We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”
Review of 1730 Jesuit House

1730 Jesuit House
Ranked #9 of 112 things to do in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
2 reviews
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Hidden inside a warehouse and not easy to find it's more than worth the search- and the wait because we came during lunchbreak and had to wait 20 minutes. We had the luck to get a private tour with the current owner. He knows everything about the interesting history of the house and has a passion about it which we could feel through his explanations. The tour took almost an hour and it was a pleasure chatting with him about all and everything. We definitly recommend a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sigurlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    31
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
227 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Best time to visit would be early, when the place is still cool. We last visited this place during the Gabii sa Kabilin (last Friday in May). I would rate this museum second after Casa Gorordo.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bing M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandaue, Philippines
Level Contributor
128 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A Real Treasure”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I never realized that within a concrete building (Ho Tong Hardware) in old Zulueta Street is a treasure chest worth discovering..an 18th century "balay nga bato" (stone house) which used to be the residence of the Jesuits in Cebu...The house gives you a quick glimpse of the lifestyle of the "ilustrado" during the Spanish Period in this Chinese quarter ("Pari-an District" ) right close to Calle Colon , the oldest street in the Philippines.....the size of the houses (there are actually two connected by a bridge), the items, the setting, the ambiance all speak of affluence yet simplicity during those colonial times.....I use to live in an old Spanish-style house in my childhood and visiting the place reminded me of the times when life was not as complicated as now....the place is a real cultural treasure

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank csaramir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Located within another building, at the back of a car garage/warehouse, it is difficult to find. I dare say many prospective visitors turn up at the front and think "this can't be it". Hopefully some will read this review and continue :-)

The attraction is modest - 15 minutes is all you need - but the price reflects that. The structure of the building is intriguing and is being very tidily restored. The premises generally are kept very clean too.

The staff/guides are friendly and informative. Not overbearing, but chat as you go around.

Most impressively, this is all being done by way of private investment. It would undoubtedly be more profitable to use the property for the car/storage purpose (as it used to be) so it is to the credit of the owners that they put their personal wealth towards preservation of something historic.

It compares favourably to other similar (but better marketed) attractions in Cebu (one on the same road), so I'd recommend a visit to anybody visiting the city.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank PeterJohnCotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another must see while in Cebu”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The Jesuit House of 1730 is also called Museo Parian sa Sugbo. Its only a few years old and its discovery is quite interesting as being discussed by the assigned tour guide inside the Museum itself. Some parts of the building have been slightly renovated but a lot of historical items are well kept.
Finding the museum is a bit of a challenge as the signage is quite high, thus hard to see while inside the taxi. The most tricky part is, its entry is a big warehouse of metal and electronic stuff.You have to walk past the warehouse before reaching the museum. The whole area is a warehouse until the owner discovered theres history hidden inside the whole building. So he decided to look into it..dug the ground and found a few interesting information and thus the discovery that the place used to be the Jesuit House of 1730.
Anyway, it is highly recommended while in Cebu. Entry fee is only Ph50.00.

Helpful?
3 Thank Veneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1730 Jesuit House also viewed

 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to 1730 Jesuit House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing