We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i will stay here again this month even though they is some issues”
Review of Hotel de Mercedes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Mercedes
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Sulphur, Louisiana
1 review
“i will stay here again this month even though they is some issues”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

i stayed at the Mercedese in august of this year ,there is some issues like the girls at desk could be friendlier and the shower head could be changed to make it better but the biggest problem to me was the hard bed and the very small blanket or bedspread ,AND THEY NEED SOME STANDING FANS IN THE LOBBY ITS TO HOT TO ENJOY A MEAL FOR 100,00 US THEY COULD FIX THIS PROBLEM anyway if you stay here be sure to bring your blanket from home or go get you a couple little philipina cuties to keep you warm and maybe a eggcrate sponge for the bed to make it softer haha other than that i like the area was easy to find the girls in small discos and would take taxies to the mango area for more fun than i could handle .BTW I DIDNT SEE ONE BUG/ROACH IN MY ROOM AND I STAYED THERE 3 WEEKS AND HOUSEKEEPING WAS GOOD Anyway i will stay here again UNLESS THEY GO UP OVER 20,00 NIGHT THEN I WILL GO SOMEWHERE ELSE

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usaman4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    9
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
10
12
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin NT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

First time I ever stayed here will be the last time, the rooms are old and it smells of mould.
The carpets need to be vacuumed and they need pest control to kill the dust mites and rodents that lurk around.
During the day you will see the usual sights of Colon Street, people everywhere and many beggars, kids, adults single mothers you name it.
At night the streets come alive with young girls that strip half naked and walk outside near the hotel offering the service of extreme pleasure. Not sure if non elastic underwear turns anyone on.
Beggars that sleep on cardboard and kids that sniff glue.
I wouldn't take kids here or even your foreign partner as you will end up being exhausted from the smell itchy blankets and carpets.
The staff don't care as they seem like well whatever you like ma am.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mestiza_inday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

Cebu City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I checked in to this "hotel" four times (the first was a year ago, the next three was within January-March this year), each time choosing double accommodation. The price was cheap (P997) but is higher compared to GV Tower Hotel's (P875, I think) and lower than Cebu Business Hotel's (P1000-P1100).

There's free wifi access in the lobby and in the rooms I got, and I think those rooms located near elevators have the strongest signals. (GV Tower Hotel has wifi only in the lobby; Cebu Business Hotel requires you to buy prepaid cards.)

The cable TV has more channels and better reception than the other hotels I've stayed in (GV Tower Hotel and Cebu Business has about ten channels.)

The air conditioner is a bit noisy and smelled funny the first time you turn it on. It does its job well of keeping the room cool, though.

The beds, while soft, are old; the pillows small.

There's wooden furniture in the room: a small round table and two, three chairs.

There's a large closet, too, but I find them either dirty or unpainted or both. The last time I checked in (this month), I couldn't find any clotheshanger so I just used the chairs to hang my clothes on. I know I could've asked for those by calling the front desk but I didn't want to bother the bellhops who, while accommodating, were old (around 50 years old).

The restroom was problematic at best. One of the rooms I got had hot/cold shower but in the last three times that I checked in, only cold water came out. Drainage was a problem, too.

On the plus side, the hotel allowed early check-in at 4am. Other hotels have this at later times, usually 6am (Cebu Business Hotel, for example).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borjstalker X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed here in 2011. In 2012, I stayed at the Cebu Business Hotel and wrote a review.

While walking by the hotel in 2012, I noticed that some part of the lobby had been renovated. Although I didn't go in, if this hotel gets a well-deserved renovation, it will be a nice hotel.

My room was LARGE ... in fact, it was at least 2 times the size of my CBH room. And that alone would make me reconsider staying at the Mercedes.

The mattress was old and lumpy, pillows were beat to death in another century.

The staff was friendly, and provided me with a LOWER rate than I had agreed to via email. That was a unique touch that I never forgot.

The location is very close to the corner of Osmena and Colon. There are a few internet shops, small sari-sari (convenience) stores, and a few other things nearby.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I was at the Mercedes Hotel several years ago as I stopped to see a friend. It had old furniture and the beds were saggy and bad for a traveler's back. Oddly enough the showers were generally okay. But, when I came back in that evening, I was surprised that probably one of the the cleaning crew (it was a male crew) had used my nice, clean, high-tech razor. I could tell as it had not been cleaned very well and the hair was dark and thick in the razor. At night, if you wanted to go to bed before 1:00 a.m., it was rough to get to sleep as an in-hotel band played on and on. The only thing that I can say discreetly was that I was able to get a pretty good massage at the time, although I had to convince the (female) masseuse that I really DID ONLY want a massage and nothing special. But, the massage helped me get to sleep. The hotel is by the Carbon Market, which when I first saw it at night at 10:00 p.m., I thought it was the entrance to Hell, it was so depressing a place. The hotel beakfast was so-so with nothing special in my mind, although I ate the ham and eggs and toast, since I was thin and hungry. The staff was generally polite to me and called me "Boss", something which I don' necessarily like, but I will take that call compareed to a lot of other names. There were people who did refer to me as "Sir", to be sure. I think that there are better places to stay in Cebu City, but if you are on a low budget, you might have to think about staying there. Again, it near some of the dicey and rough spots in Cebu, so expect to see a part of human nature that is at its worst.

Room Tip: Always insist that there has to be a better supierior room than deluxe, which is just two single bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mildmanneredman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAYLAND
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Staff was friendly. Good restaurant. Internet available. Beds were large and seemed worn out but were comfortable nonetheless. Nearby nightclub and barking dog could get annoying. Good room service. At $20 a night for a big room it was a nice place. Friendly staff really made the stay comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomaspaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

If you like to rough it on a scale of camping and want cheap then stay here.
Lots of bugs in the rooms, little unknown guys, misquitos and cockroaches dwell here.

I had a delux room for 1 night. The bed sheets were ancient with many holes. The bed was substandard, the room was delipated with crusty stuff on the shower and sink.
The TV did not work. Rundown airconditioning and non at all in the lobby.
No internet.
The night clerk wanted many many pesos to bring a quest in past 9pm.

One day roughing it here was plenty for me.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alohaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 mi away
GV Tower Hotel
GV Tower Hotel
#57 of 87 in Cebu City
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#24 of 87 in Cebu City
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#31 of 87 in Cebu City
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia
0.6 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#70 of 87 in Cebu City
300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Mercedes

Property: Hotel de Mercedes
Address: 7 Pelaez St, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Mercedes is a favourite for local tourists and those travelling on business as the establishment is proximate to the South Bus Terminal and Piers. Nestled in a great location of Old Cebu, you are immersed in a Cebuano cultural experience. This is the choice for travellers who like to explore on foot to markets, local shops, cafes, historic sites and churches. It is rather easy to hail a cab. Plus, we have Grab Taxi services at our lobby. The look and feel of the hotel is nostalgic with wood interiors and the sound of typewriters! We have a great staff that has been with us for over 15 years! You will feel right at home. Feel welcome to ask for any tips from our bellhop and reception. Experience budget hotel rates for the smart traveller with boutique hotel service from our amazing staff. You can get rooms below Php 1000.00! Our Superior Rooms and Suites have free breakfast packages that can be served in the comfort of your room. Hands down the best deal in town! Please view our FB Page! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel de Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Mercedes Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing