We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont trust bad review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buena Vida Suites Capitol
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“dont trust bad review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

the hotel has definatly an elevater, rooms were cleaned daily and it isnt expensive at all as I tried a backpacker hostel bevor which was less than 20% cheaper only!

I would definatly recommend it for the price, but Chose upper floor(s) and rooms 9-12 on each floor!

Room Tip: rooms 9-12 on each floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgt206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The room is plain and dry! The rate is expensive! Breakfast buffet is just ordinary! My mom cooks better! The TV model is ancient! No elevators in this hotel, bad especially for Senior Citizens who have hard times in climbing stairs. One good thing about the inn is it's located in the downtown area. It is near Ayala Center. Another good thing is the WIFI connection is good! Plus the guard is also efficient in finding a taxi cab for its hotel guests. Good job! I think the hotel needs further renovation to keep up with the competitors.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the first or second floor. The WIFI connection here is strong! Also, there are no e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristian Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Cheap rates. Room cleanup should be done daily. They didn't clean our room during our 3-night stay. They didn't even take out the trash. Poor wifi. Below average breakfast "buffet". Guard was friendly though. Gave us directions on how to get to places.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my family stayed here for 3 days November 2013, it's 4 of us and 1 2 years old. We arrived late and to our surprise the place is very nice. Lobby is welcoming. Front desks staffs are very friendly and helpful especially the mature lady from the housekeeping department. The room it is huge and the shower/toilet is clean. Complimentary water inside the room and u can refill it in the hallway. Wifi very fast, breakfast is simple but delicious. Worth the stay. We love it!



Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank azioj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baguio, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Cup noodles and some chips placed on the top of the table inside the room were already expired. I informed the front desk about the problem after checking out. ALWAYS check the expiration dates before consuming them. We stayed in this hotel last 2012.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markbenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Usually when we stay in hotels to take a rest, we don't want to be out of the loop especially for when it comes to social networking sites. Fortunately, the room where we stayed in had great access to the internet and I was able to share my experiences to my friends here and abroad. The food was also good but I would have preffered a buffet meal and not a plated one. For a budget conscious person, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemUPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ara S, Marketing Consultant at Buena Vida Suites Capitol, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

In behalf of the Verbena family,thank you for staying with us ad for your valued feedback.Please be assured that we are seriously looking into your concerns and will certainly take the appropriate actions to improve our services.

Looking forward of hosting your stay again at Verbena Capitol Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I have shown this establishment more respect than they showed us. I emailed them with directly with my comments forty eight hours prior to writhing this review and they have not bothered to reply to my email, enough said, therefore any comments by them on this review are purely a marketing strategy
For readers information, I am not a tourist, I retired here from the UK and have stayed in a number of Cebu hotels, some of which were similarly priced as this one
So what is wrong with the hotel
1. Cockroaches in the bedroom, and the general cleanliness of the room was abysmal
2. The suite that we stayed in, (allegedly one of the best rooms they offered at 1700 pesos per night), was simply a very small twin bedded room with a bathroom
3. A security guard who for a period in the evening was on the internet in reception wearing headphones and who never saw me leave or enter the hotel, some security
4. In the room was a breakfast menu which seemed quite good, yet when we went for our breakfast we were only offered a local buffet breakfast that simply looked inedible. The restaurant staff were only interested in eating themselves and watching television

1700 pesos per night is mid range for Cebu City, but for that price there are many better establishments in Cebu.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gssadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ara S, Marketing Consultant at Buena Vida Suites Capitol, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Verbena Family,Thank you for staying with us and for your valued feedback. Please be assured that we are seriously looking into your concerns and will certainly take the appropriate actions to improve our services.

Looking forward of hosting your stay again at Verbena Capitol Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
0.4 mi away
Canberry Hotel
Canberry Hotel
#40 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zerenity Hotel & Suites
Zerenity Hotel & Suites
#34 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandaue Hotel-Cebu City
Mandaue Hotel-Cebu City
#23 of 76 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
3Js and K Apartment
#33 of 62 in Mactan Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hamersons Hotel
Hamersons Hotel
#21 of 76 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
BnT Inn
#5 of 32 in Mactan Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vida Suites Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vida Suites Capitol

Property: Buena Vida Suites Capitol
Address: 79 Don Gil Garcia St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Verbena Capitol Suites)
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Buena Vida Suites Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buena Vida Suites Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vida Suites Capitol Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing