We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flawless Stay, Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cebu City Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Flawless Stay, Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I recently stayed at this property in mid September. What makes or breaks a hotel for you? Staff, facilities, room comfort and layout, location, cleanliness? This place has it all. Being right next to Ayalla Mall is a tremendous convenience. The rooms were roomy, the bedding comfy and the room attendant diligent and efficient. From check in to check out, the staff worked their hardest to assure that our stay was exactly what we wanted. We mostly ate room service (24 hours) so I really can't comment on the food in their dining room. The cost of room service was very reasonable. For example a burger or turkey club sandwich was about $7.50. We had concierge level access and the food for breakfast was a large variety and for happy hour the snacks were great.

We were primarily there on business and everything seemed about $5 cab ride. The mall next door has a very international selection of restaurants. The shops were ok, but I don't think Cebu is a shopping trip. Since there was a refrigerator in the room we to the supermarket at Ayalla Mall on the lower level.

My business associates all recommended the Raddison Blu, but their suggestions were based on price, not comfort, variety of facilities or location.

The pool area is wonderful and the pool is heated to just be cool enough to be refreshing.

This is the place to stay in Cebu City, HANDS DOWN!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denverbri69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time to write a review! We highly appreciate your feedback.

We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. It is our priority that we are able to offer you service excellence with your comfort and convenience in mind.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cebu City Marriott Hotel in the near future!

Sincerely,

Patrick Carroll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    439
    133
    38
    16
See reviews for
251
204
109
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

My family love it here, the staff are so nice. It's not the biggest hotel, but it has your basic features like pool, gym, etc. Also, it's well situated next to the Ayala shopping mall. The rooms could be more cleaned as I received a few mosquito bites during my stay. But overall, great hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DaGreatNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

We appreciate your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that we have taken note about your concern and necessary actions will be taken to avoid recurrence.

Thank you and we look forward to being of better service to you!

Sincerely,

Patrick Carroll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for the last 5 years consistently. My first stay was just after their renovation and everything looked brand new. The air conditioning is limited as to how low the temperature will go and for anyone not from the tropics, it is uncomfortable - this in includes common areas of the hotel. I had to go and buy a fan for our room because I could not cool off. Unfortunately the maintenance has been poor and the hotels is already starting to look a little grubby. The grout in the bathroom has been repaired with grout that does not match or worse yet calk – I personally cannot stand lazy or shabby maintenance work, it makes everything look of poor quality. There is a list if things that were just not quite right: poor maintenance especially in the bathrooms, doors that will not close or open properly, poor quality or bent ironing boards, worn or dirty furniture… One other observation at the pool, they put up a tent in the pool area – a nasty, ugly, and permanent tent. I assume they put the tent up for shade, but this thing is ugly and does not fit the hotel ambiance at all. They should have spent a little more money and used a structure that was more fitting – like a traditional Philippine structure with a roof made of native material (which would have been inexpensive).

Now for the good: the food has greatly improved and is reasonably priced, the staff is caring and considerate, the grounds are will kept, the pool area is open reasonable times and you can’t beat the location for security and convenience.

Over all it is still at the top of the list for Cebu City, but I may try a different hotel the next time we are there – which is really unfortunate because I’m a Platinum Premier Member of Marriot rewards and a devoted Marriot customer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your review.

Your feedback is important to us. We apologize that the hotel maintenace work did not meet your standards. Rest assured your comments have been well noted to be of better service to you in the future.

Thank you and best regards!

Sincerely,

Patrick Carroll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila Philippines
Level Contributor
649 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Got to stay 4 nights in this hotel for both leisure and business. Security in this hotel is really tight , most expected for a Marriott which is an American brand franchise. They have scanners and xray machines on both front/back entrance . They even secure plate numbers of taxis that fetch the guests going in and out of the hotel. Rooms are just average , quite small , including the toilet, but somehow comfortable , with flat screen lcd television available with many channels , and the properly working aircon system . Staff service is quite satisfactory , from the front desk, operator, room service personnel and housekeeping. Those in the coffee shop however, particularly the male waiters , had shown very good attentive and positive disposition in the line of work. Location is the biggest advantage of this hotel , which is a 1-2 minute walk to the Ayala mall , and very near to multiple good restaurants . The breakfast buffet has a very limited offering , compared to those offered in Marriott Manila or even the Radisson Blu , but i would personally say that i liked the salad and bacon that they have . Lunch selection was also limited , but please take note that the breakfast rate costs a little higher than the lunch option. Another thing that I really like was the fast and free internet , so keeping in touch with everything in the digital world won't be much of a hassle . Being quite outdated , maybe a renovation should be initiated for it to keep pace with several new hotels in the vicinity , and so that Marriot Rewards members won't be disappointed .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doctorfoxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

We highly value your feedback and rest assured your comments have been well noted. It is our goal to be able to offer you service excellence and the conveniences you need during your stay.

We look forward to be of better service to you in the future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Carroll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Situated right next to a shopping mall, the facility is great. Rooms are very good and comfy, service is friendly and the food is also good.

Concierge services go extra miles to make sure you're safe and happy. I love the fact that when you get in/out of a cab at the hotel entrance, they record the registration number and give you a form if you need to complain against the taxi driver or so.

I would totally recommend this place in terms of location, facility, food and ambiance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seif E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review. Your feedback is important to us!

We are happy to hear about our associates going the extra mile to cater to your needs. It is also our utmost priority that our guests are safe and secure during their visit to Cebu.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Patrick Carroll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel, the 1st being Feb. 2013 (both trips being approx 2 weeks long) . The hotel is wonderfully decorated and the staff is extremely polite. From the lobby to the restaurant you are greeted and made to feel very welcomed. The rooms are nicely decorated and kept very clean. Since I was working nights and sleeping all day long, Housekeeping was very accommodating in clearing my room during the night while I was away. I was lucky enough to spend my Birthday in Cebu, and the hotel had a cake delivered to my room!!! I was very surprised and happy to see it upon returning to my room.

The restaurant is Buffet Style and offers something for everyone. Various breakfast options for the many visitors from other countries. Since I worked nights I was only able to have Dinner in the restaurant twice, both were very nice meals, again offering a huge selection to choose from.

The hotel has a private entrance to the Ayala Mall. This is very convenient for quick shopping trips or to simple get out of the hotel to walk around. There are many very nice restaurants and coffee shops at the Mall. The Mall itself is huge and over the two weeks I don’t think I covered it all.

I’m already looking forward to my next stay!!

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the Mall. It give you a great view of the Mountains. Away from the elevator and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hcarlock66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback!

We are delighted to hear about your memorable experience during your visit. It is our aim to give the best of service for a comfortable and hassle-free stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,

Patrick Carroll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Returned here after a five year absence and found the hotel still a great combination of service and location. Staff are super friendly and standards of food and service remain high. The Ayala Centre mall and surrounding area have developed amazingly in five years and construction continues on five sites in the immediate vicinity. Traffic to and from Mactan Island has gotten considerably worse, so if you only want a beach resort experience then I would suggest one of Shangri-La, Plantation Bay, Imperial Palace or Crimson, all of which are on Mactan. However, if you want to see the sights of Cebu, or have business in the city, then the Marriott is the place to stay. Was a bit surprised there are no longer any feedback forms to fill out regarding service - would have liked to give recognition to a few staff who went above and beyond.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westonrhyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We truly appreciate you taking time to write a feedback regarding your recent visit to the hotel.

Our goal is to give you, our loyal customers consistent and dependable service during your stay and it always delights us to hear about your pleasant experience.

Your comments about guest feedback forms have been well noted. In the meantime, should you wish to commend one of our service associates, kindly send us an e-mail through: mhrs.cebph.pra@marriotthotels.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!

Sincerely,

Patrick Carroll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,975 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
0.6 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#2 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cebu City Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cebu City Marriott Hotel

Property: Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Address: Cardinal Rosales Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#5 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cebu City Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within the city’s premier financial district - the Cebu Business Park, the Cebu City Marriott Hotel sits right next door to Ayala Mall where opportunities for great shopping and a vibrant nightlife await you. Near by are offices of top corporations, banking centers, an exclusive sports club, convention centers and the Asia Town IT Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cebu City Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cebu City Hotel Cebu City
Cebu City Marriott Hotel Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing