We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Rooms, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Henry Hotel Cebu
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2013

The main highlights of our stay at House of Cebu were:

Staff - Friendly, helpful and always smiling. Customer service at any place that you go to, whether it be a hotel, restaurant, bank etc is always a reflection of the business itself. I was very impressed by the staff at the House of Cebu. One staff even offered to take us out to the Sinulog feista celebrations and I was so grateful for her offer.

Rooms - We selected the Big Room to stay in and it blew us away. Not only was the room very big, it was furnished with impressive furniture and had a nice large modern bathroom.

Restaurant - I loved the food here and was happy to eat here for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The downside of the hotel was:

Location - It was a little out of the city centre, not that it was a big deal. Given that we were there during the SInulog celebration, it was harder to get into the city from the hotel if you were keen to watch the SInulog parade.

Scrapyard Bar - I've read that this bar is a separate business from the hotel itself. We found the staff here very rude and given that it is a bar... it was opened til the early hours of the next morning. Therefore, there was always loud music playing and often you could hear from your room the people at the bar. We came across a couple who had checked in that night, just to stay for that night, but had to re-locate to a different hotel as it was difficult for them to get a good night's sleep. That is disappointing. It is hard to have a bar at a small hotel like this as the noise can be heard on all levels of the building.

Room Tip: Opt for the 'Big Room' option. You will not be disappointed :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

873 - 879 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

If you are needing a place to stay over night or you are there on business this is a great hotel. loved the swimming pool & interiors. staff were friendly and professional.
We stayed in two rooms, they moved us to a room which was away from the bar as a big party was booked for NYE.
Rooms are all individually designed, clean, large and modern.
This hotel is in a process of changing its name to Henry. It should be noted that the rooms do not have a door to the bathroom & toilet, they are located in an alcove in the room, would be good if the hotel reviewed this for guests privacy.
The breakfast which is included was very basic and not consistent each day, hopefully they will look at addressing their menu as it is quite basic. Overall this was a good choice, thanks for a great stay! We would book here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The interior of the House of Cebu has a modern industrial look. The ceiling and floor of the entire hotel is left unfinished. So you could see bare cement . No carpeting on the floor. I guess this was the reason that on my second day, I could hear what seemed to be trolley bags rolling on the floor above my room and footsteps of people walking around the room above me. I was not able to rest after a hectic all-morning meeting. There is no kettle in the room and no refrigerator either. The wifi inside my room was very weak.

However, the room is clean, very large and the bed is comfortable. I was glad to see a toothbrush among the bath amenities. Toothbrush has disappeared in most European hotels except the five-star ones. The staff were very helpful. I was served a nice lemon drink when I arrived late at night. Though not in the city center, location is ok. Cebu is a small city and the hotel staff can get you a taxi anytime. There is a nice restaurant by the lobby on the ground floor which serves reasonably priced dishes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank b0h0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your valued feedback. As our guests' comfort and the improvement of our facilities are always our top priority, be assured that we are taking the necessary action to address the issues on your review. Meantime, i look forward to your next visit. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

great reception and fine room but unlike promised there was no internet. I called the reception and they advised to come to the lobby to connect. Also there no reception though the password was correct. My mac always and everywhere connects in a blink. A boy reset the router to no effect. The manager said their own devices were connected. On the way up to the room i asked a random guest if he was able to connect and he said no,....we called reception 5 hours ago and they quoted a technical defect. Had to go to a restaurant around the corner to easily connect and do my urgent business and importantly.... know what to do tomorrow! This doesn't make sense to me really. The floors may be polished and the staff over friendly but i do not want the feeling of being held for ransom.

Room Tip: don't if you need to be online, not reliable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Mr. Peter G,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. Pleased to advise that upgrade of our WIFI facilities is underway and we expect to have better and improved WIFI very soon. Meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and for the late response. We hope to host your next visit to Cebu and regain your confidence. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This hotel changed owners in November. The staff, pool and rooms are great but now there is a disco in the hotel which is incredibly loud until after midnight--impossible to sleep. I politely complained but they said that there is nothing they can do as the disco is a separate operation. Also the I had a late breakfast on the first morning and there was very loud disco music in the restaurant-- just muesli, yogurt and coffee was 12 usd. THIS IS A ONCE GREAT HOTEL WHICH HAS BEEN RUINED BY NEW OWNERSHIP.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmikesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Mr. Mike Smith,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. On behalf of the whole team, please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had during your stay with us due to the noise coming from the bar and the loud music at the restaurant. Please be assured that together with the owners/ management of the bar we are taking the necessary measures to resolve this issue. Your comment on the restaurant music and breakfast were well noted too. Meantime, we look forward to your next visit and offer service recovery. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This review is overdue but hopefully not too late. My husband and I stayed at this property in the first week of SEP2012 and we chose this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary and my husband's birthday. There were very few reviews of the property as the hotel had opened its doors only a few months earlier, but after viewing the hotel website, we knew we wanted to stay here. The hotel does not look like one from the exterior or interior. Once you step into the lobby, you are greeted by the friendly staff and a RED MAN with a cheeky grin! The lobby is eye-catching in its decor and you feel as if you stepped into someone's home. We chose the X-large room which is the size of a one bedroom apartment and it was very spacious and well decorated. The mural on the wall, the polished cement flooring, the uncovered ceiling and the furnishings gave it a realxing atmosphere...and the ensuite was absolutely spacious too. The hotel's dining room has large glass window panes that let the sunlight through and a decor that is well balanced and unique. Lots of cosy spots to chill out. The breakfast menu has various options and it was perfect for us as we do not like buffet spreads. We loved the swimming pool area with its terrace and greenery and it is very similar to a large pool in the backyard of a lovely home! The service is very professional and not overbearing and the food delicious with a menu incorporating western and local dishes. The decor and furnishings of the hotel gives you an insight into the character, creativity and personality of the owners. It is evident that they have dedicated a lot of time, effort in sourcing for the materials and furnishings and are very passionate in making this hotel work. For us it was a hotel that was absolutely comfortable, clean and welcoming. We felt very much at home, dined comfortably and slept soundly at night.
The location of the hotel was perfect for us too....away from the hustle and bustle of downtown.
There are lots of restaurants specializing in European cuisine within walking distance as well as Asian supermarkets located on the main thoroughfare and a shopping mall with restaurants. pubs, cineplax, supermarket and a department store that caters mostly for the locals. We stayed here for a week and it was a most relaxing holiday for us. Our sincere thanks to May and her husband and to Bev and all the wonderful staff for making this a holiday to remember. Thank you also for the delicious and mouthwatering birthday cake! We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Lots of art and quirky furnishings make this hotel fun. I liked the over-sized rooms with modern, minimalist furnishings. Wonderful staff and decent location off the busy street.

This is definitely one of my favorite hotels in Cebu and most certainly will be my choice when returning.

Room Tip: Just book a standard size room, the larger ones are only slightly bigger. Also, note that there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeaducedByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 91 in Cebu City
1,297 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
#6 of 91 in Cebu City
589 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 91 in Cebu City
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Hotel Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Hotel Cebu

Address: Ma Luisa Entrance Road | One Paseo Compound, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range: £46 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry Hotel Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Cebu City, The Henry is a boutique hotel that is unique, full of personality and charm. A hotel "like no other", it radiates an out-of-the-box hospitality experience. A mix of European, vintage, industrial and rustic vibe radiates from The Henry's interior. With 38 rooms of unique decor, your stay at The Henry will be a memorable discovery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Henry Hotel Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Hotel Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing