We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and large rooms; new”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Henry Hotel Cebu
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable and large rooms; new”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel from 25-27 May 2014 at room 511 facing the entrance road to Maria Luisa Subd. Chose this hotel based on previous reviews in tripadvisor. Exceeded my expectations. The room was large, with large bathroom. I found the room clean and uniquely-designed. I understand from reviews on the net that it is owned by a European couple who placed their travel collection as accents. The bed linens were better than the sheets you get from known brands abroad. The room had a large TV and a DVD player. The room aircon was a match for the summer heat. Access to the elevator and to the room is through a key card.
Check-in was smooth even though I arrived a bit late in the evening. Had breakfast each day at the hotel restaurant Rica. Breakfast spread was simple but filling and delicious. Each day was different. As I passed by on my first evening, I saw that the restaurant was full of patrons. However, I chose to have dinner in an Italian restaurant outside the hotel but within the same compound. Check out the VW beetle displayed on the second floor, as you enter the bar.
The hotel is located next to the main road so getting a taxi is not difficult. Gaisano Country Mall is a short walk away. If you're headed for the city center, there appears to be a public transport service to Colon but I have not tried it. Banilad, the district where the hotel is located has several interesting shops (The Spa, etc) and bars (Cablecar, etc). Further into the city is Ayala Center and SM malls. There's also a Korean resto and a Korean Spa next door.
I think I've found my regular place in Cebu. I'll definitely be back. :)

Room Tip: Upper floor away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0j088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

The whole team simply celebrates your Hi 5 review. Such an honor too that you chose to stay with us based on the reviews yet you will definitely return because The Henry hotel exceeded your expectations during your recent 2 night stay. Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to your return to The Henry...like no other. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    320
    83
    22
    12
See reviews for
134
365
108
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bacolod, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Upon entering the lobby, you'll see a unique set up which looks like an exhibit room of different creations. Staffs are very friendly and polite, seems like always in the good mood.. Like their uniform at the front desk, quite fashionable with a nerdy-looks. Clean Room, Love the bed and the bathroom. The room is secured. Buffet breakfast was very fulfilling. Great Hotel to stay around the city during a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

A big Hi 5 to you for such awesome review. At The Henry, we always endeavor to create unique experience and extend to valued guests like you service that is truly.... like no other. We look forward to your return stay in the Queen City. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A uniquely decorated place to feel at home, not only the restaurant or the lobby, but also the rooms are really out of the ordinary. Add a service oriented and super friendly staff and ... you've found the ideal place to start exploring Cebu. A cab to the city centre is only 3 Euro.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gery S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks to your top rated review of The Henry and thank you for staying with us, Let me also say that the unique décor, art inspired interior and quirky details all over the hotel plus friendly staff showcasing genuine Cebuano hospitality are among our best assets. See you once again at The Henry...like no other. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel was very good with all the staff being friendly and welcoming. It had a lounging pool outside and a reading room with computer access for web browsing. The room we had was very clean and comfortable with a fridge that could be used for cold drinks if you didn't want to pay for the installed drinks (much cheaper to go to the local mall and buy drinks there). There was free travel twice a day to the main local mall and taxi fares were typical for the Philippines (cheap) although traffic could be a problem at certain times of the day. It takes about 30-40 minutes to get to from the airport and is close to some of the main attractions in Cebu such as the Museum and Taoist Monastery which is well worth a visit. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a room that is slightly different from the 'normal' hotel décor and at a very reasonable price and doesn't mind a little travel to get into the main city.

Room Tip: We had a third floor room which was both quiet and bright......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Phy510-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for top notch review of The Henry, I am happy all the touch points within the hotel worked well for you. We also appreciate your recommendation to experience The Henry..like no other. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Simply fantastic!! Superb customer service at front desk and lobby. Nice and clean rooms. The Spa at Cebu is only beside it and hotel guests get additional 10 minutes massage time! Even if it's not near to Ayala or SM Cebu, shuttle bus service is available at 10am & 3pm daily! We will be back! See you in December 2014!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jady T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such HIGH 5 review of The Henry! It is fulfilling to the whole team knowing that we have been able to deliver superb service to you. I am also glad the little things we offer made a difference during your stay. We shall await your return visit to The Henry... like no other. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Travelling solo & finished here for 3 nights. The staff were really friendly & helpful, always smiled to! The room was perfect & clean. Loved the daytime reception & bar staff they were awesome and accomodated for my every need. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jygfhjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your generous review. Every member of the team is simply passionate about extending service "like no other" to our guests at The Henry and i am happy that it has been extended to you just the way we wanted it. I am looking forward to hosting your future visits here in Cebu. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I wish I spent more time in this lovely place. I travel very often to Philippines (9 times within last 2 years) and all hotels are the same, boring decor, boring (but usually professional) stuff. This hotel its quite unique. Decor is absolutely fantastic, owner pay attention even to small details like lamps, signs etc. Stuff's uniform just awesome and lovely glasses.
Of course whats matter is top notch - super comfortable bed, huge room, massive shower/toilet super clean , (I had beautiful view from my room). Tasty breakfast (buffet) - obliviously restaurant is one in kind -fantastic, very professional stuff, free shuttle to Ayala Super Mal (i didn't use sure if works well) Also hotel has small but very beautiful swimming pool.
I'm pretty sure I found my place to stay in Cebu.

Room Tip: Ask about nice view -from 4/5 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manstain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your great experience. The whole team feels so inspired that you considered our hotel unique from all the hotels you have been to which i am sure many of our dear valued guests would agree but further complimented by the owner's attention to details, fantasticc decor, top notched bed and breakfast and professional staff as you so mentioned that made The Henry..like no other, yet your new found place in Cebu.
We shall be waiting for your next visit. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 90 in Cebu City
3,269 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 90 in Cebu City
1,257 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
1.9 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 90 in Cebu City
479 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
#7 of 90 in Cebu City
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Hotel Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Hotel Cebu

Property: The Henry Hotel Cebu
Address: Ma Luisa Entrance Road | One Paseo Compound, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry Hotel Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Cebu City, The Henry is a boutique hotel that is unique, full of personality and charm. A hotel "like no other", it radiates an out-of-the-box hospitality experience. A mix of European, vintage, industrial and rustic vibe radiates from The Henry's interior. With 38 rooms of unique decor, your stay at The Henry will be a memorable discovery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and Cancelon so you can book your The Henry Hotel Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Hotel Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing