We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great expat experience”
Review of The Emerald

The Emerald
Ranked #175 of 720 Restaurants in Cebu City
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Banilad
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great expat experience”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have been coming to this restaurant for the past 3-4 months on a regular basis. There are always guys from many different countries around the world. The food is awesome, whether ordering Nachos or Quesadillas for starters to a perfectly cooked Ribeye Steak. My all time favorite is their Chicken Parmigiana that is incredible. The beer is always cold and the help is very friendly. They also host a weekly Short Mat Lawn Bowling competition on Sunday afternoon where anyone is welcome to learn and compete in a very friendly atmosphere. This is truly a great place to meet and make new friends. The owners are almost always on site and they make you feel like part of the family. If you can't make friends at this place you might as well stay at home by yourself.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Evening foods and night talks”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The pub accepts sizes of groups of people from couples to families. I like placing an order and getting the food delivered to the table services. I like the drinks and beverages which are prepared when you place an order. I can see people enjoying the evening foods and having night talks until the very late evening.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank C_Y_F_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A True Irish Pub”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

During our recent trip to Cebu we heard about an Irish Pub that served authenticate Irish food. I had the Shepard's Pie and my friend had Emerald Pie. The Emerald Pie took about 45 minutes from order to table but was worth the wait. The atmosphere is quite nice. The interior is constructed of very fine wood which adds to the feel of an old "Irish" bar. We went on a Saturday night and there was plenty of foreigners. There was also live music, outside on the patio, which was quite loud which made it difficult to socialize with friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ldo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Rugby on TV and Ice cold beers”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The beers are always ice cold (which is rare enough around Cebu to be pointed out), Sports is always on TV (and it is rugby most the the time). waitresses are efficient and friendly, the pub grub type menu never let me down so far (and I have tried a lot of their items), and they have a consequent parking lot (also rare in Cebu)

It is one of the best place to go for a beer (or several) with mates!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Thebeachwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandaue, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super Quesadillas”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Ive been going to the Emerald Isle for several years now and its an excellent bar. The service is superb. The waitresses all know my name even though I dont go every week. The food is very good. They serve one of the best Quesadillas in Town and everything else that I have tried from the menu was very good too. The Fish and Chips and the Toad in the Hole are huge.
Quiz night attracts a fun crowd and finally they also serve some imported beers. There is outdoor seating and its nice and cool inside. They also have four nice big flat screen tvs and show most of the big Sporting events on them to the wee hours. Definitely a place I would reccommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Simontimmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Emerald also viewed

 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to The Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing