We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cap your Cebu holiday here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Cap your Cebu holiday here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Best place to cap off your Cebu holiday, and kids will love it here too. It is located away from the busy city life, located up on a hill with a great view of the city. Food does not come cheap, and there is a weird hotel policy that bans guests from bringing in take out food. Shuttle service is available for those who wants to go to downtown malls. Downside: They dont take you back to the airport on a shuttle for free.

Room Tip: Mountain view or city view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold Cesar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    430
    89
    27
    17
See reviews for
286
284
81
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were at Marco Polo Plaza for 10 Days and enjoyed every one of them. It is not a beach Hotel or something like this, just a very good stay near the mountains of Cebu City.
There was live music at the pool and in the lobby every day, so you can relax really good after a tiring day in Cebu.
The rooms are nice and very clean. They clean the room every day with a lot of effort. Our two cleaner Joseph and Neil were very kind and they did a great job.
When we come back to Cebu, we will book Marco Polo again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Chris J

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for sharing your “excellent stay” experience with our hotel property here on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you appreciate the unique hospitality experience of a city hotel located near the mountainside.

Thank you also for mentioning how you have enjoyed the live music entertainment at our Lobby Lounge and Pool Bar which only the Marco Polo Plaza has--- seven nights a week, among all hotels in the city. Further, for appreciating our housekeeping associates who have provided you both a clean and comfortable long stay the “Marco Polo Way”.

We look forward to see you both on your next trip to Cebu!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed here for a night just to see if we like it enough to stay for a week or 2 next year, answer . Yes we would return for a week. Staff are very courteous and attentive , food is good, populates is ok even though they have 3 condo blocks going up very close by, the hotel is in a good state of repair although some areas poolside need attention, we stayed on floor 18 which seems like it has been recently refurbished so ask for floors that have been updated whilst checking in, our room was very nice with a great view of the city and mactan

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank opaogooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear opaogooner,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

What a pleasure it is to note that we have made an impression on your stay at our hotel. Thank you for the good word and the early decision to come back next year for a longer stay. We are excited to see you again especially with the completion of the renovations, improvements and new facilities around the property.

Cheers to you both!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I think Marco Polo is by the far the best hotel I have stayed in Cebu to date. While it may not be fairly new (established in 2006), the hotel itself is well kept with a beautiful chandelier and clean carpeting. The surrounding area was full of flora and fauna as well as a spacious parking lot. The pool, albeit small, was indeed inviting in the scorching sun. While overall, the place looked opulent, it is not amiss of some disadvantages.

We arrived around 9AM on April 2. I requested our office admin to make sure that we be allowed early check-in. However, the place was full to the brim. We could not check in until after an hour or so. As such, we decided to leave our bags instead and head to Ayala Cebu for our mandatory trade check. We waited for 30 minutes to get a cab (we were third in queue and we missed the hotel shuttle to Ayala Mall). Sadly, it took us another 30 minutes to get to the mall (due to mid-morning traffic). As I told my admin, had I known it would take an hour or so to get anywhere, I would have opted to stay in Radisson Blu (except that it was too late to change hotels and that it was also fully booked when we were making arrangements). This long wait however happened only once during our 3d/2n stay as the succeeding travels in and around the city only took us 5 minutes or less to get a cab (thankfully!).

Notable to this hotel -- the security guards would stop the cabs to check and to remind the drivers to turn on the meter. They would also hand out complaint stubs that you could refer to should an erring driver come your way.

Once we were able to check in, we were welcomed by a spacious room (we stayed at 1808) with a mountain view (Cebu Tops not far away). The bed was a pleasure to sleep in but I didn't like the pillows as much since it tends to get flat after awhile of laying your head on it.

The bathroom was a bit tiny, with no shower doors. The free toiletries however really smelled good and were quite effective in doing the job.

Breakfast fare -- expansive enough. The selection ranged from American breakfast staples to Chinese dim sum to Japanese sushi to Filipino beef tapa . Coffee was really good as well. Special samplers of their coffee of the day (white choco mocha among others) were handed out for free as well. I found the fruit section though a bit wanting as there were no ripe mangoes. I found that a bit strange considering that Cebu is known for this produce.

Here's the thing -- since this place is a bit detached from the rest of Cebu, dining out might be tricky. There are good restaurants down the road (Anzani) if you want to walk a kilometre or two. Otherwise, you would really need to take a cab to get anywhere.

Overall however, I would recommend this hotel for relaxation purposes. I would love to try their spa the next time that I stay (although I think the prices are a bit steep) but if it would give me temporary tranquility, I would say, why not! =)

Room Tip: Get a room which overlooks the city and the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrscalara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear mrscalara,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

What an honor to be branded as “A Jewel in this Queen City of the South”.

We thank you for spending time to write a detailed review of your stay experience at our hotel property and for recommending us especially in the area of relaxation. Indeed, your pleasant hospitality experience with the Marco Polo Way of service particularly in the area of security and other tips can help shape decisions to would-be-guests who are traveling for business or vacation seeking hotel accommodation in Cebu.

Truly, we are delighted that your first stay experience is excellent and we look forward to your next stay here at the Marco Polo Plaza.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Had a great 6 days at the Marco Polo which I stayed in on a special promo deal of 2000peso a night without breakfast - check in was effortless with concierge and all staff service excellent from the moment of walking through the entrance to the hotel. Great looking lobby with a nice relaxing bar area which played live music every evening. Room was very spacious and catered for space for my work with a large desk area. Bathroom was very big with a nice walk in shower that had a large shower head but the temperature was a bit hard to get right, it was either scalding hot or cold.
Beds were very big and comfortable and TV had plenty of channels which were all tuned in correctly, housekeeping were very attentive and happy to help with additional items when requested, I particularly like the 3in1 Nescafé coffee sachets in the room,tasted much better than some of the hotels I have stayed in with its cheap branded coffee.
Pool area was good and the pool was pretty large and the decor was very nice, I ate in the blue bar restaurant on the roof which was a good experience, not very cheap but the location made up for that - I also dined in the main buffet restaurant which was very nice, love the Australian wine from Margaret River wineries which is an area I have also visited which I could appreciate.
So altogether great located up On the hill above the city - was out of town slightly but a free shuttle service departs every 2 hrs for a short 10 minute ride into the main shopping mall.
Altogether a great stay and a hotel which offered everything I would expect.

Room Tip: Either a city view or mountain view is good option as they both offer different aspects of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonmac37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Simonmac37,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

First of all, we thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel property for a good six days and of course for taking time to write a detailed review about it. We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant over all stay experience. Thank you too for sharing emphasis on how we address our location by providing free shuttle to and from the business district, at the same time appreciating how our unique location affords fantastic view of the city and the mountains side.

Cheers to more visits to Cebu! You have a home at the Marco Polo Plaza.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have sung the praises of this hotel before on Tripadvisor, and following a recent stay I reiterate all I said previously. There pervades a lovely atmosphere throughout the hotel, and all staff are courteous, friendly and very helpful; nothing it seems is too much trouble. I am always made to feel at home and welcome.
The location, which seems to receive most attention from reviews, is first class. The hotel is a short ride from the financial, commercial and shopping centres of Cebu city. This is a plus as it's quiet. It's elevated position is also an attraction, especially for the views from the rooms and the roof top Blue Bar. The hotel operates a regular shuttle bus service to the major malls, and it doesn't take long to get to and from the hotel.
The Blue Bar, which is actually a bar and restaurant, is well worth a visit and the food is first class. The menu includes a la carte, as do other restaurants in the hotel.
A tip; be careful to explain how you like your food, and how you like it served. It seems Filipinos are not as discerning as westerners about their food. For example, a salad or similar served with dressing, may arrive swamped in dressing; I always ask for the dressing on the side. I like my hot food served on a hot plate, not a cold plate as seems the custom throughout the Philippines. I always ask for a hot plate and it arrives hot. At the Marco Polo you get what you ask for, if you don't ask it will arrive as the hotel is used to serving it, and I always find the staff respond very positively and are keen to offer first class customer service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Richard187062,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for taking time to share a review of your overall experience at our hotel. Writing it in detail shall serve a clear perspective to those seeking to know more about guest experiences here at the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Thank you too for the tips and for appreciating how our Food and Beverage Associates responded to your particular requests, as well as the quality of dishes that we serve. And, for all the other aspects of our operations that you mentioned, a declaration of your appreciation of the quality of our products and services. We are even more inspired to give our guests the best.

We look forward to see you on that next trip.
You have a home in Cebu here at the Marco Polo Plaza.

Cheers!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I like the location of because it has a nice view of the city and it is run with a more personal touch than its competitors. I wish they would have a signature restaurant other than the buffet and the pool areas, but I would still recommend this to all my visitors when they come.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigibrugado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear gigibrugado,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

It's our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your recommendation to be shared to your visitors. Writing a review here on Tripadvisor is already a major recommendation.

Our location and how it provides that beautiful and unique view of Cebu City are premiums we are grateful about. Thank you for helping us spread the good word.

We look forward to see you again and we hope that on that next stay, you can also dine at our Blu Bar and Grill located at the penthouse, a thousand feet above sea level and named as one of Tattler Philippines’ Top 5 Best Restaurants in 2012.

Cheers!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
8.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Property: Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing