We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Ranked #11 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed 9 January 2014

no real issues. Pleasant enough. Waterfront name a misnomer. All amenities adequate. No time spent in casino so can't comment on that. Found all staff pleasant and helpful. Agree - rooms a little dated but then again, this is not downtown USA. Buffet at Uno was well-prepared and was even vegan-friendly.

Room Tip: higher up facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,890 - 1,896 of 2,455 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

I was in Cebu for a large event so I stayed four nights here and then spent the weekend at the Shangri La. The property itself is great. The room was like an apartment (not sure what category but they did tell me I was upgraded. Very tasteful furniture and no mold or anything like some of the reviews have stated. The room was fresh, clean. The size of the hotel does mean that room service (and any service for that matter) can take an eternity. It took me over an hour for a meal, 30 mins for housekeeping. The breakfast was good and the convention facilities impressive. The Internet was terrible! If you want to go gambling the casino is pretty decent.

It's well located for events etc but if you are on Holiday - the Shangri La at the other end where I spent the weekend is a better bet,

One last thing, don't let the name fool you - it's miles away from any hospitable beach!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skywords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel is ok, exactly as You would expect, the bathroom is nice, there is just enough space. The TV in my room rembembered the 90s and the design could be better. The service was good, didn't use the casino or the restaurant. Location is ok, but You will need a cab to go around Cebu anyway. It is a bit pricey over 100 USD for just about basic utilities is too much.

Room Tip: If You can afford it, upgrade the room, basic rooms are, well, basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolf8668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

This time we only stayed one night upon arrival in Cebu before heading to the province the next day, so we didn't really utilise all that the hotel has to offer and can only comment on the room.

When we checked in they were quick to attend and get our bags, and the lobby is big and spacious with lovely piano music playing on the floor above. They seemed to forget our bags though and after about half an hour we had to call up and it took them 10 further minutes to find them. The bed was good and room comfortable, but starting to feel a bit dated. There are many dining options, but we were only there for breakfast, which had a great selection and fantastic service.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel is beautiful but while I was there for 2 weeks several small items and money was stolen out of my room while I was out. I had headphones, expensive sunglasses and USD taken while I was out. I didnt realize what was going on until my sunglasses came up missing the next morning. As it turned out I caught a staff member coming out of my room around 2:30pm and when I asked him what he was doing he said just inspecting the room. Later I came to realize that your rooms are not safe to leave small items and that they are searching in the drawers and closets in the deepest hidden areas.

We went to Christmas dinner and it had a few more things than normal most recognizably Turkey. The normal rate had been 650 peso per person. When we got the bill it was 5900 peso for 4 people. I was completely in shock, not only did they almost double the price without notifying us but added 30% surcharges and taxes to the bill! I cannot believe they charge a 10% service fee for a buffet where you have to get your own food and some unexplained food tax when there is no tax on food purchases in this country at the grocery stores! Normal tipping rates in the Philippines are less than 5% for full service.

Most of the food in the buffet was good but they seemed to hold back on giving you the quantity you may have wanted especially with the turkey and the dessert area constantly running out of christmas cookies and treats.

A girl at the front desk was rude when I had brought a guest in that evening even though I had registered and extra guest when I booked the hotel and gave me a nasty look everytime I saw her for the remainder of my stay.

This place is beautiful and the gym and pool area is very nice but seriously lacking in personal service to the point where it's almost a trap where they get you in there limit you, control you, bill you and fail to assist you where other hotels typically do.

I have found better service in high end hotels on the beach in Mactan Island. Take the name for example....Waterfront Hotel.... There is not waterfront there at all! unless they are calling the pool the waterfront? The service and customer care is just as decieving and you feel unappreciated after staying there.

Dont waste your money there if you are expected to be treated with great care.

Room Tip: no waterfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Hotel looked nice from outside, common areas were also nice. Room smelled like mold and pool was EXTREAMLY dirty. Staff was no so nice and rude when asked about the dirty pool. The breakfast was very nice with many options.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We requested for a top-floor, not facing the street room, and we got it. No hassle upon check-in and check-out.

If you're a fitness enthusiast, you'll definitely love their gym located inside the hotel. They also have a sauna and pool in the hotel.

Rooms are spacious. I love their buffet breakfast the most. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast early to avoid the crowd
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katrina117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#3 of 92 in Cebu City
1,334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
#5 of 92 in Cebu City
1,255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
#6 of 92 in Cebu City
596 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#10 of 92 in Cebu City
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino

Address: Salinas Drive | Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Waterfront Cebu City Hotel)
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range: £49 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel And Casino
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing