We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost, except”
Review of Circa 1900

Circa 1900
Ranked #13 of 731 Restaurants in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
philippines
Level 6 Contributor
566 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 910 helpful votes
“almost, except”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our group had a late dinner (830pm) here so the place was not full anymore and we were able to sit together without having to wait. The place is located at the far end of a side street, so unless the driver knows it, you can easily miss it as there is no adequate signage from the main road.

Upon arrival, it is an old house, but I was surprised with the sparse decoration, unlike the typical old houses that contain a lot of antiques or old stuffs. The walls were sparse, as if it was a deliberate attempt to make it into a minimalist architectural concept. The toilets were nicely done, albeit it had a lot more modern look than the main dining room. The food is generous in size compared to Canvass, considering they have the same/similar owners/chef. The salad was good, and the main course was also nice. I had the pork with a choice of gravy. The pork was nice and thick, and nicely cooked. Unfortunately, I found the gravy insufficient, and I asked for extra, only to be told extra gravy = extra charge. For such an upscale restaurant, it is not the time to be stingy with such little things as gravy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank al22tecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    57
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AMBIANCE +++ GOOD FOOD & SERVICE = CIRCA”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We returned to cebu for 5 days of business & pleasure, this time it was more casual business. We were told about circa from some friends we dine with & as its new we thought lets check it out

After eventually finding it, we were greeted in the carpark, escorted upstairs & further shown to a table inside. I was glad we were only 2 as it was pretty jammed full & we were accommodated near the jazz band area (nice band & thankfully not too load)

Pre dinner cocktails excellent & u can actually taste the alcohol which is a great change

We had the duck pancakes, the fried camembert with proscuito & a marlin salad, all were very tasty & looked good. Mains we tried the orange stewed duck & the chicken on the paella rice cake, no complaints so far all is great. Good Service

The only thing I was dissapointed about was the fact that I ate so much & had to share a dessert instead of having it for myself. The cheesecake with maja blanca is to die for.

We spoke to miss Ivy & wouldnt u know it, its the same people that own canvas

Recommended for sure

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great new find”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The old colonial house-turned-restaurant gives off such a relaxed dining vibe. Food is great, although I should've tried their steaks because our choices were more on the healthy/vegetarian fare. Customer service is excellent, and I also enjoyed their entertainment (two guys played the grand piano and sang classic oldies song). Restaurant is only open 6pm-12mn, so best to make table reservations. They also have entertainers playing every Saturday and Sunday.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Letsbedizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Circa”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Circa 1900 was definitely somewhere and something that you would find, a home that you would want that was renovated in order to restore something new. The idea of the owners was to create a restaurant and bring in other people, families, couples, friends and other people to enjoy the excitement around the space.

Within the Spanish view it was great, the ambiance was fantastic wherein you could get the fantastic view of a garden. The food too was okay.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brixietan_123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect place to dine in Cebu.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

A secret place located at the heart of the busiest city where you feels like home. By just looking the old house,it will remind you of the old times. A very relaxing place that also offers the exquisite gastronomic treat with the best customer service in town. Thank you so much Rachel,Anthony,Peter,Leah,the manager,Sir Drei and all for being so kind,assertive,alert at all times. Keep it up guyz...you guyzzz is the heart of Circa 1900. Thank you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JuneAlvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Circa 1900 also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Circa 1900? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing