We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, good location, good rates for longstay”
Review of Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel
Ranked #70 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Cebu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old hotel, good location, good rates for longstay”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here for the 3rd time in August 2013, Old hotel with good location, walking distance to Robinson Mall Fuente Osmena and nightlife at Mango, Friendly attentive staff, average but clean room, small old TV with many channels, strong aircon. Will be renovated in 2014 said the staff. Maintenance staff was quick to fix anything. Back up generator kicks in within 1 minute. Rooms in new wing around 1300-1600 php. Avoid old wing with very old rooms. Always taxi outside. Guest friendly. Monthly rate 32000 peso, cheaper than most hotels in Cebu.

Room Tip: Stay in new wing, old wing are really old rooms and smelly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    133
    92
    26
    28
See reviews for
16
54
65
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The first time I went to Cebu I was advised by a friend to stay here at Diplomat, The hotel facade was typically normal, The lobby was classy. I booked two rooms for me and my friends. The room was clean, room service was perfect (When I broke a glass, and called customer sevice in an instant there was a knock on my door -- such a quick service) . The location is an easy access to almost everything. bottom line if you're looking for a nice hotel with great staff, you might as well consider this!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneliciouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I was there and I would stay again.

Good staff, good rooms and excellent price. Perhaps the tv is kinda of old, but... I do not care much, I am not there to watch tv.

Location is a bit.. out of the main drag, but still, just 5 minutes walk to Osmeña square.

Excellent spanish restaurant located in front of the Diplomat.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zamboanga City, Philippines
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Been staying on this hotel for almost every month since 2012. All I can say that aside from their affordable rates, they are strategically located near the heart of uptown Cebu City. It is near Cebu Velez General Hospital, 7-11 convenience store, Robinsons Department Store and so on and so fort. Their staff is very friendly and accommodating, showing the very best of Cebuano hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights earlier this month, and am concerned about a staff member at this hotel posing a potential threat to female guests.

The majority of the staff at the Diplomat were friendly, helpful and polite, with a special mention to the girls at reception. However, when I requested assistance with a faulty internet connection, a bellboy was sent with me to my room. Sometime after he had fixed the problem and left, he began making harassing phone calls to my room, having guessed that I was a woman travelling alone. From what I could understand, this person’s name was “Johari” or “Jothari” (possibly Jeffrey?) and he asked if he could come back to my room because he was “lonely”.

I immediately hung up, to which the phone started ringing nonstop. After barricading the door and alerting friends and family, I reported the incident to reception. I was at first assured by a female supervisor that the man would be fired. However, I continued to receive phone calls from him in the next half-hour (which I always terminated). I was terrified he would break into my room and attack me, and considered seeking help from other guests rather than management.

Eventually reception called and said they had “told staff not to disturb you”, which did not put me at ease – the issue was not being “disturbed by staff”, it was being threatened by a PARTICULAR staff member. When my cousin rang the hotel, they apologised to her and said “Johari” had already received complaints after attempting to enter guest rooms without permission. When I asked to move rooms, the woman assisting me said, “He has been told.” I began to suspect "Johari" had been warned but not fired. I continued my stay at the hotel without incident, but I spotted "Johari" in uniform when I checked out days later.

I would not recommend this hotel on the basis that management allows a dangerous staff member, who has a history of harassing, following or threatening female clientele, to remain in their employ. It’s a shame because the location is good (very central, close to shopping centres as well as taxi/jeepney access), the reception ladies were lovely, prices were reasonable, and the rooms were satisfactory, if a little basic. But giving a staff member repeated opportunities to terrorize guests is a deal-breaker.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel 2 times. Once in December 2012 and also in May 2013. And yes I have stayed at more expensive hotels such as the Radisson Blu, Marriot and Elizabeth. For the price this hotel which is clean, accommodating and with a restaurant that serves good food cannot be beat. It is also very centrally located near Mango with other restaurants, laundry and a 7/11 within a short walk. if you are looking for upscale this is not your place but if you are looking for what I have mentioned, this hotel is a very choice. And staff is friendly and helpful.
No question that this hotel needs a major facelift, pretty well in all departments as one of the other posters mentioned.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digicloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

rooms stank of tenured cigarette smoke (from probably 3 months ago) in the room. towels did not smell clean. windows were full of bird droppings, i can hardly see out side view. bedding was scary. i accidentally dropped something under the bed.. and there it was.. food left overs from previous guests, dusts that looked seemed to be deliberately "hidden" there.
aircon unit was noisy, almost could not sleep.
good location though. i cant say that i got what i paid for in this hotel. although it is relatively cheap, it was still somewhat disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lara_sujin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.9 mi away
Canberry Hotel
Canberry Hotel
#42 of 87 in Cebu City
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#61 of 87 in Cebu City
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
#31 of 87 in Cebu City
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#41 of 87 in Cebu City
58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#64 of 87 in Cebu City
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#26 of 87 in Cebu City
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Property: Diplomat Hotel
Address: 90 F Ramos St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Diplomat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diplomat Hotel enjoys a central location in downtown Cebu. It is about 40 minutes from the airport and only 15 minutes away from the nearest ferry station. Rest comes easy in the comfort of the 100 air-conditioned rooms at Diplomat Hotel. Relish the convenience of having a cable TV, mini-bar, room safe, and hot & cold shower at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Cebu City
Diplomat Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing