We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if on business trip go on... if not find others” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cebu City Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“if on business trip go on... if not find others”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

rooms are average size but with attention to filipino material such as capiz which are nice. its a decent hotel in business district and near ayala mall but that's it. their swimming pool is quite small and overlooking the buffet area so privacy has a little issue. also, very difficult to find a taxi but the staff are welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetotravel0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback. It is important to us.

We are happy to hear that our staff gave you a warm welcome during your recent stay. We take every opportunity to incorporate Filipino designs and local material to give our guests a unique feel of the culture while offering complete amenities for the business travelers.

We hope to see you again in one of your future visits to Cebu!

Sincerely,

Patrick Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    439
    133
    38
    16
See reviews for
251
204
109
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I was really impressed with the Marriott in Cebu. The staff were absolutely outstanding, better than any other place I stayed in the Philippines, including the Shangri-la. Room service food was good and very quick, we had foot massages in our room and other out of the box requests were met with a smile.
The room had two double beds and was comfortable and clean.
The hotel is conveniently located right next to a huge shopping centre.
We stayed here due to a wedding we were attending in Cebu and we got our hair done at David's in the basement of the shopping centre. It was cheap and very very good.
Although based in the middle of the city the pool was nice and surrounded by trees.
It's not a resort holiday by any stretch but if you need to stay in Cebu city for work or a wedding etc then I would recommend the Marriott.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldtravellerfromOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

We appreciate you taking time to write a review. Your feedback is important to us.

We are delighted to hear about your pleasant experience during your recent visit to the hotel. It is our goal to be able to offer you a satisfying and comfortable stay while travelling to Cebu.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Patrick Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Rooms with 2 queen beds and service up to Marriott's standard. Great location, walking distance to the local mall.

We were given a room on the 11th floor but the sink was leaking so they assigned us to another room on the same floor. However, we were asked to wait for a couple of hours while the new room was being cleaned. No problem. The staff attended to it as efficiently as possible.

Nice breakfast buffet spread consisting of local and continental menu. The rate we paid came in with breakfast for the 2 people.

Although we didn't get the best room rate, they do offer discounts for US based auto club (Triple A) members.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmspcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We value your feedback.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused during your visit. Rest assured we will make the necessary improvements to be of better service to you in the future.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Marriott and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Patrick Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

i had one of my best experience with hotel service because of marriott,not because there staff is great(which they are),not because of the comfortable beds(which it is) but because of their caring concern to their clients,last night i lost my iPhone in the taxi which i ride in marriott,so i reported it in their front desk,they immediately had solutions lined up to me,(they provided a tab every time u go in and out in the the taxi which is very important so make sure not to lose it),but unfortunately i lost it so i can't demand more from them but instead of avoiding the responsibility the good staff of marriott patiently searched for the taxi in the cctv clip,called immediately the taxi company and demanded the taxi driver to go back to the hotel,they also filed a police blatter,all this in their own willa and never asked anything,although i didn't got my fine back because of that lier taxi driver the security of marriott escorted me while interrogating the taxi driver and did an amazing job searching the taxi cab,all in all i really appreciated the effort and the superb excellent service that marriott hotel provides!!! THANKS MARRIOTT FOR THE GREAT EXPERIENCE!!! great rooms by the way!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apid18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time to write a review. Your feedback is important to us.

We are happy to know that you were thoroughly satisfied with the hotel service and how our team responded to assisting you in retrieving your mobile phone. Our goal is to be able to cater to your needs and make sure that you have a safe and comfortable stay while with us.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Marriott and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Patrick Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very nice hotel with excellent staff, who seem genuinely happy to be working. If their smiles are fake, you would never know. They even remembered my name on a repeat visit.

Special kudos go out to Meg and Jaizza and Kristel in the Executive lounge, and Dagobert who is a most excellent roomskeeper.

All staff encountered were very good representatives of Marriott and reinforced me returning to my favorite hotel chain!

Room Tip: hi floors give a better view, overlooking the mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We highly appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted to hear about how our brilliant hosts took care of you during your visit to the hotel. We will certainly recognize them for their efforts.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,505 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,216 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We got off to a bad start.

I booked a website promo which offered a US$35 hotel food and beverage credit with my booking. Despite me having the paperwork staff were not aware of the promo and made several calls to verify??? They assured me that the issue was resolved and that upon check out this wouldn't be an issue.

Upon check out guess what? It again it was questioned and took some time to verify. I had a ferry to catch to Camotes that day so was quite annoyed with the unnecessary delay. They then told me it didn't include room service beers. I argued the point as nowhere in the conditions of the promo was this stated. In the end they agreed.

Front desk staff need to be better trained to know of promos offered and need to be able to read and accept documentary evidence provided by customers. Clients shouldn't be treated as scammers.

Now for the hotel review!

The Marriott is only a 3 star hotel and was last refurbished in 2008. It needs further refurbishment. The hotel is clean but is quite dated - especially the hotel bathrooms. Not up to the standard of other Marriotts I have stayed at and is only 3 star hotel but still charge 5 star hotel rates. I paid a similar rate for the Fairmont in Makati which is a far far superior hotel.

After staying at the Marriott upon my return I stayed at the Quest Hotel which is a little more than half the price and newer. Breakfast at the Marriott is better and you don't need to cross any busy roads to get into the Ayala Mall. They are the only advantages and you pay a lot more for this.

Breakfast is from far the best I've had at a hotel but is still quite good. Lobby is great with entertainment provided and the pool is also quite dated.

I would consider the Quest Hotel for Cebu City stays in the future as it offers better value and is a more modern hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the Ayala View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time to write a review. Your feedback is important to us.

We are disappointed to hear about the inconvenience you encountered during your visit to the hotel. Rest assured we will look into it and make the necessary improvements to be of better service to you in the future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cainta, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We arrived here early 10am for our check-in and we were immediately entertained and there was a room available so I guess we're lucky. Welcome drink to me and to my father was given when we entered this hotel.
Excellent service with courteous employees.

Marriot is the gateway to Ayala Mall. So many great restaurant to choose from; try local (cebuano) foods you'll won't regret it.

Hotel room is quite outdated but spotless. WIFI is very fast and efficient.

Lobby, cafe and pool is small

Overall: I enjoyed my stay and highly recommend this for shoppers, food enthusiast & for business trips.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamy_arte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriottcebu, General Manager at Cebu City Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking time to write a review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay during your visit to the hotel and that our brilliant hosts were courteous and accommodating.

We hope to see you again during your future visits.

Sincerely,

Patrick Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,975 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
0.6 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#2 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cebu City Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cebu City Marriott Hotel

Property: Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Address: Cardinal Rosales Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#5 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cebu City Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within the city’s premier financial district - the Cebu Business Park, the Cebu City Marriott Hotel sits right next door to Ayala Mall where opportunities for great shopping and a vibrant nightlife await you. Near by are offices of top corporations, banking centers, an exclusive sports club, convention centers and the Asia Town IT Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cebu City Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cebu City Hotel Cebu City
Cebu City Marriott Hotel Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing