We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experiences in Marco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experiences in Marco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Yes there was. Two at that! I would really thank that front desk officer who handled our check-in registration for making sure that our king bed preference is met. Yay! Me and my boyfriend were so thankful we didn't need to sleep in different beds because we were informed prior that there might be a shortage of king beds upon check in. Another thing was that upon checking out, we were already driving away from the hotel when I noticed I don't have my phone in any of my bags so I realized I must have left it inside the room. So we hurriedly went back to the hotel. I panicked because we knew right after we got out of the room that housekeeping was going to come in and clean. So we just hoped that Marco Polo is as dependable and reputable as it was advertised and that employees are trustworthy too. Good thing there wasn't any trouble from the registration about getting back to our room and checking if my phone was still there. And good thing too that the housekeeping guy knew that a phone was left and informed us that it was on the table. And yes, it wasn't touched. Just where we left it. KUDOS to a great staff and a great hotel! We are surely going to come back and refer Marco Polo to anyone who would visit Cebu! Thank you! :D

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Storm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Storm R,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for finding time to quickly write a review about your experience with the Marco Polo brand of hospitality. Stories such as this, is a pat on the back.
We definitely look forward to see you again on that next Cebu visit.

Thank you for making the Marco Polo Plaza your home in the “Queen City of the South”.

Cheers!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    440
    92
    27
    17
See reviews for
297
292
82
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Since Marco Polo Plaza Hotel in Cebu is located at Nivel Hills, you would expect that it would be quite a hilly climb on the way to the hotel which is a feel-good experience. Nestled along Nivel Hills, the hotel has a serene atmosphere and indeed a 5-star experience. The lobby has a refreshing ambiance and the front desk officers are very accommodating. You will find the resto and the pool at the ground level as well as their gift shop. The rooms are well-maintained and with well replenished toiletries. I would also commend the buffet breakfast which serves a variety of dishes including the local Cebu chorizo and danggit (dried fish). The buffet breakfast starts as early as 6am. All in all it was a great experience and I'm looking forward to be back here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Cel77,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for sharing a descriptive review of your recent stay with us. Your appreciation of our facilities and services from the moment of check-in to the comforts of our accommodation, and then to pleasant dining is greatly appreciated. It seems you are an addition to the growing number of Café Marco Buffet Breakfast fans, to which we are glad.

It is our pleasure to have you stay with us again on that next trip to Cebu.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Male
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed for a night, yes, from 17 - 18 May 2014.

This hotel used to be the Cebu Plaza Hotel and had only fond/wonderful memories. I had second thoughts in staying now that it is a Marco Polo since Cebu Plaza Hotel was incomparable but oh boy, this Marco Polo Plaza is just equally amazing...

I like the rooms and it was designed.

I like lobby as well.

Staff was great.

Overall, it was a great, amazing stay.

Thank You ...


Manuel
Maldives.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Manuel,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for making time to write a review about your stay with us. Calling it amazing makes all of us associates feel glad, proof that we have delivered the best of hospitality, the “Marco Polo Way”.

Cheers to the fond memories of the Cebu Plaza Hotel and to what we are now, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

See you again on that next trip to Cebu all the way from Maldives!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight with the kids prior to transferring to Shangrila mactan for the weekend. I must say that Marco polo was pretty good. We had 2 rooms , 1 with 2 twin beds for the kids and one with a king sized bed. The view from our rooms wasn't too good but maybe we were just on the wrong side of the hotel. Will see if I can include a pic. The rooms were a bit dated but clean. Bathrooms and the tub was also on the smallish side but adequate. The pool wasn't too big but great fun for the kids. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, and I must say, even better than the breakfast at Shang Mactan(more on that in my Shang review). Options were plentiful and the food tasted great.
Overall ...A great value and a good place to stay in Cebu city.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Or2pod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My tita gave me an overnight stay as a present. Their room was good. Bed was comfy and their wireless fidelity connection was fast. Parking area was spacious and free. I like their rain shower because the water pressure was strong but their toilet has no exhaust-- too bad when you have your discomfort moment (you know what i mean). If you're with your kids, please advice them not to run or stomp their feet inside the room for the other guests occupying below your room will definitely hear you. Swimming pool was under maintenance at that time. Breakfast buffet at cafe marco was good. There's a lot of variety you can choose on. Service was good. Staffs were friendly. Expectations for a 5 star hotel was met. Overall stay was very good.

Should i recommend this hotel? YES.
Should i stay again? YES.

Room Tip: Request a room with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aBbyLishiOus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed for two (2) nights (Apr 2-3, 2014). I was given the room with an excellent view of the City. The parking is huge and free for stay-in guests. The main door opens up to the expansive lobby. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: choose the room overlooking Cebu City
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, (May 16-18, 2014). Booked thru Agoda.
Almost everything is great, the room is clean, spotless I may say.
The food is the best, especially their breakfast set served inside your room.
My sister complained that the towels were not changed, the toiletries were not replaced as well.
My father complained that the location is way far from convenient or decent stores and the hotel transfer staff charged us php1,450 from airport to the hotel which is too pricey. Really expensive! So we took the airport transfer service, which is for php900 only.
But overall, the experience is great. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blzrtndg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,045 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#9 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.6 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
8.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Property: Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing