We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Mark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Mark Hotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“boutique hotel”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

cozy and well groomed rooms, nicely situated near redemptorist church, good breakfast buffet try the "danggit" fried dried fish with fried rice, good business stay...structurally checked by cebu city personnel and found fit for hotel services...was a bit pricey for a boutique hotel, it should have better toiletries but the basics are there...also, you have an iron/press and a board for your pressing needs...dont ask for a room with a view as it doesnt have one...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank entengoreng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    65
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
49
25
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

I payed for 2 nights by Agoda service about 3500 pesos. Biggest mistake ever. The hotel management made me pay 2250 additional pesos for early check in . I do understand what the policy of every hotel are different (most of them will just welcome you and try to made you comfortable even if your room are not ready yet) and after 5 months of travelling in Asia I'm sure I will stay my 2 weeks in Cebu as far from here as possible.
I would never agree to pay such money for the half of night but there is no hope to go anyway in this part of Cebu after your taxi is out - it's more like getto around, urinating people and such staff. It's just unsafe for single foreign woman traveller to stay on the street.
I don't like hotel managment who made money becouse of it. They spoiled the beginning of my first visit to Philippines so much.
But room was fine and clean, even noisy. Lift isn't working properly. But safe, teapot and iron were ok, and bed was very comfortable.


Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Snezhana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross M, Manager at St. Mark Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
SnezhanaK,

It is unfortunate how you view your experience with us as the "biggest mistake ever" because of the early check in charge. I understand that you got a very good deal from one of our partners making the charge seemingly high for your 5am check-in instead of the 2pm regular check-in time. We are glad to hear of your positive feedback regarding all the other aspects of your stay. The mention of our bed defines the sleep experience of our guests and is considered one of the most important aspect for a traveler. Thank you for taking time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Clean place. Excellent staff. Great breakfast. Amenities are great. We had a restful stay. There weer a few cracks though due to the earthquake but overall, i love how laid back it feels there. It is meant for comfort and relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

For a relatively premium rate... I expected more. The elevator is quite stressful. Have it fixed. Staff/crews' uniform are reminiscent of cebu city's traffic officers, please change the color, or if if you must use the color orange use it as an accent instead. The breakfast buffet always run out of food... Never a good sign. The hallways are filthy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daverodano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross M, Manager at St. Mark Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hi! Daverodano... Thank you for writing this constructive review. As mentioned the associates were in Orange that definitely is our Friday Classics, just when super typhoon Yolanda happened. Elevator, it is known that the city has been experiencing several aftershocks and these resulted to inevitable structural movements where in the event of a typhoon no maintenance from the supplier is readily available. Orange uniform, we definitely achieved our goal to have people notice and look. Buffet Breakfast, guests liked the food and enjoyed eating to the point that the kitchen was not able to catch up and true it is not a good sign of speed efficiency. Though the typhoon contingencies, water and moist sadly was visible as the hotel structure includes an atrium which is open air causing the hallways not to be at its finest.

We take your review as affirmation of the hotel's performance. Know that we will act on your comments and we hope to have you soon for you to experience value for money at the hotels normal best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Good value for your money! Clean, comfortable room; use of glass panels made dining room and corridors pleasantly bright. Redemptorist Church conveniently across the street, as well as St. Patrick's (mini) Mall. As I had no need of them, I did not notice the presence of public transportation although I am sure taxis abound. Food was ok too. Will highly recommend St. Mark Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lamierda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel staff is very friendly. Easy to check-in and check-out. Good location for Catholic guest because the location is just across the Redemptorist Church. Nice clean room, with new and comfortable bed. Buffet breakfast is okey. We only stayed overnight. We were in a group but we occupy 1 person per room.The room is safe with double lock in the main door. Will come back in my next trip to Cebu.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ANESIA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is highly recommended when visiting Cebu City. It's cozy and affordable, their staffs are friendly and accommodating. Their rooms were nice and beautiful. Located right at the heart of Cebu City. Restaurants, bars, church as well as malls are near at St. Mark Hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rodney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.6 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 87 in Cebu City
2,664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 87 in Cebu City
615 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#10 of 87 in Cebu City
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#6 of 87 in Cebu City
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mark Hotel

Property: St. Mark Hotel
Address: Queens Road, Redemptorist Plaza, Camputhaw, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#9 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Mark is a boutique hotel with five star amenities that caters to travelers coming to Cebu for either business or leisure. The hotel is the premiere hospitality venture of Terre D’Or Realty Corporation, a realty development firm with a portfolio of condominiums, apartments and strip malls and an independent Australian business partner.The Hotel holds 63 elegant and well-appointed guestrooms across seven different themed floors. Guest may choose from its 17 Superior Rooms, 36 Deluxe Rooms, 3 Junior Suites and 7 Loft-type Residential Suites on the top floor, each room type having the complete amenities. St. Mark has HALO an all-day dining restaurant, room service, five meeting rooms and a ballroom that accommodates 70 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Mark Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing