We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Henry Hotel Cebu
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

A very unique boutique hotel - creative with colourful decoration. They are one of a kind! Some of the signs and posters are really cute and funny.

Their rooms are spacious and full of fun! Do not expect a feeling of being at home in these rooms because they are spacious with quirky pieces of furniture and designs. Nothing matches which is exactly like how they advertise - like no other! We picked this hotel from word of mouth and stayed in the X-large room - not expensive at all so you'll be in for a shock for the size you get! The only thing I disliked was the lighting in the room. At night, it's so dark...so if you intend to read a book, don't count on it.

Their bathrooms are DEFINITELY funky! There are no doors so please don't come here with a friend because you won't be able to take a No 2 with them just out there! The bathtub is in full view of the bed and sofa so you can't really have any privacy. I have no problem with it but for those of you who are travelling with people you're not close to, beware! The odd thing is they only provide 2 bath towels. Ours looked old and rugged.... I think they need to rethink their towels and maybe buy more fluffier towels because they weren't comfortable at all.. I felt like it was one of those towels people use to clean their dishes. Sorry! On the plus side, their amenities are adorable!

The girls at the reception were very friendly at check in.. until we went down to ask questions on where to shop and to also get their hotel card for an address for the cab driver. They were cold, didn't look us in the eyes and didn't smile. One of the girls just handed us a card and a henry hotel brochure. It was as if they couldn't be bothered to help. **That brochure we were given is actually very useful! It gave recommendations on where to eat and shop.... I don't know why they didn't give it to us at check in.. If we never asked for the hotel card, I don't think we would have been given one of those hotel guides.

We didn't have a chance to try the swimming pool but from the looks of it, it seemed shallow and a bit worn out. The restaurant looked great, just like the rooms but we didn't have time to try it. I would love to come back and try the food because of the reviews here on trip advisor but I'm not so sure I would stay again unless I had to stay in the city!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is always heartwarming to hear from guests the unique qualities of The Henry and making it not just one of the hotels but one that is truly like no other. Thank you for appreciating the creative aspect. As mentioned in my previous responses to guest reviews that we are currently undertaking installation of bathroom enclosures in some of our guest rooms. Likewise, we have replaced all our towels. The lighting improvement in some rooms is a work in progress. All these initiatives are within our objective to Henrify our guest experience with guest satisfaction as top priority. Please be assured your other concerns and suggestions are well taken and rest assured that value them and as always take appropriate measures to address them. We hope to have the privilege once again of hosting your visit in your future trips to Cebu. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    292
    76
    18
    10
See reviews for
126
339
102
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

In everything this hotel is really stylish and it tries to express it's mission "like no others": polite personal, a lot of design features where you can do photo shoots and very cozy beds. Most of all I liked it’s personal – they helped us in all our requests : marked places of shopping on the map, quickly ordered a taxi, copied that nice music which played all time in the lobby.
But we felt the greatest respect and trust to this hotel when it gave a guarantee of our solvency to a tour operator whom we found for discovering beauties of Cebu. Tour operator “Cebu Exclusive Holiday” arranged excellent trip of swimming with whale sharks near Oslob, canyoning (it’s amazing) and also kayaking, motobiking and jungle tracking at Olanggo island, but before these trips we didn’t know this agency and afraid to pay a big deposit to them. Thus Henry hotel helped us to realize these unforgettable trips after which we still had wonderful memories of nature and people of Cebu.
Of course Henry hotel has some things we want to be improved.
First of them is not enough light in rooms. Accented light is good design feature but sometimes it was hard to find our things in the room.
Second one is absence of yoghurt and tea in our breakfast. For European man who tired of Asian food these two dishes are rescue for a stomach.
Third one is cold swimming pool. Why to build so beautiful swimming pool if we can’t relax in hot water watching our hotel and all around?
Fourth one is difficulty of recognition room’s cards in elevator. We put, moved, touched a surface of sensor by this card but it seemed that the sensor works in a random way. But may be it’s a part of style of hotel.
In all other moments hotel is great for being there and for renting for business or solemn events (in the dining room).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such great review of The Henry and for noticing the stylish aspect of our hotel and the service among other things. My sincere apologies for the items you pointed out that seemed to have fallen short of your expectations. Rest assured that appropriate attention and action will be done with guest satisfaction being our highest priority. We also appreciate your improvement suggestions. We look forward to your return to The Henry, like no other. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We arrived on a Thursday afternoon and it was nice to see a fresh hotel. We were given a room on level 3 which was above the bar located on level 2. From early evening until about 3 am all could be heard was the thumping music. It was so bad I could hear things vibrating in our room.This happened all over again on the Friday night and again little to no sleep which made us very tired during the day. No other rooms available, was booked out. Then on the Saturday night a nearby bar held a rave party in the car park below. This one went on to about 4 am with the crowd spilling into the street also. By the time I boarded my plane home on Sunday evening I was beyond tired, my excitement for attending Sinulog had waned greatly all I wanted was to get out of there.
On that the restaurant is OK, the room comfortable and my only complaints, the glass bathroom door wouldn't close and no bath mat provided. Taxis always available in front.
I booked this place based on all the comments at the time in Tripadvisor were positive ... too positive it seems. i suspect something as I looked at local jobs available in Cebu and one was advertising for writers of website reviews ??
Would be a nice place if they could offer guests some peace.

Room Tip: Ask for something higher up maybe level 6, avoid level 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am deeply sorry for not having been able to make your stay primarily due to the disturbing music at the bar and the earth shaking music from the car park. This will be corrected. Likewise, i also regret the other aspects of your stay where we did not meet your expectations. Still, i am hoping this did not change your perception of our hotel and that we get another chance to welcome you back as our guest in the near future, meet you personally, bounce back from the unpleasant experience you had with us on your first time visit and offer you a return stay "like no other" as many happy guests whose stay was Henrified in so many ways- have shared in their reviews. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

When we walked into the lobby, I was impressed – what a cool décor they have. Hotel and restaurant look great. I give the décor a 5. But shortly after this is when the disappointed clicked in.

The staff is okay. They have big smiles on their face, but are somewhat indifferent when it comes to helping you. It was pouring down rain and they did not have any umbrellas. And it wasn’t that they were out, they did not have any in the hotel. Every hotel we have visited in SE Asia (and we have visited many) keeps a few umbrellas on hand to borrow. Anytime we asked a question about Cebu, the front desk didn’t seem too interested in helping beyond providing minimum answers (not typical of SE Asia hospitality).

Our room was a large and it was a very nice size, but the walls were patched and had not been painted and this was not part of their urban décor. Our toilet did not work correctly. They gave us two bath towels that were very worn. I had to go and ask housekeeping for a bath mat and hand towels. The shower has very low pressure.

From TA reviews, I thought I would love this hotel – but I did not.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to share with us your concerns. On behalf of the team, please accept my heartfelt apologies for letting you down during this stay. We recognize the need to review some of the procedures and rest assured that necessary actions shall be undertaken. As part of continuous improvement, i am pleased to advise though that we have already purchased new towels and are soon expecting arrival of new batch of umbrellas. Please allow me and my team to make it up to you on your next visit and give you a Henrified experience, one that is truly like no other. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

They have many cool slogans everywhere, nice staff, and artistic settings. But our bathroom door cannot close properly..we booked the room for 3 persons but got a room for 2 persons...and it is not close to famous scenic spots

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oranjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review of The Henry. As part of continuous improvement to furthter Henrify our guests' experience we are currently undertaking installation of enclosure in some of our guest rooms where bathrooms lack doors. We expect to complete this within a month. Please accept my apology for having given you a room with set up for 2 persons. This is a very important aspect of guest stay that will be carefully addressed with the team. Nonetheless, we look forward to another chance to host your next trip to Cebu City and make it up to you. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Tucked away in the backstreets of Banilad Cebu is a great little hotel - The Henry Hotel. Now, this is not your typical place. It stands out with quirkiness and a little oddness at times....but nevertheless comfortable and clean. One of the first things that great you are staff wearing the same glasses, but with no lenses. The lobby is clean and staff are very helpful. Our room was on the 5th floor - 507. Nice, clean and air con worked brilliantly. My only neg feedback - lighting in the room was dim...i mean really dim....other than that it was great.
Food was Ok....we did Al la carte rather than all you can eat....as there is only so much food you can fit into your stomach.
Hotel is next to good restaurant options - japanese, korean and italian. Also day spa and karaoke is in walking distances.
I liked this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dj_miguel_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for noticing the unique qualities of The Henry such as staff uniform like no other, clean lobby, comfortable aircon, good food and proximity to nice restaurants. Pls accept my apology if lighting in your room wasn't to your satisfaction, Rest assured this will be addressed. Thank you very much and looking forward to your return visit to The Henry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Korea via The USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My family of four loved our stay at the Henry in Cebu. We had a XXL room and it was great! It was a suite, but the price was very affordable. Two rooms, two big beds, two TV's and two full bathrooms is great for a family on vacation.
The breakfast served at the hotel restaurant was nice. They had a bit of everything with Filipino and western style food. Staff at the hotel is courteous and very helpful with directions around Cebu.
The rooms and hotel are decorated with very interesting art concepts. The pool is nice and clean but nothing super fancy. My kids enjoyed it. An added bonus, is the very nice spa right next door to the hotel. We plan to stay at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Try the XXL room. It is actually a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such inspiring review. It is our goal to always create memorable experiences for our guests and extend service like no other throughout all contact points. It is always our pleasure to be of service to you and looking forward to your next visit. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
#7 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
8.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Hotel Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Hotel Cebu

Property: The Henry Hotel Cebu
Address: Ma Luisa Entrance Road | One Paseo Compound, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry Hotel Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Cebu City, The Henry is a boutique hotel that is unique, full of personality and charm. A hotel "like no other", it radiates an out-of-the-box hospitality experience. A mix of European, vintage, industrial and rustic vibe radiates from The Henry's interior. With 38 rooms of unique decor, your stay at The Henry will be a memorable discovery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Henry Hotel Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Hotel Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing