We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true gem in the heart of Cebu!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rajah Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rajah Park Hotel
Ranked #56 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
International
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A true gem in the heart of Cebu!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I will say this. When you first see the outside of the hotel. You will think OMG did I choose a dump. But on the contrary, you couldn't be more wrong. The staff is courteous and friendly. You will see masks all around the lobby there is a festival in Cebu once a year. The hotel has a strong sense of culture. If you like to gamble. There is a casino on the second floor and if you want a massage, there is a massage parlor on the third floor. The hotel is inexpensive and it is close to everything. There is a McDonalds, KFC, Chowking right on the same street. There is a drug store on the corner and there is a Watson's around the corner. There is a mall next door and the Starbucks is a block away but you have to use the crosswalk to get there. The hotel also has a live band about every night and sometimes even the hotel guest will come up and sing. It's a real treat. If you are going to Cebu you have to give this hotel a try. It's a simple and clean hotel. The staff is friendly and you get more than what you pay for. I will list the drawbacks. There is only wireless in the lobby but my friend was able to connect to another network that was nearby I'm not sure how. The wired connection in the rooms is pretty fast. It took a long time for the water to get hot and sometimes it was only luke warm. Other than that, I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants an affordable stay in the heart of Cebu.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iampinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    34
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
12
17
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I have been coming in the Raja Park for a long time, ever since it was called Park place, which was before it was called The Garwood, while now it is called the Rajah Park.

Always enjoyed my stay there: friendly people, but make sure you do not accept the first room you are given as there are differences between the rooms that are not always expressed in the price. Some rooms have no window or have a view on a blind wall. The bathrooms are spacious but rather basic. I have had my best stay in the corner rooms on the upperfloor: Spacious and with a great view.

I saw the surroundings were described as 'grimey'. I do not agree. I'd say lively like most asian towns. Yes, there are beggars and salespeople around, but you find these on the Cote d'azur as well. It just belongs to cebu. None of the beggars (often children) are aggressive, but yes, sometimes a bit persistent. You will find this with many midtown and downtown places. The Raja park is situated smack in the middele of Midtown on the Fuente Osmena circle with the Robinson supermarket and many eating places close by.

The food is decent, service is good and i found the hotelstaff very friendly.
I am not saying this hotel is the best value for money (maybe then you should check out the Diplomat in Ramos) but it is pleasant to stay.

I have not encountered the cockroaches as were described, but if I have one point of criticism: The TV reception was a bit poor

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cebutraveller110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Located on Fuente Osmena Circle in a grimy, gritty neighborhood. Expect to be accosted and assaulted by beggars and vendors as soon as you emerge from the front door. The hotel itself provdes adequate accomodations-almost. A loud karaoke band performs nightly in the lobby and the sound drifts upwards through the central atrium and will disturb your sleep.(We were on the 4th floor). Our room was basic but a little dark, no window. We moved after 2 nights to another hotel. The area provides scores of hotels and pension houses in all price ranges.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lolo789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here in 2010 only for 2 nights, but was there for about 2 months in 2009/2010.
The rooms are average, carpets not always clean.
A better choice is a room with a tile floor.
Sleep does not always come easy as they have nightly entertainment on the first floor
and the music and singing will be projected up through the circular stairway.
The front desk is friendly and helpful. There is a currency exchange near the lobby.
Breakfast is very good with many choices including made to order omelettes.
This is a central location. Shopping, banks and entertainment are all within walking distance. Try not to stay there in January during Sinulog when rooms become more pricey
and are hard to come by in the central part of the city.

Room Tip: Reserve the room in advance .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripster060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyte Island, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

I checked out and I was told I have a pending payment for a Coffee that I did not Order. I explained and the two receptionist keep insisting that I made that order even if clearly didn't order that coffee. They seem to be pushing the responsibility until I told them to double check the receipts and Find out that It was not Mine but from the room next to mine. And guess what? They pretended that they did not do wrong and just let me sign to check out and DID NOT EVEN APOLOGIZE for the delay they were causing me. TERRIBLE!! I almost pay to shut them up! Some of their staff needs to undergo a training again for a GOOD Customer Service!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank May2011Bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
england
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

we stayed at the rajah park for the sinulog festival time then on our way home after rxas manila and ilolilo right the good bits nice staff all did the most they could for us a little old lady cooked my eggs for breakfast every morning remembering how i liked them the waiters and bell boys great polite and even the gaurd always said good morning , another good point is it is near a good hospital . now not so good our room on the 5th floor room 509 i remember the tv went wrong twice and in the finnish they replaced it , worse a cockroach ran up the wall , i walked from the shower room to the bed and my feet were black ! the carpet was that dirty and getting into white sheets wear slippers between the shower and bed , after a day or 2 i had a terrible bad stomoc running to the toilet every few mins imodium had no effeck when after 3 days i was no better i went to hospital was given a coarse of anti biotics and was perfect asked what ?? classic food poisoning i was told poor food hygien roaches on the 5th floor in the kitchen on the ground floor eating alot of salads ? the room was noisey from the entertainment till about midnight but didnt effect us to bad ( the entertainment was crap , a couple with a electric keyboard changing every other night ) the hotel was good in its day say 20 years ago but so dated , oh and the painters came in after breakfast one morning half did the job then came back the day after to finnish , great service neads updating and the whole staff came out when we left to get there tips !

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank englishmanaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
#31 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Plaza Hotel
Holiday Plaza Hotel
#49 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#51 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#41 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summit Circle Cebu
Summit Circle Cebu
#23 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Century Plaza Hotel
#58 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rajah Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rajah Park Hotel

Property: Rajah Park Hotel
Address: Fuente Osmena, Cebu City 6000, Philippines (Formerly Garwood Park Hotel)
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rajah Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Rajah Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rajah Park Cebu City
Rajah Park Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing