We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected”
Review of Cebu Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cebu Grand Hotel
Ranked #59 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The pictures looked nice beforehand but this hotel is a little worn out and tired. The room carpet was smelly and even felt a bit wet under the feet. The aircon was quite loud. There was construction work going on outside the hotel (daytime only though). However the staff was very friendly, smiling and welcoming. The breakfast was good, the restaurant was open all day for having meals. Location of the hotel is good (downtown Cebu area with everything close by).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnssiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. Service was good and we were accommodated accordingly. Staffs always wore their sweetest smile and greeted us whenever we enter the hotel. One thing I noticed of was the scent that welcomed us as we enter the hotel. It's a good smells as if it entices and invites each guests to come in and experience the hotel's services and amenities. The hotel's Account Executive even personally welcomed us wearing her best smile. I look forward to staying in this hotel for my future trips in Cebu.

Room Tip: we stayed on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretchiane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

The hotel porter working on December 23 in the evening was really service minded, charming and helpful. Good English and kind. Too bad we never got to tip him before leaving, but I hope the hotel management will notice how bright he is. I wish him great success in life.

I had a good impression of the hotel in general, not too high standard but you do get what you pay for. :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMR1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The Grand is a little tired, but the service and accommodation was fine. Breakfast was excellent and the location toMalls and the city centre is fine. Get a driver and van for one day for about 1500 peso for 3 hours. Well worth a drive to see the sights and 500 Peso to get to the airport (.
30 mins).

So accommodation is ok, food great and location is great for 1 or 2 nights

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

this will be my first time not to appreciate the place i stayed for a couple of days. yes the location was nice more accessible to malls. 2 things that disappoint me when i get inside the room first is the awful smell like it has been abandoned for years. And the breakfast food was surprisingly not good. guess they have to work more about it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayangel_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Not in the best location but getting a metered cab not a prob. Cost P100 to SM City and less to Ayala. P100 to Downtown and slightly more to tops so not too bad. Can walk to Robinson, 20 min.

Very friendly staff, counter, door and restaurant. Limited breakfast buffet but decent local food. Free wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benzberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

It has been at least 2 or 3 years since I last stayed ath the Cebu Grand Hotel. Since that time, they have renovated the lobby, rooms and restaurant area. Looks much better now than then.

Our check in was very smooth, everything was completed in advance and only needed to sign the form.

My wife and I stayed in a Deluxe room, chich was quite large and had a queen bed and a twin bed. The only room amenity was the flat screen tv with a lot of cable channels, even had my favorite Fox Crime which I don't find most places. The water heaters for coffee service have been removed and the room doses not have a room safe. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

The beds were still firmer than I like but I slept ok until the roosters crowing woke me up before 4 AM.

The buffet breakfast was ok with egg station, various meats, breads, fruits, and cereal. The restaurant also is open all day, but I don't recommend it. If you order, expect to wait for your food for about 45 minutes, it definitely is not fast food. I ordered fried chicken and when I got it, it was cold, don't know how that can happen, but it did.

I would stay at the Grand again, but given the large number of similiar properties now available in Cebu, think I would opt for another hotel, at least to try.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.5 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#30 of 92 in Cebu City
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
#7 of 92 in Cebu City
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premiere Citi Suites
Premiere Citi Suites
#44 of 92 in Cebu City
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Mark Hotel
St. Mark Hotel
#14 of 92 in Cebu City
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cebu Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cebu Grand Hotel

Address: N. Escario Street | Vibo Place, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range: £29 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cebu Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Cebu Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cebu Grand Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing