We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”
Review of Red Planet Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Planet Cebu
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel rooms are incredibly small, however the rooms, service, and location are all fantastic.

The rooms are small, you have just enough room to walk around the bed and to the bathroom but no other sitting areas other than the bed so it's not ideal to spend much time there. However, the room (room 911) was incredibly clean, modern and comfortable. The hotel staff were helpful and the check-in/out process was extremely quick and easy. Also the laundry service was fantastic (overnight, min. 3kg, and about $3). The location is also great, there is a 7-11 just outside, and its across the road from a large Western style mall with a large restaurant area. Also, taxi-drivers know it very well, so it is very easy to get taxis around the city.

I would definitely stay here again, and although I wouldn't recommend it to families (due to lack of space) any other traveler will enjoy it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joneslangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Rather small but clean rooms with the basic modern comfort. Car park inside. Cross the street and you can enter Ayala mall. Excellent hotel to sleep in, not to stay in the room all day. Friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: In # 813 (eight floor - next/under engine room of the elevator?) there's noise from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Tune Hotel's branch in Cebu is located near Ayala Center Cebu and Gaisano making the location of the hotel a plus. The hotel is clean and the staff are all accommodating. There is also a 711 outside the hotel. The price we paid for the hotel was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauladeasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Reception only interested in money. If someone is willing to stay in Hotel without services, then is ok. The room is clean, but small. Is so steril and cold feeling somehow to be there, not warm feeling like most Hotels I ever visited in all over the world. You will not find the hostipitality of the Filippinas or Filippinos there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tjotjatjola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace S, General Manager at Red Planet Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2014

Dear tjotjatjola,

The concept of providing the basics is a fresh idea and one we have found that works well. We have never received a comment that these basic essentials leave an impression of being cold and sterile. It is regrettable that you felt it does not provide the warmth that suits your standards.

We would like to thank you for rating us Very Good on cleanliness and appreciate your objective comment. We do take pride in our cleanliness and we are very glad it did not go unnoticed.

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know of your experience.

Truly yours,

Grace Salut
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Rooms were small but clean and modern. The hotel itself is only a stone's throw away from the Ayala mall, which is great. A 24-hour store is just by it in case of emergency purchases. Definitely a great deal for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

At the outset, Tune Hotel is a place to stay, to sleep in. And that is good for business travelers who travel light. I would recommend, though that if you need to work inside your room, you may ask the concierge or the housekeeping staff (the latter is friendlier) for a chair. Plastic chairs are almost always available. However, the height of the drop down table from the wall is more aligned with the bed than the ordinary chair. I had to sit on a pillow to have better typing position. But that is a minor digression.
Tune Hotel in Cebu is less than 5 minutes away from Cebu Business Park / Ayala Mall. And that means almost everything a business traveler needs in Cebu would be close by. When you make a reservation online though, be sure to check the dates. In my first web check in, I did not realize that I mistakenly pressed a wrong date, "June 11 to June 13" when my actual date of travel and stay was "June 19-21." My bad. I tried calling up and emailing Agoda and they contacted the Tune HOtel, but I was informed the booking is non-cancellable, non-rebookable and since I did not show up, that's the end of the story. Very efficient and official. No room for negotiations. My bad. I had to make another booking. I was hoping that since the hotel took my money I would be given a chance to at least get a credit for one nght. But efficient as the Tune Hotel staff are, they did not budge. Very official and businesslike. The owner would be proud. I have to take the hit.
Other than that, Tune Hotel is a good bargain. Shower room is almost third the size of the entire room. I mentioned to housekeeping that the TV is not working well and it got fixed - fast. If you do not need to watch TV and would be in the room basically to sleep, do NOT get the full Add-On Package (when booking with Tune Hotel). Get add-ons on a need basis.
Enjoy Cebu. My visit was productive and a good part of that is due to being able to sleep and work (sitting on a pillow) inside my room.

Room Tip: Elevators seem to take a while, so when available, choose lower floors. The lobby is on the SECOND f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crispin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Got a great deal with this hotel from Agoda (i.e. PhP500/night for a double bed room!). Man, I got more than what I paid for. The location is great (it's near everything being located near Ayala and IT park), our room is super clean, and the staffs are attentive and friendly. Definitely booking with this hotel in some other locations.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Apolei1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
0.1 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#29 of 92 in Cebu City
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#10 of 92 in Cebu City
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 92 in Cebu City
694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Cebu

Address: 36 Archbishop Reyes Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Cebu)
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range: £25 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Cebu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Cebu provides guests with easy access to this energised city's best attractions. The famous Ayala Cebu Centre is right across the road, while nearby tourist landmarks include Magellan's Cross and Basilica del Santo. Located just 11km from Mactan Cebu International Airport, Red Planet Cebu is also close to a host of shopping malls, restaurants and bars. The Ayala Centre Cebu and the Cebu Business Park are a short drive away. The 150 practical and comfortable rooms include one with wheelchair access. Red Planet Cebu has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Planet Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing