We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want a great stay in the heart of Cebu City? Keep looking...”
Review of Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel
Ranked #66 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed 25 March 2009

I guess its not fair to complain when you only pay $20 for the night, but the overall impression for me was slimy/greasy. The room as a non-smoking but smelled like an ashtray and I refused to put my face on the pillows after a quick inspection and instead put a towel over it (not the towel from the bathroom as it was not any better, but one I luckily brought with me).

The staff however were very nice, after checking out they were all to happy to let me keep my bags in the luggage room while I strolled around Fuente Osmena. Really great location and again the rates were very cheap, but included no real amenities and cost PHP 80 for one hour internet.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertholf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Diplomat Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 304 reviews

An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 22 March 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 8 March 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 7 February 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Staff was slow to clean the rooms, but did a good job when they got too it. Food is not so good. Better to go out. Excellent location. Lots of taxis. Staff is helpful, management is lousy. Forgot to clean the room then did not want to send up clean towels because it was late. If you get the 8th floor you are spared the street noise and get great views of the city. Very good and consistent wireless connection in the rooms. You have to pay two dollars per hour, but it is fast and generally consistent. Bathrooms could be cleaner.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mooders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

Booked Pacific Pensionne first, but wasn't satisfied - noisy, rooms run down, no fridge.
Explored the surrounding area one night and found the Diplomat 100 meters away from (and exactly behind) PP on Ramos Street. Quiet and safe area, but very close to Mango Square, Osmena Fuente, Robinson etc.
Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean rooms, fridge, safe, cable tv, 8 floors, reasonable prices for restaurant/room service (e.g. American Breakfast 150 PHP, Burger 100 PHP, Chicken Curry 180 PHP, Grilled Tuna 180 PHP, Steak 180 PHP). Fridge: Soft Drinks 40 PHP, San Miguel 50 PHP, Water 25 PHP.
Promotional room rate was 1.040 PHP for a single room. They accept credit cards without! extra charge.
Summary: Highly satisfied with their very reasonable priced hotel and I'll return definitely.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2007

I stayed at the Diplomat Hotel for ten nights and had the best stay
I have had in years. The rooms are spotless, the staff service is second to none. I highly recomend the diplomat Hotel to anyone wanting a 4 star Hotel at a budget price.

  • Stayed: March 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Oregonguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.3 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#56 of 91 in Cebu City
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#25 of 91 in Cebu City
58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#80 of 91 in Cebu City
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#43 of 91 in Cebu City
60 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia
0.4 mi away
Rajah Park Hotel
Rajah Park Hotel
#57 of 91 in Cebu City
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Address: 90 F Ramos St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range: £16 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diplomat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diplomat Hotel enjoys a central location in downtown Cebu. It is about 40 minutes from the airport and only 15 minutes away from the nearest ferry station. Rest comes easy in the comfort of the 100 air-conditioned rooms at Diplomat Hotel. Relish the convenience of having a cable TV, mini-bar, room safe, and hot & cold shower at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Cebu City
Diplomat Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing