We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, great location, small rooms”
Review of Red Planet Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Planet Cebu
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice staff, great location, small rooms”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms are actually pricey for its rate when booked normally and not through promos. Standard rooms (with the aircon, wifi, and toiletries) are almost Php 2,000 and that's still without breakfast. And rooms are small too. But when you book them during promos, this is the best hotel deal you can ever get with no complaints. The location is also very good which is just 5 mins walk to Ayala mall. I love how their check-in and check-outs are so fast and easy. I also like all of their staff (front desk, housekeeping, and guards), they are all friendly and assistive. But sometimes they are forgetful too, twice they have failed to validate the room key which is an inconvenience of going down again to the lobby and back to the room. Parking slots are not enough, usually it gets full but we still get to park. There is also a 7-11 convenience store downstairs which is excellent for food and drinks anytime u want.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    350
    129
    28
    11
See reviews for
78
232
171
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable! The location is really good, near the Ayala Mall, so it's only 5-7 minutes for supermarket, restaurants, shops! In my opinion this is the hotel for short stay! Quick check in/out procedures! And the nicest bar in Ayala Mall in restaurant Friday's!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yanyshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We both liked the room, but don't do a lot of shopping at the adjacent Ayala mall. You won't have any place to put your purchases in the room.
I'm not into malls, but it was nice to have some shopping and a variety of places to eat inside an A/C facility one block away from the hotel. A slightly bigger room would be nice, but for one night after getting off of the tagbiliran ferry, enroute to another city, it was ok.

Room Tip: Look for discounts and promos online!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PC1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Tune Hotels follow the same budget formula of a clean, cool room with good bedding, hot shower and great air conditioning. The Hotel has a quick check in/out procedures. The rooms are small but very clean. The Security is fine with static guard on duty. Reception is located on level 2 so you don't have to see them unless you need them. The Wifi password is issued for each 24 hour stay at the time you check in. The signal is good. They keep essentials at reception should you need them in a hurry but with a 24 hour shop just outside you can get any needs or quick foods there. Its only a quick walk across the road to Ayala Mall for supermarket, retail shops and nice dining options. The rates through Agoda seem the best. I would stay here again. A+

Room Tip: Higher floors have a good view over Cebu City
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dabster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Very clean rooms, very small though. Great location next to the mall. The rooms are clean, great Wifi, The AC was very noisy. It's a good place for a layover before a flight or ferry. I recommand this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missgreenpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I found an incredible promo of ~450 P, and decided to leave the nearby Islands Stay Hotel to stay here for four days. I have to say that this stay is the most incredible value in a hotel stay I have had in my life. I suppose the hotel is trying to get the word out for the “Tune” brand with the promo. I don’t think there will be many promotions as good as 450 P a day in the future. Normally price is ~1300 P. That price is still good though. This place has all the basics: A/C, cable TV, WiFi (fast!), hot water, and even a bum gun in the toilet.

From a business perspective, this hotel has things figured out down to a science. For MBAs out there, study this place's ops management.

- The housekeeping staff knows when you are in the room and when you’re not in the room, so they make it up when you’re out. No intrusive “housekeeping” knocks at the door when you’re trying to sleep in late.

- The checkout time is 1100 sharp. If you like a late checkout, the cost is 300 P, which is a strong enough incentive to get out on time.

- Check-in time is 1400, but if you want to check in as early as 1100, the cost is 300 P, a strong enough incentive to wait until 1400.

- The glass door to the bathroom somewhat doubles as a shower door when turned inward in the bathroom.

- There’s no furniture in the room, which may seem as a drawback, but if there were chairs and tables, then room would cost more, wouldn’t it? There is a “desk” in the room which is a Murphy-bed style flip-down platform that is close enough to the edge of the bed so that you could sit on the bed, put your laptop down, and use that as a desk.

The rooms are unbelievably immaculate, with a uniform white/beige wood theme throughout. Mirrors cover the same wall with the headboard, and there are port-window-style lights on the nightstand. There is a safe under one of the nightstands.

The only negatives I have: I was on the 9th (top) floor, and the elevator was super slow at times. I waited about six minutes to get to the ground floor it was so slow. There is really no place for your bags and clothes when you arrive; a shelf on the wall (a cheap addition that would go a long way). And…the hotel is run in a very efficient manner, which is desirable, but there is a negative in there too: if I had checked out at 1115 instead of 1100, I’d expect their boot camp style of policy enforcement to kick in and be charged the 300 P fee. Don’t expect to be cut any slack on the rules! Finally, the place is not at all homey like a bed and breakfast or a charming independently-run hotel. Very corporate.

This hotel will do well. I even stayed at their location in Davao because of my positive experience here.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floors unless a view is important to you. The elevators can be painfully slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulino636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I booked my accomodation thru agoda a month ago, it only costs me around $8 or 400 pesos per night.. Im so lucky to have that promo that time. I super love the place, its very clean, as in the cleanliness of the room is comparable to rooms from a five star hotel. Though not everything is there as to compare to a five star hotel. I liked the bed, super comfty and clean. My stay in cebu wouldnt be so nice and fun without tune hotel. I will surely consider tune hotel in my next vacation, i heard that there are several tune in the philippines..

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 89 in Cebu City
645 reviews
0.8 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#6 of 89 in Cebu City
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
0.3 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 89 in Cebu City
474 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 89 in Cebu City
3,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Cebu

Property: Red Planet Cebu
Address: 36 Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Cebu)
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Cebu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Cebu provides guests with easy access to this energised city's best attractions. The famous Ayala Cebu Centre is right across the road, while nearby tourist landmarks include Magellan's Cross and Basilica del Santo. Located just 11km from Mactan Cebu International Airport, Red Planet Cebu is also close to a host of shopping malls, restaurants and bars. The Ayala Centre Cebu and the Cebu Business Park are a short drive away. The 150 practical and comfortable rooms include one with wheelchair access. Red Planet Cebu has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Planet Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing