We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outdated hotel in great setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Montebello Villa Hotel
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
norway
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“outdated hotel in great setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

I stayed 4 nights in this hotel during Sinulog.The hotel is lovcted in a beautiful park with swimming pool, just round the corner from the Country Mall and many shops and restaurants although it is advised that you take a taxi to the city center (10 minutes) to experience a greater range of good restaurants and shopping malls.
The room was old-fashioned and with a noisy A/Cbut with ensuite bathroom was adequate. Reception staff were not helpful and the information on the website was not accurate (free water applied for only the first day and the free shuttle to the shopping mall did not exist.).
I tried the restaurant for dinner and the setting next to the swimming pool wasfine but most of the menu was not available (no steak, no onion soup, only chicken was offered). Breakfast the day after was fine but I got an omelette that was raw inside and gave me a severe stomach problem that tied me to the hotel room all the weekend (thank goodness for Imodium that I had to take every few hours).
I had a business meeting with a colleague using the restaurant facilities and this functioned well.
But this hotel really needs renovation and the staff need to be more customer-friendly. It's OK if you have kids who want to have fun in the pool but otherwise I think there must be far better hotels in the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vikingdave100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    177
    67
    24
    15
See reviews for
96
110
49
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

I think this place would be great for people with children. There's a huge garden at the back for kids to play and run around. There's even a pond where kids can go fishing. There are two pools - the main one is big enough for swimming laps, the small one was closed when we went.
The rooms are a little run down, but OK if you don't mind
The best thing about this hotel is the staff. They are always courteous, cheerful and very helpful.
We actually arrived at 4am but they let us check-in anyway even though the official check-in time is 2pm.
Stay there but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boli1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

I stayed at Montebello in 2009 and really enjoyed it. I stayed here on three separate legs of my trip to the Philippines this past winter, in three separate rooms. Two of the rooms were fine, but not as large or comfortable as the first time I stayed here. The second time I checked in this time around, they upgraded me to a Deluxe room. I realized that some of the rooms have been updated or renovated, but some had not. The Deluxe room was nice, but easily needs new carpet and amenities very soon. The staff is pleasant, and helpful. The morning breakfast buffet is excellent. The garden grounds are stunning, and the pool is well kept. One of the nights, there was a child screaming his head off in the room next door for about 30 minutes. I thought it was children playing outside in the garden, but when I left my room to investigate, I realized it was the room next door. There was a German man in the hallway doing the same thing I was. I knocked on the door, which was opened by a woman. Inside on the bed were two small young boys, crying and screaming loudly. I asked her what was going on. She said she was having a "problem" with her sons. I told her is the noise didn't stop, I would get the hotel to involved. The German man concurred with me that the noise must stop. Amazingly, the noise did stop about five minutes later. I was surprised the hotel staff had not intervened before I had to, because the child was really loud and screaming loudly. Anyway, I was able to sleep. The rooms are fine, but nothing special. I think they updated some of the rooms near the pool, which is where I stayed during 2009, but the other rooms I stayed in this time need attention.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mojorayjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

The Hotel is pretty nice and clean. Considering its one of the oldest in the City, its pretty well maintained and near the old gaisano mall. The staff are friendly, and the rooms are clean but the toilets could see some improvement. The water has a smell and the toilet bowls are cracked. For the positive side the air conditioning is really cold and the value for the room is okay. I would not really go back, but if you're on a budget this is an okay hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ark1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

We will go back soon.The place is perfect when you are planning for a prefect vacation.Kids will enjoy because it has swimming pools and they have other fun activities for them. Staffs were accommodating,they even have a designated staff in the airport ready to assist you.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WarchiefThrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

This is a clean, modern hotel, in a garden atmosphere. They have a pool and restaurants too. Our room was not huge, but not small. It was clean, quiet, and private. Compared to staying in downtown Cebu, it was a world of difference with the noise. The pool was nice and relaxing. There is a very big Mall a hundred yards from the hotel, with a variety of shops and goods, including a pharmacy and more restaurants. It is a several kilometer taxi drive from downtown Cebu, so it is not exactly close to everything. Rates were very fair. I was expecting to pay more. Finally, hotel staff was friendly, and professional.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mojorayjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

enjoyed my stay
would go back again. if u like swimming its for u. .great location. next to gaisano country mall. safe and secure. got a little food poisoning some times. so make sure all food u order is well cooked/well done

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank misterwonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.4 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#9 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,043 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
1.0 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montebello Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebello Villa Hotel

Property: Montebello Villa Hotel
Address: Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Montebello Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the bustling and active metropolis of Cebu City, the center of trade, education and business of Central Philippines, lies the tranquility and serenity of Montebello Villa Hotel. Montebello Villa Hotel is the only garden hotel within Cebu City located on a sprawling four hectare landscape reflecting the richness and charm of Cebu’s Hispanic heritage. It is the perfect blend for the business traveler and leisure traveler. A short distance to commercial establishments, business centers, shopping malls, churches and a golf course, with easy access to the historic beaches of Mactan Island and the Mactan International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montebello Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Hotel Cebu City
Montebello Villa Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing