We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit expensive for Cebu rates but the buffet spread, cake display and halo2 bar are worth it!”
Review of Tokyo Table Cebu

Tokyo Table Cebu
Ranked #10 of 721 Restaurants in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Largest Yakiniku Buffet Restaurant in Cebu. Hotel Ambience. All-You Can-Eat. Smokeless Grill. Asian Fusion. Sushi. Over 200+ seating capacity. The first to introduce MOOKATA - a Thai inspired combination of BBQ and Shabu-shabu.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A bit expensive for Cebu rates but the buffet spread, cake display and halo2 bar are worth it!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have been to this restaurant 3 times over the past two weeks. The rates are a bit expensive for Cebu rates but after you would see the available food at the buffet spread, you would understand why its priced that way.

If on a budget, you can go for the weekday lunch and if you have a few hundred pesos to spare, the dinner spread is a must-try! It boasts of a cake/dessert display and shrimps on top of your usual lunch display. I also like their halo2 bar as I am fond of ice cream. Their drinks are unlimited and are already folded into their rates.

The only downside is the loud music in the background. And if you're used to the Yakiniku Wakamatsu's wooden slats per cubicle/table for privacy, then this might be a fresh sight for you as the restuarant is open and without divisions except for a few private rooms in one side.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ddblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    52
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“the "Cafe Marco" of Mandaue”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A very large space with pleasant ambiance. The food is great and with many assortments but it isn't as much as Marco Polo's buffet but its very good for the price of PHP750. What i really enjoy in the entire experience is the grilling part. Aside from this, the assorted sushi rolls are a mouth savoring treat. The deserts are good and well presented. I'm not sure if eating on weekdays will limit the offers since its around PHP550 (but with that price, most likely the selections are lessen) This place is a must try for family or large groups who enjoy cooking and eating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilbur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food but a bit pricey”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

All their dishes are freshly prepared and cooked. I consider their dishes authentic (e.g. Chinese,Korean and Japanese). I also love their yakiniku like the beef and pork bulgogi. Desserts like their cakes are simple and common... They have a salad bar, ice cream and halo halo bar, they also offer unlimited drinks... Overall, I can say that I'd love to go back again... But I think their rates are quite high for a not-so-wide and diverse selection.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SassySara2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
Level Contributor
561 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 906 helpful votes
“3.5”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I went on a Sunday lunch. From Friday dinner up to Sunday dinner, the price is 750. For weeknights, its 650. For Weekdays (lunch), its 550. But wait! According to the staff I talked to, the selection is fewest for the weekdays: no pastries, just ice cream for dessert, fewer yakiniku choices, fewer pre cooked food. For weeknights, some pastries are inserted, more yakininu, more pre cooked food. Its the weekends that have the full complement.

The place has good ambiance as someone mentioned. Tables are nicely spaced. Mostly are 4-6 seaters. They have 4 private rooms for groups of 10-15. Since I am talking of the structure, I have to comment on the toilet. Although the toilet was still unfinished (the WC doors and the wood whee the mirrors were installed on still were unpainted), it had a septic smell. No soap, no hand paper to wipe wet hands.

The food were hit and miss. For the Japanese section, the salmon, mahi, and marlin/maya maya were good. The tuna was frozen. The tempura was good, so with the hot prawn salad. The makis were extensive and good. The wasabi was very good. For the yakiniku, watch out for the korean beef, chicken, and pork. It was very salty (for those basted in that korean flavor). Better try the others. Squid, shrimp, and salmon were good. The dimsum is disappointing. The siomai in particular was cheap in taste. For the dessert, the creme brulee was below average. The taho was bad. The sauce was not sweet enough, and the taho was cold and could not hold its texture well. The different kinds of sansrival were old stock, it was tough, chewey, not fresh.

Instead of putting the pre cooked food on chafing dishes, they put them on a solid metal surface that was heated. The heat was insufficient as the food on the dishes were not warm.

This place has been open for several months already, and should have finished with the typical birth pains of newly opened establishments. Maybe their birth pains are extended. However, the above can still be corrected and should not be taken by readers that this place is not worth it. This is why I am giving them a score of 3.5 as it can be given a higher score by those who choose what they eat well and end up choosing those that they like.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank al22tecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance but overrated....:)”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We went there on a tuesday night, not much people. Had the yakiniku beef, chicken and pork its all spicy :( there's about 6 types of maki and sashimi's and an asian buffet spread. The tofu and beijing pork were good. Fried rice was yummy also, with bottomless softdrinks and iced tea included in the buffet. Desert i had blue berry panacotta which was good but the ube cake was a little hard. Overall its ok but overrated by some.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rlenong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tokyo Table Cebu also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Tokyo Table Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing