We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place...$ Breakfast / Bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
yyc
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice place...$ Breakfast / Bad location”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Good place to stay...Far away from everything up on the hill. Slums are located in your view all around the hotel. The pool area is nice, and the lobby has good wifi - the wifi didn't work very well in the rooms. The shower only has a half door, which makes it very easy to flood the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltop8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    465
    100
    29
    17
See reviews for
330
309
89
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dulles, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in the Continental Club rooms (22nd floor) with an amazing view of the mountains. I highly recommend the Continental Club since you get in addition to the free-wifi and complimentary breakfast access to the Penthouse suite Continental Club room that has great views of both ocean and mountain sides as well as exceptional service! Complimentary cocktails daily from 6:30pm-8:30pm plus a light dinner buffet along with dessert. It is a peaceful and quiet oasis after a noisy day in the city. The Continental Club staff is phenomenal; super attentive and professional. You also get some complimentary vouchers for dry cleaning and laundry services along with bottles of water hand-delivered to your room and some really nice chocolates with lovely inspirational messages left on your pillow by the bed 'turn-down' services staff.

You must dine by the pool. The Marco Polo pizza is awesome! Thin crust and they have 2 sizes; one large enough for two to share and one perfectly sized for one. The pool stays open until 11pm so it's a great thing to do to unwind in the evening. I also recommend the hotel's gift shop which has high quality items at super affordable prices.

Will DEFINITELY come back to Marco Polo!

Room Tip: My mountain view room was nice and quiet and you could hear the roosters crowing in the mornings. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014Biztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel was very nice and amazing. Food from the restaurant was delicious and and service was good.. And the room was cleaned and smells nice. Though the location is quite uphill but then again..It's a nice hotel. I would love to go back and stay again and again in this hotel..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthKen1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

One of the quality hotels you can find in the city of Cebu. I went there for a seminar and had my family in tow. We had a wonderful time except that we were placed at the far end of the hall near the exit. Perhaps it has to do with having an infant where hotel staff ensures other guests will not be disturbed. However, my son enjoyed the beautiful Christmas village they displayed at the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pax34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We got it as local price of 2900pesos without buffet per night, Since im on a diet. It was deluxe room (unrenovated yet) in an ocean view. The room was clean. Location was fine but i rated 4 coz i prefer beach resort, i came from a medical procedure and its our nearest option within the city. Rooms was quite spacious, but due to there renovations, we can hear boom sounds! ;) service was ok also. Value was worthy!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carylldax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen Charlotte
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

If you book through agoda, you might actually get a very nice room in this truly 5-star property for under $35! However, you're crazy if you don't spend a bit more and get the complimentary breakfast at their truly outstanding buffet.

The hotel sits on a hill, a half-hour from the port or airport at heavy-traffic times, a fair bit less early or late. The lobby is grand, check-in is fast and efficient, the smart staff is extremely friendly and competent, and the high-speed elevators will whisk you up to a room with an excellent view in every price range.

The rooms themselves are merely adequate, but pleasant. Beds are comfy, and there's good A/C. There are many TV channels on large flat screen monitors.

The pool is a real delight. It's long and wide, but not deep, with a scenic waterfall at one end, semi-submerged lounge chairs on one side, lots of comfortable lounges with umbrellas poolside, a kiddie pool adjacent, and good service from the bar/restaurant above the pool. It's a nice place on a hot day, and if it isn't crowded, it's nice for swimming laps.

The buffet, available for all meals, is truly remarkable. It would be impossible to try even one bite of each item on offer without exploding. Quality is exceptional, and your plate is whisked away and your water glass replenished like clockwork. You can have fine sushi and sashimi, miso soup with a world of garnishes, dim sum, roast beef, crispy lechon, several kinds of satay, BBQ duck, seafood or vegetable tempura, several preparations of chicken, several preparations of several kinds of fish, a huge variety of cold salads and salad ingredients, various pickled items, potatoes, sauteed vegetables, grilled vegetables, oysters and clams on the half shell, sambal dishes, rice dishes, BBQ ribs, fried calamari, cold cuts, several nice cheeses, various buns and rolls, and several kinds of fresh tropical fruit. Then there's the chocolate fountain, assorted pastries, cheesecakes... And while you're eating, a server might come by and offer you a shot of cafe mocha or a mug of local chocolate. A great experience!

If you've traveled hard in Visayas, and want to reward yourself with a little luxury at very modest cost for what you're getting, you won't do better than the Marco {polo Plaza.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bima77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed last weekend and had a marvelous stay. The buffet breakfast was one of the best we have enjoyed. The pool and pool bar service staff were friendly and accomodating. The executive lounge staff were superb. Overall a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Book the Executive Lounge - excellent service and Happy Hour snacks/drinks/service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Santa Fe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 90 in Cebu City
3,269 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
1.6 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
#5 of 90 in Cebu City
1,184 reviews
8.6 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
1.6 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 90 in Cebu City
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Property: Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill at the penthouse is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants for the 5th time. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing