We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pricey but nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Room was spacious and cool enough but a bit pricey for one person. Breakfast buffet is satisfying; they have a wide selection of food for breakfast. I haven't tried the food in their restaurant aside from the breakfast since I was out for business meetings the whole day. Service is good; staff are nice, helpful and friendly. Place is also secure with the dogs snipping the bags at the entrance. it is also a bit far from the center of the city but is very near to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenizen111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    820
    416
    136
    102
See reviews for
483
456
211
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

one of the worst rooms I had since a long time. no safe.. window just above the cooling towers. greasy oil and kitchen smell, filthy and dirty

Lobby is nice

restaurant local flair nothing exciting... stay save :) all poor looking food

have seen other rooms of colleagues they are nicer, but I could not upgrade as the Hotel was full

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel, restaurants and casino can all be described as "average". It's really nothing special, but also nothing really to complain about except for the internet that never works.. I just think for the price there are many better places to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chane_Steiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banilad, Cebu City
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Althoug still very magistic and pretty well maintained, the rooms need a complete renovation. The faded colour that once was prestigeous brown at this moment became depressing dark and cry for a full refresh. The public areas (lobby, shop, etc) are renewed a few years ago and still very inviting, as well as the restaurants. The food-quality and the wide choice of dishes in the "eat all you can buffet"-restaurant "Uno" is excellent, as well as the bar- and snack-service in the lobby.
My advise, waiting for the renewal of the rooms you better stay somewhere else (there are a lot of hotels with nicer -and cheaper- rooms in Cebu), but enjoy the ambiance and food of the Waterfront-lobby and Uno-restaurant.

Room Tip: Wait for renewal of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Wow, these guys seriously need to renovate. The rooms are atrocious. I have no idea why they are not renovating these rooms!

the restaruants there are good, however. But I really cant recommend staying there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimFonston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

At the Waterfront Hotel & Casino, you pay a 5-star price but get a 1-star service. This would have to be one of the most disappointing hotels in the Philippines. And I have travelled a lot in this country.

The hotel building is generally ok, and the rooms are reasonably appointed. The real trouble is their working procedures and customer service. Whatever you want to do or organise, hits a brick wall of management incompetence.

If you’ve run out of soap in your room and request another one, someone turns up after 20 minutes to fix your toilet. You explain that your toilet is fine and you just need a bar of soap, but the maintenance guy marches on to fix your toilet regardless. You start to understand better the meaning of the Australian expression “I don’t know you from a bar of soap”. After 20 minutes of work the maintenance guy walks off, and the toilet, that was fine in the first place, now leaks.

You ring the operator and ask to be put through to Housekeeping. For the next 20 minutes you get music on hold, as your call to Housekeeping has reached nowhere.

One hour has now passed, you still have no soap, and the toilet, which was initially fine, now leaks.

You think that perhaps someone in Reception might be able to help you, so you ring the operator again, and ask to be put through to Reception. In most hotels you pick up the phone, press one digit, and you are immediately through to Reception. But not at the Waterfront. Here, the call must go through the operator. So you ask the operator for Reception, and get music again as you are facing an indefinite period of waiting on hold.

You decide to take a break from this saga, relax for 10 minutes, take a deep breath, cross your fingers and ring the operator again. This time they don’t answer your call at all. They’ve had enough of your requests to be connected to someone.

Similar sagas happened to me at the Waterfront on a continuous basis. Everyday. And this was on the good days, when my room telephone actually worked. It did develop some intermittent fault, and it took the Waterfront 4 days to replace it.

Initially you might get upset with some service staff at the Waterfront, but you quickly learn that this would be a mistake. The fault is not with some specific staff members – it is with management. Management that apparently has not put in place professional working procedures, and consequently no issue or request gets a follow-up. No operating procedures, a complete breakdown in the management chain.

With total amazement how the Waterfront can stay in business like this, you go down to Reception, ask to talk to the hotel chief, and meet the Resident Manager – Mr Carlo Sainz, your last hope. You explain your concerns to Mr Sainz, as patiently as possible. In return, you get from Mr Sainz a smirk, a conceited smile. He must know something that you don’t. He gives you some vague promises, but again, nothing happens as a consequence.

If you travel with a laptop/netbook/tablet/smartphone and an internet connection is important to you, don’t even think about booking the Waterfront. The WiFi service, that’s supposed to be available in every room, is painfully slow in ordinary times and non-existent in others. By “painfully slow” I mean that connection to most servers, your webmail server for example, would usually time out so you can’t even check your email.

If the Waterfront were to replace Mr Sainz and put in place proper working procedures, I might visit this hotel again. Otherwise – no way.

Final comment about two write-ups I’ve seen here about the Waterfront Hotel, one titled “Excellent airport hotel” and the other “Very convenient, comfortable airport hotel”. I suspect both writers had made a mistake about the hotel identity. There are two Waterfront hotels in Cebu. One is called “Waterfront Airport Hotel & Casino Mactan”, and is indeed near Cebu airport. I presume that this is the hotel that both writers referred to. But the hotel discussed here is the Waterfront Hotel & Casino in Salinas Drive, Lahug, Cebu City, which is about 1.5 hours by taxi from Cebu airport (depending on traffic, of course). This is a completely different hotel, and TripAdvisor’s staff might like to check this.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tilox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranaque
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Our company had a function in this hotel and I was fortunate to be upgraded to an executive suite; instead of a deluxe room (they were fully booked). The suite was comprised of two rooms of equal size. The first one had a dining table for four and a sofa and a working table with a monitor with built in CPU and a printer. The second had a king sized bedroom and the bathroom had a separate tub and shower. It was really more than what I needed; considering I was just using it for sleep. On the other hand, the facility is showing its age and some of the fixtures needs replacement. The safety deposit box in my room, for instance, was not locking at all. At least, it was generally clean.
The hotel is very popular with Koreans and with other nationalities. It actually is large; but still, the lobby felt like a market place considering the number of guests (I mentioned earlier they were fully booked). The food is nothing to rave about but will fill your stomach. And the service is not consistent as some of the personnel, particularly the front desk, are not accommodating nor charming.
As a venue for a large group, I would recommend this hotel. However, if it is for a family vacation, there are better choices.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarloRago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,041 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
#5 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino

Property: Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Address: Salinas Drive, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Waterfront Cebu City Hotel)
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel And Casino
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Hotel Cebu City
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing