refrigerator in the room.

For 150p guests can use the gym. It is a well-equiped gym with most things the average user needs. As a gym-rat, I found the only thing lacking was a seated-row machine - but most gym-goers won't notice. There is a great array of dum-bells up to 110lb.

There is a small cafe with ala carte menu - but if you ask nicely, the chef might make a meal that you request. The brewed coffee is very good - I love coffee and most times the brewed coffee at cafes in the Philippines is thin and bitter. The coffee here is great. My only two gripes are that the coffee comes in small cups. I asked for a large cup and got it - with the small cup amount in the bottom......the second gripe is: the advertised prices on their menu board is WITHOUT sales tax - so add 10% to the price of what you buy.

The girls and guys at the desk are friendly and accommodating - try using some Bisaya and they will like you even more.

Taxis are usually not a problem as there are usually a few at the end of the drive and the security guard will whistle for them.

Overall: I like this place - it's clean, the rooms are big and very quiet, the service is good, the coffee is good and the hotel is in a handy location.

Room Tip: Rooms with the king size beds seem to be on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrChrisBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
0.4 mi away
Main Hotel and Suites
Main Hotel and Suites
#26 of 213 in Cebu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.6 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
1.8 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#41 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#52 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Peak Hotel
Castle Peak Hotel
#68 of 213 in Cebu Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#57 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Spa Hotel

Property: Holiday Spa Hotel
Address: Gov. M. Cuenco Ave. | Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Holiday Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Cebu City
Holiday Spa Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing