We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“80s Feel Without The Nostalgia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
manila
Level Contributor
131 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“80s Feel Without The Nostalgia”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed overnight on a very short business trip. It is an old refurbished hotel (Cebu Plaza, now renamed Marco Polo) and it shows. The lobby is spacious but lacks seats for people waiting for cabs, fellow guests, etc. There is only one sorry looking table for 4 in the far corner of the lobby and the other tables are for marketing of their other property projects. Maybe hotel management can consider putting some couches in the huge space in the lobby for their guests, after all, isn't that what service related industries need to take care of?

The room was likewise spacious, with an easy flow and the air-conditioning works pretty well. Carpeting wasn't new, but clean enough. The bed was firm (which is to my liking), the pillows soft (which is NOT), and the beddings were only of above average quality. Wifi a little spotty, but since I'm on a pretty good data plan, it didn't bother me much. Furnishings were well maintained but not updated. Ample sized bathroom with an 80s feel tub over shower.

Dinner was catered by the hotel at the meeting place and was tasty enough. Nothing to write home about, though. Breakfast at Cafe Marco was adequate and the buffet will leave the guest spoilt for choice from local to western to Chinese and even Japanese selections. Had to ask twice for coffee, but no biggie for me.

The pool scene was a bit disappointing compared to one is led to expect in their website.

The hotel's location is rather isolated, but they have shuttle services which seem to run on a regular basis. I didn't make use of it, so I cannot comment on its efficiency.

The staff was warm and friendly enough and is actually a highlight of the hotel. Now if only they can improve on the lobby sitting and the seeming time warp it got stuck in, it would be a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajeroManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    440
    92
    27
    17
See reviews for
297
292
82
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
yyc
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Good place to stay...Far away from everything up on the hill. Slums are located in your view all around the hotel. The pool area is nice, and the lobby has good wifi - the wifi didn't work very well in the rooms. The shower only has a half door, which makes it very easy to flood the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltop8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulles, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in the Continental Club rooms (22nd floor) with an amazing view of the mountains. I highly recommend the Continental Club since you get in addition to the free-wifi and complimentary breakfast access to the Penthouse suite Continental Club room that has great views of both ocean and mountain sides as well as exceptional service! Complimentary cocktails daily from 6:30pm-8:30pm plus a light dinner buffet along with dessert. It is a peaceful and quiet oasis after a noisy day in the city. The Continental Club staff is phenomenal; super attentive and professional. You also get some complimentary vouchers for dry cleaning and laundry services along with bottles of water hand-delivered to your room and some really nice chocolates with lovely inspirational messages left on your pillow by the bed 'turn-down' services staff.

You must dine by the pool. The Marco Polo pizza is awesome! Thin crust and they have 2 sizes; one large enough for two to share and one perfectly sized for one. The pool stays open until 11pm so it's a great thing to do to unwind in the evening. I also recommend the hotel's gift shop which has high quality items at super affordable prices.

Will DEFINITELY come back to Marco Polo!

Room Tip: My mountain view room was nice and quiet and you could hear the roosters crowing in the mornings. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014Biztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel was very nice and amazing. Food from the restaurant was delicious and and service was good.. And the room was cleaned and smells nice. Though the location is quite uphill but then again..It's a nice hotel. I would love to go back and stay again and again in this hotel..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthKen1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

One of the quality hotels you can find in the city of Cebu. I went there for a seminar and had my family in tow. We had a wonderful time except that we were placed at the far end of the hall near the exit. Perhaps it has to do with having an infant where hotel staff ensures other guests will not be disturbed. However, my son enjoyed the beautiful Christmas village they displayed at the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pax34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We got it as local price of 2900pesos without buffet per night, Since im on a diet. It was deluxe room (unrenovated yet) in an ocean view. The room was clean. Location was fine but i rated 4 coz i prefer beach resort, i came from a medical procedure and its our nearest option within the city. Rooms was quite spacious, but due to there renovations, we can hear boom sounds! ;) service was ok also. Value was worthy!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carylldax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen Charlotte
Level Contributor
272 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

If you book through agoda, you might actually get a very nice room in this truly 5-star property for under $35! However, you're crazy if you don't spend a bit more and get the complimentary breakfast at their truly outstanding buffet.

The hotel sits on a hill, a half-hour from the port or airport at heavy-traffic times, a fair bit less early or late. The lobby is grand, check-in is fast and efficient, the smart staff is extremely friendly and competent, and the high-speed elevators will whisk you up to a room with an excellent view in every price range.

The rooms themselves are merely adequate, but pleasant. Beds are comfy, and there's good A/C. There are many TV channels on large flat screen monitors.

The pool is a real delight. It's long and wide, but not deep, with a scenic waterfall at one end, semi-submerged lounge chairs on one side, lots of comfortable lounges with umbrellas poolside, a kiddie pool adjacent, and good service from the bar/restaurant above the pool. It's a nice place on a hot day, and if it isn't crowded, it's nice for swimming laps.

The buffet, available for all meals, is truly remarkable. It would be impossible to try even one bite of each item on offer without exploding. Quality is exceptional, and your plate is whisked away and your water glass replenished like clockwork. You can have fine sushi and sashimi, miso soup with a world of garnishes, dim sum, roast beef, crispy lechon, several kinds of satay, BBQ duck, seafood or vegetable tempura, several preparations of chicken, several preparations of several kinds of fish, a huge variety of cold salads and salad ingredients, various pickled items, potatoes, sauteed vegetables, grilled vegetables, oysters and clams on the half shell, sambal dishes, rice dishes, BBQ ribs, fried calamari, cold cuts, several nice cheeses, various buns and rolls, and several kinds of fresh tropical fruit. Then there's the chocolate fountain, assorted pastries, cheesecakes... And while you're eating, a server might come by and offer you a shot of cafe mocha or a mug of local chocolate. A great experience!

If you've traveled hard in Visayas, and want to reward yourself with a little luxury at very modest cost for what you're getting, you won't do better than the Marco {polo Plaza.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bima77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#9 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.6 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
8.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Property: Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing