We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Henry Hotel Cebu
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Folsom, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I am Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

When I booked this room, I had an idea in my head about how it would be. I thought it would basically be a run-down hotel that the management had tried to gussy up with some funky art. But so far I can say it is a very nicely done hotel, with a lot of attention to detail. But the price was good so I figured it would be ok.

So yes, it probably was a run-down hotel at one point, I don't know, but the refurbish job is just top-notch. Things are clean, it looks well maintained, nothing really looks old in a bad way. I mean, the floors are concrete, but they're polished and have some kind of varnish on them, so they don't look old and cheap, they look classy. The designs are a little wacky, but that's the charm of the place. It's not like any other hotel you've stayed in. And as I am a designer myself, I can see they clearly have a good design sense about it. It's all a bit random, but it doesn't come across as just a bunch of random junk they put together.

The bed is comfortable, the comforter looks new, and the pillows are really big and fluffy.

Also, let me mention that the wi-fi is really good, at least in my room on the 5th floor. It's probably the fastest Wi-Fi I've ever had in an Asian hotel. I get between 50k/bits and 250k/bits a second here. I honestly didn't think I'd ever find a decent connection anywhere in Asia.

The staff is all very helpful and nice, and they smile a lot too.

The only negative I've had so far is that I ordered a drink (non-alcoholic) in the bar and it ended up being 130 pesos, which I thought was a little steep. But that is not a big deal.

If you're concerned that this hotel is one of those that looks good in pictures but bad in person, don't be. That's what I thought it would be, but it's not at all. If anything it looks better in person. And it's cheap!

Room Tip: The fifth floor seems nice and quiet, and has excellent Wi-Fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinFolsomCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such generous review. As i read it, i i remember equally interesting comment rom another guest that goes, "This is where imperfection looks so nice". The funky, wacky, classy design as you so pointed out along with helpful staff, comfy bed and all i would say are what sets The Henry, like no other apart from the rest of them. Should there be anything the team can do to make this stay truly memorable, please let us know. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    293
    76
    18
    10
See reviews for
127
339
102
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Seriously, book now if you want a boutique unique feel with attentive service, delicious food (do not miss dinner at Rica's), and coolest experience. I have never stayed at a more fun experienced hotel that is super hip, clean, and nice staff. Only wish we stayed longer. 200p white taxi to airport and 180 from pier including tip!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelzblugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such uplifting review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to The Henry Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

If a hotel could have a personality this one would be 'Wacky'. The first thing you see is the manekin in reception,then the gorgeous young ladies at reception always with a smile. The rooms are outstanding, all very large and uniquely fitted out. The style is bright and colourful whilst remaining minimalist (polished concrete floors and no suspended ceilings).

We didnt use the restaurant except for breakfaet as we had other plans. I came close to changing my plans to re-visit the hotel as we liked it so much.

Loved it totally and would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: All the rooms are large, we had an xx large and it was massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davey1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Your feedback is truly encouraging. Thank you for staying at The Henry, like no other. We look forward to your next equally exciting stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel just for one night and were sorry we couldnt stay longer because we had other plans... It is a great hotel with perfect service and very cool design! It has everything u need and the staff is very helpful!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateryna55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your excellent review. It would be nice to have you back on a longer stay period so i and the rest of the team certainly look forward to your return. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

When researching hotels to stay in Cebu, I was intrigued to stay here based on the images of the hotel the pictures were very interesting and I wouldn't expect a hotel like this to be in the Philippines. I decided to book it based on reviews and the hotel did not disappoint.

The ambiance and artwork throughout the hotel including the rooms were very stylish and in my words very "hipster." From the front desk girls with their big glasses to the little added things in the rooms. The room itself was very clean and very spacious (we stayed in the basic room) and our bed was so comfortable I didn't wanna get out of bed half the time.

I gave this place 4 stars instead of 5 because 1) the location was kind of hidden, whenever we got in a taxi cab they always were very clueless and most of the time had no idea where it was unless we named a specific street 2) the toilet in our room sucked it didn't flush half the time and was incredibly weak. And FYI before you book this hotel make sure you're comfortable enough to stay in a room with the person you're with because there are NO bathroom doors, so be prepared to get that personal with whoever is in the room with you, because you'll have no privacy if you're doing your business on the toilet. But overall we had a great experience at this hotel and would definitely stay here again if ever I was in Cebu again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks to your encouraging review. It feels good that your decision to book in our hotel based on positive reviews did not disappoint you. Most, it feels best knowing you will stay with us again because of your great experience. I also thank you for highlighting The Henry Hotel's hipster ambience which became the favorite of our many guests as well as the other details that make our hotel like no other. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the weak pressure in your water closet. As of this writing, desired water pressure has already been restored after our maintenance team declogged the pipeline and did the needful. We also recognize that many guests prefer privacy in the bathroom over style and artistic flair and we are working on installation of appropriate enclosure to ensure your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Henry. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The artwork and styling throughout the hotel was interesting enough to warrant a dozen photo opportunities alone. The rooms were very generously sized and maintained well.

The quality of the breakfast was very good, although the speed of service was a little bit hit or miss.

The location is fantastic- the korean and Japanese restaurants nearby were great, and there is beer-pong in the bar across the road.

The staff were very helpful and in high spirits throughout, the attire of the reception staff a highlight.

Room Tip: The xx-large rooms are almost pointlessly big, unless you plan to play hide and seek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. Delighted to know that you liked the artwork, location and staff service. Discussed your feedback on restaurant service with our operations manager and please be assured that appropriate measures were already taken. Looking forward to being of service to you once again at The Henry, like no other. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
218 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Hotel is nice and the front desk girls so stylish and friendy with a stylish outlooks. I had a room on the 3th floor and i can not understand that wierd noise on the 4th floor,..i think somebody walk around her home with high heels and it could be heard so easily downstairs. 4th floor,..it has maybe normal condo homes or Gym,..i suppose? My aircon was broken and my friend one leaking to the floor. Bed is still the best what you i have discovered before in the Philippines,.and room spacious and comfortable. Large room is really good enough .

Food was nice ,..we took same kind of beefs with my friend,.he is big guy,.i am smaller,.so he got big beef,.and i twice smaller:p Breakfast,..so much simple until now. Only simple American breakfast on a selection of 4 different kind of ones.

I still miss music to the bar veranda and more tables and seats. Wi-fi. Not good at all.

Location is nice,..my opinion,..some distance from center( 4km) but still near nice restaurants,.bars and country mall. Banilad is safe part of Cebu,.. unlike Osmenia and Escario

Room Tip: Please avoid 3th floor,.maybe Gym upstairs,..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niko_sta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback on how your stay with us has been. First, i would like to apologize for the noise that reverberated to your room which most likely resulted from the furniture and workers movement with an ongoing room refurbishment on level 5. Likewise, i am truly sorry for the AC issue you pointed out which our engineering team will address right away. Pleased to advise that effective Nov 20, our "Ravintola" shall start offering breakfast buffet to enhance the breakfast and dining experience of our valued guests which is a proof that we do not welcome our guest's feedback but we listen and find solution. Once again, Kiitos Paljonfor for choosingThe Henry and it would be a pleasure to host your future visit in Cebu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#9 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
#7 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
8.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Hotel Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Hotel Cebu

Property: The Henry Hotel Cebu
Address: Ma Luisa Entrance Road | One Paseo Compound, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry Hotel Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Cebu City, The Henry is a boutique hotel that is unique, full of personality and charm. A hotel "like no other", it radiates an out-of-the-box hospitality experience. A mix of European, vintage, industrial and rustic vibe radiates from The Henry's interior. With 38 rooms of unique decor, your stay at The Henry will be a memorable discovery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Henry Hotel Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Hotel Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing