We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average BBQ House”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Matias

Matias
Ranked #68 of 701 Restaurants in Cebu City
Cuisines: Philippine, Barbecue, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average BBQ House”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

since I'm originally from Bacolod city, nothing can still compare to the original Bacolod Chicken Inasal. BUt the chorizo here is great and they offer fruit shakes too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank cworld30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I love BBQ!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I love barbecues! This place is not hard to reach. There lots of people who eat here especially during after office hours. BBQ taste is just average, sometimes its too salty. For me price is a little higher than your typical bbq knowing the taste is just average.

Helpful?
Thank JanusB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best tasting barbecue chicken!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you want best tasting barbecued chicken in Cebu, then Matias is the place to go. Just be ready to be rough it since it is an outside venue so you will be eating under a tree and smell the charcoal grill. Well, that doubles your appetite as well. My family went to have dinner after a long trip from the South of Cebu. We really had our fill and enjoyed the dinner. I so missed the local rice cooked inside coconut leaves.Good service too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Priovolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapu Lapu, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“"Puso" + BBQs = Busog”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

After a facing the thick files on our desks, we (together with my officemates) decided to take a festive "salo-salo" before welcoming the weekend.

The barbecue smoke from the grill excites our appetite upon entering the place. Huge cuts and slices of chicken and pork on sticks invites us to order more. Yet, on a very affordable prices. In just a few counts of wait, the order has been served. The food revelry will not be that amazing without the presence of the "puso" aka "hanging rice". Superb!

Yet, one of our main concern is the hand washing area since most of the customers will be eating by hands. You need to be on queue, if there'll be numerous dining customers. I believe the management would add more hand washing posts as we expect more and more diners to visit in this house.

Over all, this Cebuano grill house is worthy to be recommended to the foodholics.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank see-zer-ahmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“if you want authentic cebuano fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Matias is the place to be!

I keep coming back for that chorizo!! You get there, pick your food and ask them to cook it. Sit down and enjoy it with puso. Matias is a no frills, get down to it, eat with your hands kind of place that makes you come back for more!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kikipuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matias also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Matias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing