We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Returned after 14 years :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Returned after 14 years :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I met in the Philippines 14 years ago and it was called Cebu Plaza then. We'd never thought we'll be there again. We spent 2 days and 2 nights & it's better than before,lots of good memories.
When we went swimming the pool was ours :) very nice hotel detailed oriented staff,clean and friendly. They were still renovating and that was the only flaw because we can smell the fumes or varnish from our room #1208. We enjoyed our stay regardless and the food was good.
Keep up the great work and we will be staying again the next time we visit the Philippines.
You beat some of the expensive hotels in Cebu. God bless

Room Tip: We were at room #1208 it was quite until our last day of stay where there were some people sanding a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjoerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Marjoerie,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for making us part of that great homecoming! It is our pleasure to be able to share with you good memories. Thank you for sharing as well details on how much you both have enjoyed your stay; from food and facilities to friendly and detail-oriented staff. It is very inspiring. Please accept our apologies though for the inconvenience that our on-going renovations has caused. We are excited for its completion.

Here is to look forward to your next visit to the Philippines and stay with us here in Cebu.

Cheers!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    440
    92
    27
    17
See reviews for
296
291
82
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel is up on the hill away from the city, the rooms are ok,staff friendly,decor for Xmas super,,,nice place,great buffet and service,but long way from the centre of the city,stay before at Merritott

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alberto750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear alberto750,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for taking time to quickly share information about your stay in our hotel with the whole family. This helps those who are seeking tips of where to stay in Cebu. We look forward to see you and the whole family the next time you travel to Cebu.

Cheers!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

When we first arrived at Marco Polo Plaza, we were greeted by some very sweet ladies in traditional Filipino outfits. They were very friendly and full of suggestions on places to visit. They will call you "sir" about 1,000 times. :)

I also loved that they had 24/7 room service. The food was great and the room service people were also very friendly. The rooms were nice and clean, the internet was pretty fast and I think the price was more than fair. I stayed there for a week and didn't have any problems whatsoever.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chane_Steiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Chane_Steiner,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

How wonderful it is to receive such an appreciation of our brand of customer service, facilities, food and beverage and amenities. Thank you for sharing this through Tripadvisor as this provides our future guests an additional perspective of the “Marco Polo Way” of hospitality.

We look forward to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Korea via The USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My family of four recently stayed two nights at the Marco Polo in Cebu. We were coming from a resort in Mactan and added a couple of days to our vacation. We really enjoyed our stay! This property is up on the hill, away from the congestion of the city.
The spa is good and reasonably priced, the restaurants are great and the pool is very nice. My family especially enjoyed the brick-oven pizza at the poolside restaurant. The adults could relax with cold beer and pizza while the kids swam!
There is a free shuttle to the malls and hot spots, but a taxi ride from the hotel to most locations is not expensive. The staff was professional and courteous. We will stay at the Marco Polo Plaza-Cebu again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Mactan, you can see Cebu, the water and Mactan Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Bill E,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for sharing your story about how much you and the whole family enjoyed that recent stay in our hotel property. It is our pleasure to be able to deliver the best in hospitality to all our guests. Thank you too for sharing tips. It will be of great help to those seeking for more information about the best hotels to stay in Cebu City.

We hope and look forward to see you again on that next Cebu trip.
Our warmest regards to you and the whole family!

Cheers!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandaue City, Mandaue, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Went with my daughter and her husband to attend a dinner show to usher the countdown for the New Year. It was a wonderful dinner with entertainers both from Cebu and Manila.

The buffet had a great menu and they all tasted great. Just right for the mix of guests who attended the occasion. And the unlimited drinks helped loosen up the evening.

The downside was the late serving of the dinner and my lack of dancing partner to hit the dance floor with.


Towards 11 pm. the guests were ushered to the veranda where the countdown for the New Year was held. Five minutes before midnight the fireworks were lit and it was awesome.

I had a real wonderful time to welcome the New Year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Joseph D,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

What a pleasure it is to know that you and the family celebrated the turn of the New Year with us. Thank you for choosing the Marco Polo Plaza. We are delighted for the celebration’s success, making way for more wonderful and exciting celebrations and events in 2014. We hope to see you and the family again soon!

Cheers to a wonderful year!

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed last december 26,2013 using my GC.I approached the reception to help me to book a room but then she just said I cannot check in because I have to do it prior which I understood. And then she advice to go to telephone booth to call the reservation office.When I called the reservation Marie helped my reservation and advice me to pay additional amount Php 330 for the next category because de luxe room is not available. .I went back to the reception and approached the same lady then she called the reservation and I heard exactly their conversation that the room is available at 5pm and she mentioned that theres available room but I have to pay higher amount Php 800 that was quoted from resevation, so I advice the lady to check in late so that I wont be able to add more, the she replied Its the same amount. I was disappointed at that time.I went back to the hotel at 2pm to check in and the room 2103 is spacious and the view is stunning and can see the the whole city, mini bar is 50% discount and the toilet is very clean.Engineering will respond immediately if theres an issue of the room. The pool attendant is professional of handling guest and flexible.The sEcurity is very efficient and we can feel that we are very safe, they made us comfortable when we took taxi going to the city. The waiter also are pro active.Lastly I was disappointed at first but my overall stay is excellent. Thank you so much to all who helped me during my stay. GOD BLESS

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sojeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear sojoseph,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

We regret to note that your arrival experience was not as expected it to be. We have made our investigation and stern coaching has been made to the guest service associate who handled your transaction.

We do appreciate your mention of the efficiency of our engineering, pool, security and food & beverage associates which made you feel safe and secure and attended to. They are the associates who shared with you customer service the Marco Polo Way.

Thank you for still considering the overall experience ‘excellent’. We hope to see you again soon and we wish the best!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

we spent dec 24-26 at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu...they had a promo for 2800 pesos a night vouches in October...that we presented for this stay...me, my wife and 3 small children enjoyed their Christmas Eve buffet...the turkey and mashed were outstanding...santa came around for photos and small gift per child...they had a play area set up for the kids, which was nice also...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielInCebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear DanielInCebu,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for consistently sharing your wonderful experience with our hotel through social media and now here on Tripadvisor. We are truly delighted to have you and the whole family as our regular guests. Thank you for making us part of your family celebrations.

Cheers!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.6 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
8.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Property: Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing