We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel with central location”
Review of Red Planet Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Planet Cebu
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Köln
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel with central location”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The Hotel is perfect located in front of the Ayala Shopping Mall. You can also reach (with Taxi) in a couple of minutes the nighlife arrear Mango Square.
The rooms are very small but equipped with safe box, flat screen TV and a comfortable bed.
The bathroom is nice but you cannot move the glass window from the shower that more or less the whole ground of the bathroom is wet. The room in general was absolut clean. The staff was friendly but a big concern is the safeness in that Hotel. The rooms have no peephole no telephones. Local people from outside of the Hotel are not controlled from the security. During our visit some Ladies and Lady boys could go to every Hotel floor without any problems and nobody security nor reception are aware of this. I fully understand that the Hotel concept is limited service with the basic needs of the travelling guests, which is a comfortable bed and a power shower but safeness is an absolut major point for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malagan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    341
    126
    27
    11
See reviews for
74
228
165
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minot
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Booked for 3/11-16 via Tune website. I know I added the accessory packages (TV, Wifi and AC). Arrived one day early so I check in one day early. Big mistake. MUCH more expensive at hotel than online. On top of that, I found that my booking did not included the accessory packages I ordered on the receipt they send me. End result, I pay more money at checkin than online.
Room: clean but small. The only reason that I stayed there was that it was new and most likely the cleanest hotel around. When they designed the room, it was designed with the cheapest cost in mind. You only have two AC socket to plug in your gadgets. Bring a multi-plug adaptors. There is also NO phone in the room. There is only ONE phone per floor located at the elevator. If you need to talk to front desk, good luck. Bath room was actually decent size compared to the room.
Location: right accross from Ayala mall. Good if you like the upscale Ayala. S&M mall seems to be more fun and have a lot more shops.
Amenities: The concept of paying for what you use is a good idea but it failed in execution. YOU HAVE to tell them to clean your room or else your room is not going to get cleaned at all. Despite paying for 24 hrs wifi, I found that I used more than 1 wifi account per day. Why? Each account only allows 3 device to log on. If you have a 4th one, you're have to use the next wifi ticket. Sometime, the wifi account expired less than 24 hours. My TV intermittently shuts off by itself. Why? My 24 hours was up even thought I pay for the whole stay upfront. It is always a pain to go to the elevator to use the phone to call front desk to reactivate my TV.
Wifi: you have to pay extra. You have to log in each time you use it. It is a PAIN IN THE BEHIND!!!!
AC: very loud especially at night time. I have to turn off the AC at night because of the noise but then I have to turn it back on because it is too hot.
Security: 24 hours guard at entrance. Need card to go to floor from lobby but you can go directly to room without card from entrance. I can never figure out why.

Overall, I would not go back there again. There are other better deals around than Tune Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sclin460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxas City, Philippines
Level Contributor
134 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We have tried several Tune Hotels in Malaysia and Indonesia, so we are not new to the concept of Tune Hotel. And we expected the small rooms too. So we were peasantly surprised that their Cebu property has a decent sized room and "big" bathroom - and it was located across Ayala Center. We booked during their room sale and got a very good deal (P36!). We would have not paid extra for aircon if only the windows can be opened. The windows were locked, obviously for safety reason. It would have been better if there was a restaurant in the ground floor (common in all Tune hotels in Malaysia) and a glass door to keep the shower area enclosed (the whole bathroom gets wet after taking a bath).

Room Tip: Wait for the room sale to get great deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickydmd888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I booked this hotel expecting nothing at all. Aside from the room size and noisy AC, everything is good!

Bed is comfy, nice linens and soft pillows too

Very convenient location, across Ayala Center Cebu!.

Internet is not free but they offer a decent connection.

This is really a nice budget hotel, I just hope that the TV and Wifi will be used in hourly basis on only when in use, the same way the AC works

Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadlesstravelled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This hotel is better than other expensive-pretending-to-be elegant hotel. I am really not expecting that the interior will be so good. From outside its like a regular cheap hotel even if you step on their hotel entrance. But when you get it, their lobby lobby on the upper floor where the reception area is looks like a call center recruitment hub - looks good. When we entered the room i was surprised - its small but elegant. They provide blower just infront of the CR. Their tv is huge LED television. Aircon is new and functioning well. Door lock is e-card. There is a safebox and clothes rack. What turns me on a lot is the bed, it is very comfy. soft matress and pillow. Clean and soft comforter. The lighting on the room makes it so elegant. You can choose from yellow and white light. o just turn on the light on the headboard of the bed. The Showeroom is also good, it is clean and elegant as well. Its door are made from glass, it also has a shower enclosure.

Location is great with 7/11 on the ground floor and is very close - 5 mins walk to Ayala Mall.

See it yourself. book online and personalze your booking. You would not hesitate cause it's not expensive :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alj0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
337 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Tune Cebu best selling point is its location; opposite Ayala Mall.

Tune hotel setup and design is pretty standard. It is almost the same which ever Tune you go to.

Served by a non-smiley supervisor, check-in is pretty slow. They seems like they have problem locating my reservation.

One thing strange is that their shower has no door. So the water easily spill into the toilet.

Anyway, it is still a good place to stay but the add-on sometimes really irks me.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mousehunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Our second stay at a Tune hotel. This one better than the one in Penang (newer).

Room was clean and functional, if a little small. Beds were a little soft to our taste, but still quite good. Location was pretty central, and if you want to shop, there's a huge mall across the street (nothing special, your typical big NA-style mall with lots of restaurants). The man at the reception was very friendly and helpful. Overall good stay.

However, it is the concept of the Tune that is a little annoying. Want tv? Pay extra. Want aircon? pay extra. Want Wifi? Pay extra. Want a towel and soap? Pay extra. I can understand for some of these, but less for others. Then again, I guess it does help to reduce the waste for some of these.

Even though it was good, we still decided to try something else for our next pass-through in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie_errant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
0.8 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#6 of 87 in Cebu City
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 87 in Cebu City
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
0.3 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
462 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
3,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Cebu

Property: Red Planet Cebu
Address: 36 Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Cebu)
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Cebu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Cebu provides guests with easy access to this energised city's best attractions. The famous Ayala Cebu Centre is right across the road, while nearby tourist landmarks include Magellan's Cross and Basilica del Santo. Located just 11km from Mactan Cebu International Airport, Red Planet Cebu is also close to a host of shopping malls, restaurants and bars. The Ayala Centre Cebu and the Cebu Business Park are a short drive away. The 150 practical and comfortable rooms include one with wheelchair access. Red Planet Cebu has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Planet Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing