We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not a bad choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cebu City Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
434 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Not a bad choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

This is a good option with a staff thta will try and help and a good offering of food. The rooms depending on the floor are either updated or being updated. The older rooms need help but the new ones ahve great beds and also good appointments. This is worth the stop and the prices can also be negotiated if you walk in verses having a reservation.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    433
    131
    38
    16
See reviews for
248
202
108
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

I'm a loyal Marriott customer - I have a gold status in my membership. I always book Marriott wherever I go. This Marriott is very different from any Marriott I have ever stayed in in North America. The rooms are nicer, the service is much better -- people are always ready to help and eager to provide good service.

Location is perfect -- it is right next door to Ayala Mall.

Buffet breakfast was one of the best I have ever had!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buena_Familia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
136 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Recently stayed at Marriott in Manila and this was a totally different experience. Even if I had previously arranged for an early check-in, I was told they did not receive any advice. As I was trying to call my agent, the receptionist told me: "Somebody else has a reservation but he's arriving an hour later, so we'll just give you that room." Huh? Sounds like a consolation prize. Then when I handed my Marriott rewards card, I was informed that the name on the card and their computer were different but with the exact same number. Confusing! To their credit, before the end of the day they sent a message to provide personal information to the member's zone to verify validity; and they even arranged for me to get a new card within 6 weeks. The lobby is small and always crowded; there is a smoking area overlooking the pool but just beside the breakfast cafe. Upon exit to the veranda and pool there is a walkway that brings you the Ayala mall in 2 minutes. Airconditioning in the room leaves much to be desired in terms of comfortable cool. Bed has 6 pillows but smelly of ?sweat, ?bad detergent. The one that concerns me most though is the bathroom. When the door is fully swung open, the distance between the toilet bowl and the door's edge is less than a foot; an invitation to physical trauma! The breakfast compensates, with new choices daily. Fruit smoothies (mango, watermelon, honeydew) keep you coming back for more. Security is tight; on the other hand, they make sure you have all the privacy you need (not like other hotels, where every so often somebody checks on the mini bar). I don't know if this is good, but if you want a turnover, then you have to call housekeeping; otherwise, you won't be bothered. The final verdict? An average hotel with good food that is neighbor to a huge mall. That's all there is to say.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjohnled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

GOODS
buffet breakfast was good
rooms need a makeover as it is still old looking
bathroom needs a separate shower not bathtub/shower
queen beds were really classified as double beds or king single

BADS
lobby needs a makeover
sheets were stained, suggest to remove and replace with new sheets
do not accept a room near to the lift as you can hear all the noise

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

The hotel is a bit small and the drop off area is quite odd and limited. Seems a lack of organisation there in the lobby area. But it's just next door to Ayala mall which has lots of eateries and choices.

Breakfast at the hotel is good. And staff kept checking on you all the time. The smoothies- heaven! Room is good size and bed is comfy as per Marriott standard. At your service and prompt and sincere. Definitely a good place to stay in Cebu.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junnel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Its our 2nd night here for the summit. Employees are really accomodating, Place so clean, im at rm 515 and it feels like im not a local here, they treat everybody equal, really accomodating. Even the Supervisor did attend my personal needs.. 5 star for that. Looking forward to stay at this fantastic hotel, Marriot Cebu with my family next time, Im sure theyll love this place as well..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOVINZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

The staff at this Marriott are well trained and friendly. The breakfast is great, and the public areas are well maintained. The side door exit across the lawn from Ayala makes it one of the best located hotels.
However, the rooms are small and musty and greet you with a stale odour upon entrance. The bathrooms are similarly small and dysfunctional.
Also, the reservation system is typical of Marriott and full of glitches. I've never had a Marriott check-in that didn't get something wrong. This time, I was told that breakfast was not included and literally had to argue that I had booked a breakfast-inclusive package. No apologies were offered, and I had the same discussion in the restaurant and later, upon check out. Also, I was charged in US dollars at the inflated hotel rate upon check out. When I protested this, they again charged me in US dollars (my phone sends me details of charges and currency information immediately). I asked for a PHP charge, and they told me it had been charged in US dollars, which was clearly untrue. This increased the already over-priced room rates.
Next time in Cebu, I'll choose a newer hotel with a functional reservation system.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glennbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 85 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#4 of 85 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 85 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
0.6 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#2 of 85 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 85 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cebu City Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cebu City Marriott Hotel

Property: Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Address: Cardinal Rosales Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#5 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cebu City Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within the city’s premier financial district - the Cebu Business Park, the Cebu City Marriott Hotel sits right next door to Ayala Mall where opportunities for great shopping and a vibrant nightlife await you. Near by are offices of top corporations, banking centers, an exclusive sports club, convention centers and the Asia Town IT Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cebu City Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cebu City Hotel Cebu City
Cebu City Marriott Hotel Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing