We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location close to SM Mall”
Review of Express Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Express Inn
Ranked #62 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

For what you pay, this hotel is fine. It is clean, comfortable and only a 5 min walk to the mall, where you can go to eat at any time.

The rooms have a very small window which makes the room dark, but there's no fresh air. My only real complaint about the hotel is the bedding. The bed was made with a bottom sheet and.a blanket on top. I am sure that they wouldn't wash the blanket every time someone stays so there really should be a top sheet to keep the blanket clean and to be more hygienic.

The breakfast was simple scrambled eggs, fruit and waffle. Taxi from the ferry cost 90 pesos and to the airport was 180 at 6am.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Express Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Convenient to SM Mall Cebu City. More of a business and family hotel, accommodating staff. Very nicely priced and totally worth each Peso. Adequate breakfast, restaurant is basic Philippine style menu, not expensive. Book for 2 people if solo, and get 2 breakfast, no extra for 2nd person. hehehe Best Budget Hotel in Cebu IHMO. Only one block from the SM Mall. Getting a taxi to other places, no problem, doormen quite helpful. Be aware that there are 2 Express Inns, the other in on Mactan Island, near the airport, and distant from City Center.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLoneARanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel 2 times. The staff are warm, accommodating, and quick to please. The breakfast was a simple continental style. It was enough for an early start to the day. The rooms are simple and very clean. The only down side is that the Internet is almost useless most of the time. I guess the bandwidth is very small. The hotel is not expensive, and I will surely stay there again in February. The taxi ride to Cebu Airport cost about 170 pesos during the day. Better take a white taxi, a yellow cab charged me 250 pesos for the same route at 9pm at night. It is really convenient to the SM, just a few minutes walk

Room Tip: avoid the rooms facing the street.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Here is a low cost hotel . It is a good hotel for the price . Clean , painted , near mall. Do not Pay extra for the breakfast not worth it. Only complaint is the restaurant next door . It sucks . Eat at mall.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank vaction2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel is near SM and Cebu Doctor's University. The hotel staff were accommodating. Had a problem with the shower head but it was attended to within 5 minutes after calling housekeeping. The complimentary breakfast was okay.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors for less traffic noise
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackietarranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Well located hotel for a stopover in Cebu. It's a 5-10 minute walk to the SM City mall where there are any number of places to eat alongside an 8 screen cinema and IMAX. It's between the north and south bus terminals, but closer to the north terminal. (White) Taxi to the airport cost 170 pesos at 9am on a saturday.

It's comparable to a travelodge in the UK. Clean, comfortable bed, reasonable shower, cable TV and quiet AC. Perfect for a budget stayover.

The breakfast however is woeful, certainly not worth paying extra for. It's one glass of orange juice or coffee along with a small portion of scrambled egg and toast.

Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the road out front is noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finchyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Everyone is correct about having the address as there are 2 express inns and taxi drivers dont seem to know where this location is as easily. Hotel seemed nice and clean. But we did find 1 cock roach in our room and i wouldnt stay here again cause of that lol. Breakfast was free but fee to bring it to room(which site i booked room never mentioned this fee). I couldnt understand front desk staff well and they werent so friendly or helpful. Was just an ok stay but i dont think id come again. Hotel near mall. No prob getting taxi here. Booked room online. Apparently they take money out of ur debit/charge and put it back in(to see if funds are available) so this was a confusion cause i thought my room had been paid online however u can only pay in cash at desk. I didnt like this especially since i thought i paid online and wasnt sure if i was overcharged but luckily i had enough cash on me to pay with out going to atm. Site online never stated that room had to be paid in cash in person. This was inconvenient to get straightened out while carrying bags in a busy lobby area in peoples way. Rooms were upstairs and they did have an elevator.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine2489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.9 mi away
Azia Suites
Azia Suites
#20 of 91 in Cebu City
47 reviews
2.0 mi away
Canberry Hotel
Canberry Hotel
#44 of 91 in Cebu City
21 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#79 of 91 in Cebu City
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#38 of 91 in Cebu City
358 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#25 of 91 in Cebu City
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sugbutel Family Hotel
Sugbutel Family Hotel
#48 of 91 in Cebu City
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Inn

Address: M.J. Cuenco | Mabolo, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range: £18 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Express Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Express Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express Inn Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing