We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent service but really needs to have renovation & remodeling” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong,
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent service but really needs to have renovation & remodeling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

The staffs at the Cebu airport & hotel reception desk are very friendly & helpful; unfortunately, staffs at the cafe were too busy for watching TV & did not put much attention on their customers.

The security of the hotel is good, and the view of the room is nice; unfortunately, there was water stains in the bath (did not expect from a 5 Stars hotel) and the smell of the room was hardly describe in words --smelly.

There is free shuttle from the hotel to Metro Ayala Centre, and it costs you around 70peso by white cab/taxi.

I only stayed there 1 night with breakfast for USD 84(Taxes inclusive).

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlariaYip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    429
    89
    27
    17
See reviews for
285
284
80
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

This hotel offers exceptional value for money. I have stayed in many hotels on vacation and business trips and I honestly need to say that this hotel was really exceptional for the price even in standard room. Facilities and service was almost same level with one of the finest 5 star hotels in London. Very good business and leisure hotel! Evening buffet was also extraordinary and you should try it out!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

The best hotel I have used in Cebu. The roof top grill in fantastic with nice views of the City. Great night time entertainment both by the pool and inside. Good value for money. Good dinning options and a very nice well presented swimming pool.
The only slight negative is the distance from the downtown area makes getting a taxi a little hard at times. You can often expect a 10-15 minute wait. The hotel does however offer a free shuttle service to the malls although I did not use this service.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johndborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US/Phil.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

Do yourself a favor, do not check in here...My husband and I reserved for a room 3 weeks in advance. Upon check -in, our room was not yet available. We were told by a staff to bring our bags at the concierge. They won't take them at the concirge becauew we were not checked in yet. Our luggages were all the while placed just in front of it. Seen by all people passing by and visible from the rstaurant lobby were we were asked to wait while our room is made available. We were made to wait 2 long hours without even saying a word of update from time to time! They knew all the while that we were at the restaurant lobby. We finished our lunch already and the room isn't available yet. We were the ones who would occasionally approach them and ask if the room is already preapared. The staff at the front desk only told us to wait. Nothing else, as if we have not been waiting for 2 hours yet!
When the room was ready, we were just given the ke to our room. No guide whatsoever and nobody to help us wheel in our luggages. I had to ask them to do it! (Now we just came directly from Shangrila Mactan for a 3 day stay and it was awful to experience the opposite way we were treated in Shangrila. I only wished we had stayed there for the whole week instead.)
Room - ordinary, small. Ours was facing the Nivel hills, which was not nice to look at at all, unless you want to reflect on how blessed you are that you could afford a 5 star hotel while the poor people stay in their shabby houses.
Restaurant service. (Marco Polo) - Has the most ill-mannered staff I have ever encountered. When you enter, sometimes, there would be somebody to greet you, sometimes not. Those who greet looked reluctant or shy. Nobody offered us coffee, nor even told us just where to find it. The waiters keep pasiing by, without doing anything but get used plates from the table. My husband finally, stood up, and made his own coffe right from their nook and nobody stil assisted him. One time, there was only the manager , the only one who was sensitive and polite enough to ask us for what we need. He served us coffee. Except for this employee, nothing else at Marco Polo is good. Worse is their serving crew whi was stationed at the noodles section. He saw a number of us waiting to have our congees and noodles, also three of the wiaters who were at the floor. All 4 of them saw us, and pretended that they did not see anybody instead of assisting us. It seeemed to me that none of them wanted to volunteer to cover up for their co-worker's area of responsibility in his absence or in his busy-ness. WORST was this: I was eating and my husband stood up to get some fruits.A few minutes, from behind me, a staff walked pass me hurriedly and took, just took away my husband's plate without even a word or so. HOW RUDE!!!! Was he not supposed to acknowledge my presence, that I am still eating, and that he should at least make a gesture that he's going to take it from the table with my permission? OMG! I have been to lots of 1 star to 5 star hotels, throughout the nation and some other countries but I have never seen a service as poor as this.
A few good things I noticed: the manager of the restaurant who was sensitive to our needs, their chef who makes their pastries which are good, and the one who answers and taked orders for their room service. Aside from that, nothing else.
Their pool is in front of the restaurant lobby, I didn't try it, I think it is a bit small. The lady that served us our order on our first day while we were waiting to check was also unimpressive. She did not try to hide from us that is was bored waiting for us to pick our order.
WI-FI CONNECTION - we got this all for free in Shangrila and yet we have to pay so much for this in Marco Poloteh hotel which annoyed us with their poor service. OMG! i will never come back!
I hate this hotel. It was a waste of money. Imagine spending your money expecting to receive an excellent service and being treated this way?

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank PetRotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Clean, well organised with great views of the city - although the price you pay for this is the hotel is a little out of town

Excellent buffet breakfast with a huge choice.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcg968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
170 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

This hotel is definitely up there with some of the best I have stayed at.
The service is excellent especialy in the dining areas and the staff are immaculately groomed and presented.
The food at the buffets for breakfast,lunch and dinner is not cheap but the standard is very high so the money paid is worth it.
The pool area is very appealing with submerged deck chairs and two small warmer lap pools beside the larger pool.
Reception staff were well trained and all my room billing which was quite extensive was correct with no "miscellaneous" charges which is often the case at large hotels.
The hotel is a bit out of town but the hotel has a free shuttle running into town ever hour and also outside the main gate are jeepneys running to everywhere so location is not a big deal really.
Probably the only slight blemish in my opinion was the mountian view room which was very nice and more than adequate but probably not quite up to the standard of the rest of the hotel but this is being quite fussy I think.
By the way mountain view is actually mountain view/shanty view!!!!!.
Thank you Marco Polo for a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mozzroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

May/June was my third stay at the Marco Polo Plaza in Cebu City. Again, I was not disappointed. This is indeed an excellent hotel. Staff are professional, friendly and courteous; the grounds are beautifully landscaped and the facilities always impreccably clean and well maintained.

Although it's not hard to tell that the hotel was run previously under a different name (hotel architecture gives this away), the rooms have been modernised (new LCD TVs with lots of cable & local channels) and are always spotlessly clean each day. The airconditioning is powerful, which helps in the sticky Cebu climate, but you can adjust it to your comfort.

Breakfast offers a large selection of foods - Filipino, Korean & Western tastes are all extensively catered for. The poolside cafe is great for a beer or a snack and their chicken focaccia sandwich is unbeatable. The pool is huge, and features a waterfall, submerged deckchairs (for enjoying sun in the pool) and a separate children's area. The rooftop bar & restaurant, Blu, offers great night time views of Cebu City as well.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. I've found independent Filipino hotels to be, for the price charged, very substandard and unprofessional. The Marco Polo Plaza is an excellent hotel, and offers decent value for money, though I would encourage travellers to check other sites, as the Marco Polo website, while claiming to offer the best rates, is not always the cheapest.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kepsimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
8.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Property: Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing