We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money in a new city-center hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Based on the very different oppinions from prior travellers I decided to visit this hotel to make up my own mind. First, yes, it is true, there is traffic noise around, as the hotel is situated just opposite of the provincial capitol - just on the side of a major town road. However, apart from this down-point I didn't find much to complain about here.

Different from the rates given on TA, I found that the hotel has lowered the rates in the form of a permanent promo. The de-luxe room (small rooms for short stay) is now 1068 P, Superior (bigger but without window) 1188 P,
Premier 1438 P (bigger and with window) and 2 kinds of family rooms.

I decided for the premier room, because I asked the reception for a nice, spacy and silent room. The room was ok, the bed very good, all very clean to the point of sterile.
The windows could not be opened, also no balcony. Good new flat tv with many sat channels, split ac: new and very silent. American breakfast in the restaurant on top of the hotel for 210 P was ok. Staff friendly and helpful.
All in all not the most cosy and romantic place but a business hotel in the city center and a good place for a stopover.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Looking nice and clean on the outside but it is deceptive because the standards were never maintained. No courtesy toothbrushes or razors here, you don't even get a free bottle of water and if your shower breaks down for 2 days as mine did, forget asking for a discount on your bill because they're too arrogant to even consider it. Food is also very 'sparingly' produced as my son returned his cheeseburger because there was 'no burger', only to have pointed out to him the mediocre little meat paste hidden under the cheese which was meant to be the burger. Pay for a glass of wine and what you actually get is a half glass of wine thereby being charged twice to get 1 glassful of wine. Extra towel or anything else above the mediocre 'what is supplied' you will be charged for it. Don't forget to take your earplugs if you dine in the restaurant in case the resident band is playing! Acoustic Nights? Atrocious Nights more like, think, strangulated cats on a hot tin roof. Noisy traffic from the busy main road it sits on with constant 24 hours a day horn sounding so you have a choice between the band or the traffic noise if you choose to eat in your room. Personally, I'd choose the traffic noise. A far better hotel though it doesn't have the looks of this one, is the Cuarto hotel where the staff are exemplary and the cleanliness leagues above this one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

With the 4Cs in mind this is what Capitol Central Hotel Suites is all about. It's near the Capitol, rooms .cozy, and at the heart of Cebu City. Price is affordable. Very near Ayala and Fuente. Just a tip: if you like fresh fruits you"re in for a treat.

Room Tip: Coner rooms bit tight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in april 2014.
The hotel is new, clean en en lookes good.
The price is very cheap for what you get. (One of the better hotels we stayed in the Philippines for the lowest price)
Location is near the capitol, and there are jeepneys going in front of the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MartlnS1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We moved here for one night at the end of our stay in Cebu as our previous hotel was fully booked. Cebu hasn't recovered well from the tsunami/earthquake that struck last year so it's not tourist friendly by any means and there is a lot of poverty here. However this hotel appeared to be away from that and felt like a safe and secure place to stay. The room was a decent size equipped with air con and a fridge but missing tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was of decent size and produced hot water but the pressure wasn't very good. Both the bathroom and the bedroom of our unit smelt really bad and the internet connection had a shocking server which failed to load a lot of web pages. Capitol was okay to stay for one night but on the off chance that I'd return to Cebu, I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MzTaylor88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It was surprising for the price as it was not that expensive. Good clean rooms aircon the best we have had so far.
There is a nice restaurant on top floor which is quite well priced but you wouldn't know it was there as there is no advertising in the rooms for it only beside the lift in foyer.
Good wifi through out hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Darrel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This was a great find! We stayed in the Premier Queen Room on the 5th floor and it was spacious, had a long desk... and a great view! It's a new hotel (less than a year), and everything was new, as expected. Comfortable beds and very helpful staff. We would definitely stay there again.

Just a few minor negatives: the internet wasn't working well, but they said it was the cable company's fault - which I believed. There's an internet café 1 minute walking distance away, so no big deal. Although the bathroom was nice and clean with a beautiful sink, there was a strange smell emitting on occasion. Aside from this... no real complaints.

There are some nice local restaurants in the area and the Jeepneys come by constantly out front so it's easy to get to different places. There's also a 7/11 down the street and there was a fridge in the room which was great. If your room doesn't have a fridge, they said they would provide one at no charge... but this may change.

I believe they are currently having promotional rates. We paid around PHP 1,450 for the Premier Queen, but the room was worth more.

Oh, they have a restaurant upstairs with a phenomenal view of the city and great food! Cheap too!

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dylan_Novak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Paragon Suites
Paragon Suites
#32 of 92 in Cebu City
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
#24 of 92 in Cebu City
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Maxwell Hotel
The Maxwell Hotel
#33 of 92 in Cebu City
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#34 of 92 in Cebu City
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#28 of 92 in Cebu City
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
#31 of 92 in Cebu City
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Central Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Central Hotel and Suites

Address: Escario Street, Corner F. Ramos Extension, Capitol Site, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range: £17 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Central Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It doesn’t get any more central than this! Situated right across the historic Cebu Provincial Capitol. This newly-renovated hotel boasts of a very convenient location in the heart of Cebu City and Cebu Province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Central Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Central Hotel And Suites Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing