We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality for this price”
Review of Red Planet Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Planet Cebu
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We always stay in Tune hotels where we can. These are good value for money with comfortable beds, powerful showers and cable TV. The hotels are akin to Travelodge in the UK, but with advertisements splashed across the rooms (like a plane seat on Ryanair!) ...however if you can ignore the latter, this place is really nice. Service is friendly but not of particularly good standard. We were put in wrong room then moved and were also recommended a fast food place in a food court when we enquired as to a nice restaurant, but as most people just stay here as a stopover this shouldn't affect your trip.
Location is fine. Near a mall, near Imax, a few km from north bus station, plenty of taxis around and 25 mins to airport when traffic is good. There is a 711 underneath building and a 24/7 security guard.
We would recommend you book through agoda as you get full package and so don't need to feel aggrieved by paying separatel for towels, TV etc. This is all automatically included through agoda for a more pleasant booking experience. Plus we pay approx £20 which is just as cheap as the Tune website rate. Avoid the hassle!

Room Tip: Twin beds may be a better option for a couple as double is on small side. Twins are roomy and wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HazamM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Me and my best bud always stay here whenever we visited Cebu. I like the idea that you are only paying for what you need (i.e bed, internet or cable TV) for you have the option of availing which service you want. As far as i know there are two tune hotel in Cebu but we stayed at the one who is closest to Ayala Mall, which also has a convenient store (7-11) just beside it.

Our only problem is whenever you want to call / talk to their front office you have to go down or use their intercom found near the elevator area outside your room. So might as well ask for front office their cellphone number so that you can call them immediately without going out of your room or whenever you need something.

i will surely book another room here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Laundry list, great location and small rooms is what you want this your hotel. I paid $29 and some change but be ready for the Cebu City taxes and a 10% service charge to book your hotel online and a 12% service to book at the hotel. Also, here a list of further service charges that will really up your cost of this hotel. Also, there are advertisements in your room that I believe they consider art I guess.

Earthquake Damage. I am not an structural engineer but I noticed cracks in the walls when you walk into the main entrance by the car park. Other than these cracks I haven't seen any other damage in my walk into the hotel and riding the elevator up to floor.

Mandatory Fees

You’ll be asked to pay the following charges at check in or check out:

Towels/sheets: PHP 90 per person, per night

Optional extras

Early check-in can be arranged for an extra charge of PHP 300

Late check-out can be arranged for an extra charge of PHP 300

Air conditioning is available for an extra charge of PHP 350 per night

TV service is available for an extra charge of PHP 130 per night

WiFi is available in guestrooms for PHP 240 for 24 hours (rates may vary)

High-speed Internet access (wired) is available in guestrooms for PHP 120 (rates may vary)

Room Tip: My room was double room that so small I have to step over my small luggage to get the bed. Get a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nukids2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very basic hotel but quality and service is undeniably and surprisingly very good.

Location is very accessible and convenient, walking distance to Ayala center. Surrounding area is fairly safe - well lighted street, has 24/7 convenience store beside the bldg (7/11).

Very small room with window (at least on the rooms I stayed in) - perfect if you're alone but if you're with another person expect to at least bump at each other once when moving around.

You need to pay for add-ons (like a/c, wifi, toiletries) - but price is reasonable.

One down-side - avoid high peak check-in(11am)/check-out (2pm) hours, if possible. The staff is very efficient but with the large crowd - it can be a hassle.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justjhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The good was the price. Nice bed and pillows and overall a nice clean comfortable room. The Bad is no phone a small room with no place to put your stuff. Overall a decent place computers in the lobby. The mall with lots of stores and places to eat. 7-11 right next to the hotel. My main complaint was there was no Ice machine so i could never really enjoy a cold drink. But will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Newly refurbished hotel surrounded by shopping attractions. Very good friendly staff. Very clean rooms, bathrooms, linen and towels etc. Big mirror for each room and satellite LCD TV. Small room yet specious. No in house phones but free WiFi available. Recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bandu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel is located across Ayala Mall. I booked this hotel for one night. When I arrived the room wasn't ready. So I asked if it is possible to check in since I was having a jetlag from travelling. I was shocked that a certain amount was charged for early check in was collected. I have no choice but to pay. Good thing their room is very clean and comfortable and has a great view of the city. This hotel is good for one night stay only. I'm not sure if I'll come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you're craving for midnight snacks, 7 eleven is located downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greecine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
0.1 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#30 of 92 in Cebu City
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#10 of 92 in Cebu City
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 92 in Cebu City
694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Cebu

Address: 36 Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Cebu)
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range: £25 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Cebu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Cebu provides guests with easy access to this energised city's best attractions. The famous Ayala Cebu Centre is right across the road, while nearby tourist landmarks include Magellan's Cross and Basilica del Santo. Located just 11km from Mactan Cebu International Airport, Red Planet Cebu is also close to a host of shopping malls, restaurants and bars. The Ayala Centre Cebu and the Cebu Business Park are a short drive away. The 150 practical and comfortable rooms include one with wheelchair access. Red Planet Cebu has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Planet Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing