We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the place to stay”
Review of Summit Circle Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Summit Circle Cebu
Ranked #23 of 90 Hotels in Cebu City
Manila
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Still the place to stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Spent two nights here last April 2013. I have been staying here for the last twelve or so years, usually two to three nights for business trips to Cebu, about two times a year (except for the last three years). It had it's much deserved renovation/facelift about two years ago. So what has changed?
1. The rooms are still cozy as ever, the aircon is cool and silent. The beddings are clean and fresh. Of course you have a choice of smoking or non-smoking rooms.
2. The toilet/bath also has a new look. The old bathtubs were removed. In place now is a rainfall type shower. Wonder of wonders, they even upgraded the quality of bathsoap and shampoo.
3. The hallways are brighter.
4. The restaurant moved to a new location. Of course, the breakfast buffet is as good as ever. But I miss the grand piano. Where did it go?
5. Convenience-wise it is still tops. A department store and supermarket at the lower levels,lots of eating places nearby, and accessibility to downtown Cebu, Ayala Center and Tabuan market hasn't changed.
6. One disappointment is the WIFI. Connections are limited and weak.
7. Getting to the 4th floor lobby by car is still an adventure. You have to try it to know what I mean. Of course for the less adventurous, you can still use the elevators from the ground floor.
8. The great thing is it's tie-up with Cebu Pacific, its sister company. Present your boarding pass and you get a really big discount in room rates.

Room Tip: Choose the side facing Fuente Osmena. It gives you a great view of the city from 6th Floor upwards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bongklok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    187
    107
    43
    19
See reviews for
67
64
56
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Batangas City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I had spotted the hotel at the SMILE magazine on our way to Dumaguete, the Cebu Pacific discount has been very helpful.... no problem in checking in, the room is big, no smell of cigarettes... basic accommodations one can look for - mini ref, tv, wifi,neat and clean sheets & bathroom....no coffee maker but thats ok since a lot of restaurants can be found around the area.... very small pool but it was enough to satisfy my youngest...staff has been helpful since i arrived from the guard to the reception to the bellboys to those assigned in the swimming pool area...although some of those in the swimming pool area are OJT, they are very friendly....

their soup and salad buffet was simple but it was worth it if your tired of meats.... the OJT told me to try the pasta buffet, but the salad made me full and besides its night time....maybe next time i'll try it as well as the cake and coffee buffet for pm snack...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaricarPuyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

loved the mixed asian/occidental breakfast. The pool is smaller than expected. perfect location, great service. It was great to have a nice sleep after a few nights in a bungalow. take care ride to the airport can take 45mn at peak time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam12com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This hotel had its glory days in the 80's and 90's. Now, it needs total renovation. We spent 3 nights in this hotel, in December when a good friend from the USA arrived and wanted to visit her relatives from Cebu City. We did not like our room; there was a bad smell ( take note we were in a non-smoking floor) and the twin beds were so lumpy. The toilet looked like it needed thorough cleaning; we complained to the Housekeeping guy to please clean it well and spray some Lysol. We roamed around the hotel; checked the small swimming pool - some tourists there with their girlfriends noisily swimming and sunbathing.
The Cebu Midtown hotel (now Summit Circle) used to be a mid-range business hotel ages ago. I don't know how to classify this hotel now with its sad state. Food at the breakfast buffet was mediocre and it was repeated for two days; we did not eat there anymore on our third day. We also saw on the nights that we were there, " ladies of the night' hanging out in the restaurant maybe waiting for some tourists. This hotel is right above the Robinson's shopping mall and right across Fuente Osmena Circle. This is a busy area in the city and access to the hotel entrance is open to the public, therefore a security hazard . We did not feel safe in Summit Circle.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saint28daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I stayed here to relax during the holy week. Room rate is just ok since I was able to used by cebu pacific boarding pass and had a 1k outright discount on my room rate. Reservation and Check-in procedure was seamless. First impression of the room? Strong cigarette smell. I understand that I was allocated in a smoking floor but an things like this can still be eliminated. I had issues with the aircon and the low supply of water in the shower room. Also, the handheld shower in not working. Ref needs defrosting and basically room not properly dusted. Safety deposit box was closed. Anyway for me these are just petty things beside I was there to recharge and escape from my usual routine of Room checking. hehehe!!! Breakfast buffet is ok though spread is limited. Over all I will still go back to this hotel and enjoy.

Room Tip: Request for rooms facing the fuente osmena circle
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennedye_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

If you wanted to come visit Cebu City but not wanting to spend so much for hotel stay, Id recommend you to stay here at Summit circle hotel. It is so close to the city. Customer service was very rewarding. And the facility is quite clean. I like the fact that below it is a department store. You can easily shop waht ever you need by just taking the elevators down. I like the fact that during my stay there, they had this P1000 off discount if you have Cebu pacific flight tickets with that month or something like that. Though we werent allowed to keep our dried fish inside the room which is kind of understood you dont want to stink your room, They were able to keep the box for me until i left the hotel. Didnt like the fact that the 2nd time we stayed there, The aircondition didt really work. I went to this hotel twice during my stay in the philippines for 3weeks and I never regret coming back. I would definitely come back here if i have the chance to visit Philippines again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ranjelicated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Was told by my Cebuano friends that Summit Circle used to be the central meeting point in Cebu, so Summit Circle Hotel was the top hotel back then. So in terms of overall quality, it definitely meets the minimal standard, though abit dated. In the morning/ during special events, you can see from your hotel bedroom, throngs of people marching around the summit circle (it is a huge roundabout) and gathering in the middle of the circle. Quite an interesting sight.

Likes:
- The rooms are rather spacious. Surprisingly, the single room is the same size of a usual twin room, so it was extremely spacious :)
- It is really conveniently located to malls nearby. In fact, it was right beside a rather large and decent department store.
- Service was pretty good too as they helped us fulfill several requests earnestly and quickly.

Dislikes:
- Their cafeteria was extremely empty in the afternoons and evenings. The food doesn't seem that fresh. Most importantly, we ordered a vegetable dish with coconut in it, and one of us fell terribly sick (food poisoning) after that meal.
- Their main entrance is really hidden and up a slope, some cab drivers cannot find it.
- It is not easy to get a cab on your own. And since the main entrance is hidden and up on a slope, you have to get the cab using a side entrance, where it was extremely hard to get a cab.

Room Tip: High floor, facing the summit circle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.0 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
0.9 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
1.0 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 90 in Cebu City
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#29 of 90 in Cebu City
221 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#10 of 90 in Cebu City
428 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Circle Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Circle Cebu

Property: Summit Circle Cebu
Address: Fuente Osmena, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Cebu Midtown Hotel)
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Circle Cebu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Circle Hotel is part of the Summit Hotels Group under Robinsons Land Corporation. It is a full service city hotel located at the heart of Cebu City in Fuente Osmena. With its prime location in the center of the business and tourist districts, guests and travellers will appreciate its accessibility to various shopping gateways, commercial centers, and other top local attractions.Formerly called the Cebu Midtown Hotel, Summit Circle Hotel continues to be at the forefront of the hospitality industry in Cebu. It lives the same spirit and tradition of good service while offering business travellers and tourists with refreshed and refurbished accommodations and facilities.Summit Circle Hotel provides quality accommodations for the smart traveler who appreciates value and excellence without the extravagance. It is also a preferred venue for small to medium-sized meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Summit Circle Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cebu City Midtown Hotel
Cebu Midtown Hotel
Summit Circle Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing