We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Carmen
Ranked #60 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

Nice newer hotel builded in 2006, friendly staff and a very nice manager, I was really pleased beeing there.
I will stay there again next time Im in Cebu, it was a nice stay with a central but quiet location a little away from the mainroads.
Only thing i missed there was a option to pay with CreditCart, instead i had to walk 200 meter to an ATM to withdraw cash, that didnt make me feel safe when walking solely around in central Fuente with cash in my pocket.
Get a creditcard mashine, thank you.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dane43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
6
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

my family and i saw the website and the reviews. at first we wondered why there were no pictures of the actual room on the site but let it slide. BIG MISTAKE. upon our arrival, we were puzzled as to why the cab driver stopped. then, we saw that hotel carmen was not actually along the street, it was in a narrow alley-way (eskinita) with a cheap sign painted on the cement wall leading you there.

the room was so small. it's about the size of my bathroom back home, or 1/3 the size of your average classroom. AND THIS WAS THE FAMILY ROOM! mom and dad shared the "double" bed and i was on the "twin" bed but they were practically the same size. space between the beds was like 10 inches apart and you cant really walk around the room without bumping into each other. it's so annoying that they publish it as a family room when it looks like they just stuffed as much furinture as they can (two beds, one closet which was right beside a desk and on top of the desk was the tv which was beside the door. across this cramped mess were the beds, which had a weird smell and made us unable to rest properly. can u picture how small it is?

btw, beside the closet is the wall.on the wall is a very tiny aircon but it was cold so thts ok. but below the aircon on the wall is a tiny door that says "fire escape". totally freaked me out and made me feel like tiny dwarves were gonna come in at the middle of the night. i mean shouldnt the fire escape be outside the rooms? this is like creating an alternate entrance to the room, compromising the safety of the guests.

the bathroom- shower looked ok, the blue tiles were the saving factor. however the toilet seat was yellow and cracked. i dont understand why the people reviewed it as "new" when it looked rotting and old.

the pictures on their site are definitely deceptive. i suggest asking them to email you actual pics of the rooms u wanna book if u plan to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonders_never_cease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Le Carmen for 7 nights from March 4th to March 11th for a friend's wedding. I really liked the location. It was within walking distance to great restaurants, grocery stores, and Robinson mall which has tons of cute stores and restaurants also. There are also tons of taxis right outside the hotel if you want to travel farther away. Our room was very clean, had hot water and was air conditioned. It was crazy hot outside!! So it was nice to come back to an air conditioned room. There's a little convenience store in the front of the hotel where I was able to buy water and snacks after a long day out and about. My husband superly liked the free wi-fi internet connection and he especially liked the room price because he's so frugal. I was scared because it only costs 25 dollars per night so I was thinking what the heck kind of place are we gonna stay in that's only 25 dollars a night? I mean I was thinking it would be yucky, but it wasn't at all. We stayed in a room with a King Sized Bed and it had a HUGE bathroom. I loved the decor. It had a picture of Marilyn Monroe in the room and was decorated in a modern style. The staff speaks very good English and were very friendly and helpful to me and my husband. We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Cebu.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SnowfairyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiwan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

The booking ahead is useless. They cancel your booking eventhough you double check with them 3 days before you arrive. If you really want to stay in hotel Le Carmen... prepare some near by hotel lists.

We booked 3/11 & 3/14 each night for two budge rooms. They cancel my booking for the dealy check in on 3/11, we 4 people stay in the family room which they only left. The bed is too small for two person. When we check out on 3/12, I had double checked with reception of my two budget room on 3/14, the reception answered me there is no problem. When we back to this hotel on 3/14, the reception told me" there is no available rooms for you" without any apology. They ask us to take one family room and one budget room or 4 people stay in the family room again..... This is soooooo bad.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sular918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai China / USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

I stopped in 5 other hotel/hostels in this area, compared prices and locations. This one seemed to be the best choice. I read the other reviews and they are pretty well on line with what you get. Room was clean and bathroom was sanitary w/hot water. Staff was helpful with any questions given. I really liked the location.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mattchu5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siargao
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2008

On our first day of arrival, we were checked in at 7 Am and asked for a deposit and was told to come back before noon as our room is still occupied. At 9 am I called if our room is ready, (its not) she just promised to text me as soon as its vacated. Me and my husband both lugging our heavy laptop and two energetic kids we went back in the hotel at 1:30 pm even if she still havent texted me back. Then we have to wait at the lobby for 30 more minutes (its almost 2 pm) as they just started cleaning our room. Our room is deluxe with balcony 1350 php + 150 per night for a small ref we requested. For a family of four, the receptionist suggested we get this room instead as it would be more spacious than family room. I dont know how it got more comfortable with just two single beds for the 4 of us. The balcony is facing the setting sun and most of the time the thick curtain is just closed or else we get sunburnt. Cabinet door hinge is broken, insignificant but annoying for me who always tidy things up. Tiny warm blanket for a blasting good brand aircon. Well. fit for our tiny beds anyway. Getting inside the hotel entrance is an adventure too, dodging parked cars being washed, you gotta be ready to hang on to something should you slip on the inclined wet driveway. I had to admit I really hate the driveway and its the only entrance/exit to the hotel. Guys always lined up sitting/chatting and sometimes could overhear side remarks. On the 3 days we stayed, we never had any housekeeping who came or ask if we want the room cleaned. With two kids and mc donalds or pizza delivery every meal, the trash is piling up as fast as Im leaving it outside our door, so on the 3rd day early morning I scheduled for a clean up at 12 noon, I was answered with a cheery "no problem maam". At 12:45 I did a follow up and was answered by a disbelieving chuckling voice "its still lunch time maam". I now realized why we were only allowed in our room at 2 pm in our first day before. On the good side, nice big bathroom and fast wifi connection.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank kurt_siargao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2008

New hotel. Very comfortable. Great location. Close to a major supermarket, shops, restaurants, money changer, etc, etc. Had a very convenient small shop/store in front of the hotel where one coule buy food, drinks, mobile phone load, etc, etc. Hotel staff were great. Very safe and secure with night security guard always on duty.

  • Liked — Great location, helpful staff
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravalMumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.0 mi away
NS Royal Pensione
NS Royal Pensione
#67 of 87 in Cebu City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#55 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#41 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Holiday Plaza Hotel
Holiday Plaza Hotel
#48 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summit Circle Cebu
Summit Circle Cebu
#23 of 87 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Carmen

Property: Hotel Le Carmen
Address: 21 Juana Osmena Street, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean inspired tropical oasis awaits you. Wrought iron balconies to take in city views in the upscale neighborhood of Fuente Circle in Cebu City, Philippines. Restaurants, malls, and Internet cafes are within walking distance. All rooms are air-conditioned, with hot and cold shower, color television with cable, telephone, and complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Le Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Carmen Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing