We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Be Resorts - Mactan
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel/resort was alright. The security was good and the pool was nice. The food was nothing special. Overall, I think I would stay elsewhere if I had the choice. My wife and I went with her godmother and three sons. We booked here because the photos looked very clean and modern. It had a very modern feel but everything was overpriced compared to being in the Philippines. The spa and water activities were too expensive so we ended up going out of the resort for these services. It was cheaper to pay for shuttle service and get a nice deal out of the resort.

We had a crack on our wall. The line in the bathroom to hang dry wet clothes was broken.

We did ask to stay late for checkout because our flight back to Seoul was not until very late. The front desk called us a taxi and the taxi tried to rip us off majorly. But I had to negotiate a smaller fare, which was still more than the actual rate to get to the airport from Be Resort.

Oh and do not buy fruit from the street vendors. They rip you off. If you can, go to the supermarket and buy fruit or snacks to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seoultraveler173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    166
    131
    51
    42
See reviews for
100
113
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is place is right on the sea in Mactan, with a very cute little man-made beach and a swell view of Olango island. You shell out the pesos for location and the illusion of quasi-luxury, but beware. When I went there, there was no wifi connection for three days, and that seemed to be a true [--]: Situation Normal, All [--]-Up. In addition, the halls and rooms are pretty much like a huge dormitory converted into a phony 4-star. The beds are hard as rock, with a sheet wrapped around them. The amenities are super-sparse. The food and drink prices are exorbitant. One is left with the unmistakeable impression that the owner or owners are doing everything conceivable to gain the maximum profit at the lowest-possible investment.
The breakfast buffet is a disaster area. Understaffed. Food on the floor and the counters. A leaking air conditioner over the salad bar. Drip drip drip into your soggy lettuce. Yuk. I have rarely felt like such a fool for having decided to spend more than I usually can afford, thinking I was going to have a special experience. Well, it was especially bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith22jukjuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lapu Lapu hotels

Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We just spent our weekend in Be Resort because my husband joined the Ironman. Visually, the hotel looked impeccable, lobby looked really good because they had furnitures made by renowned designer Kenneth Cobonpue, the swimming pool was nice (though the water was really cold). But these did not compensate for the other (more important) details.

1. Our room was adequate in size and the mattress and pillows were soft but the bathroom was bad. The knobs were broken so it was difficult to let the hot water out plus the water that came out from the shower head was uneven. You have to find a spot where the water was coming out strong.

2. The food was just terrible. It was overpriced for the taste and quality that they offer. We paid Php 1,500 for lunch just for kare-kare, lomi and pancit sotanghon. They had a buffet dinner which costs Php 550 per head which was just awful. We came to eat at around just 8:30 in the evening and there was no more food! The chaffing dishes were empty, the soup cauldron was empty and they kept saying that refills are coming but there was nothing. They refilled one dish which was the beef something but it looked like they only put about 3 ladles of refill.

Overall I would say this hotel was just really bad. If not for the hospitality of the staff, greeting you anytime and anywhere they see you, it would have been just a disaster.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdelosreyes0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Many good things happened to us for 3 days and 2 nights stay. From airport pick-up, upgraded to superior room with beach view, free food for other guest(2pax), free massage for 2, free shuttle for the venue of ironman and free transport going to airport are some of their support to our family during our stay on this hotel.
Room 425 have some defects like lock inside the room and toilet bowl is leaking. Need to conserve water to cut cost .
Staff are very accommodating. Kudos to all of you. You made us proud. See you again in the future ironman.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The resort is aesthetically pleasing, with Cobonpue designs filling up the lobby and the beachfront. However, it all ends there.

The room we were given had a view of the street, so I cannot say much about the view. The room itself gave you bare minimums, no added frills for a rate of about $120/night. No coffee/tea, TV was blurry, etc.

Food was poor. Breakfast fare was quite generous but taste was blah. Same for the food we ordered for dinner. Almost $25 for pizza and pasta but both had absolutely no taste. What a shame.

We weren't able to swim in the beach as the "sand" was actually made up of big pebbles and would hurt your feet if you walk barefoot. It looked nice, actually; however, it was not an enjoyable experience to stay in the beachfront area. At all.

Game room (Be Active) was actually CLOSED! And to think we picked the hotel for this. There was no advice whatsoever about this room area being closed.

All in all, it wasn't a pleasant experience for us. If at all, redeeming factor for this hotel would be the staff who were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with beachfront view. We were stuck with a room fronting the street and it wasn't r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandnshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MactanBeresorts, General Manager at Be Resorts - Mactan, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear sandnshore,

It unfortunate to hear that your stay was not to your expectation. I have personally noted down your comments and rest assured , we shall work it out so that your next stay with us it more memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our resort.

BEst,


Garry A. Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Went last July 19 for a day tour.It's just 750Php so it's affordable compared to other resorts in Mactan. it was near the airport so we didn't have a hard time going there. I'd like to give this resort a two thumbs up,because the design is so modern, fresh and totally world class, the staff are all courteous and very accomodating, the food is delicious and most of all, the Wifi is so fast. :) Will definitely come back here.

here's a link to my blog about BE Resort for photos and details about my trip

http://froxyxoxo.blogspot.com/2013/07/day-tour-at-be-resorts-mactan.html

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraulein R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MactanBeresorts, General Manager at Be Resorts - Mactan, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Fraulein R,

It was our pleasure to have welcome you to our resorts. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your day trip with us.

We hope you can comeback and spend longer time with us.


Cordially,

Garry A. Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed for a day tour to enjoy the beach and beauty of Cebu but nevertheless, did not do justice for that ample time, its a time truly WASTED.

The day tour is for 750/php from 8am to 5pm. Since we already checked in at the other hotel near Banilad, we went to Mactan just for its white sand and great beach but to our surprise the place is full of Koreans roaming around.

Their food at the restaurant was so-so, we ordered beef bulgogi and chicken teriyaki which was included at the day tour package, after which we ordered a dessert and an appetizer namely; Mango crepe and Tacos with guacamole. The price of the food was okay for 145php and 180php respectively but to my surprise the food we ordered has its 'LUXURY TAX' included and a humungous 'SERVICE CHARGE RATE'. Utensils were stained, not thoroughly washed nor cleaned.

The ambiance of the resort was not so spectacular as what you can see thru its pictures and reviews. The design itself was an average one. Its like a plain white building with a bunch of Koreans roaming around.

The facilities were disgusting. The comfort room was stinky and grimy. Floor tiles was filthy. The pool has its 'canal' like drainage at the bottom were the dirt forgo from the pool above. It was smelly and ridiculous for putting it at the center of the resort as well.

The man made beach / sand is not sand at all. It is white pebbles that's so 'fake-looking'. Terrible of your feet, make sure you wear your slippers all the time. Beach was so frustrating. No one dares to swim at the beach front, You know why? The beach is full of trash, molds, weeds and filthy materials of all kinds were present on the water.

On top of it, the front desk officer didn't even bother to aware the guest that there will be a 'wedding' at the same time you were checked in. And they used all the space enough to block the view of the sea.

Will never go back. Wasted time and money.

Room Tip: Don't waste your time and money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCamelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MactanBeresorts, General Manager at Be Resorts - Mactan, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear TheCamelot,

Thank you for your feedback . We appreciate it , unfortunate to hear that your Day visit was not to your expectation.

Please let me highlight some of the points you mention .

We do not charge "Luxury Tax" but we are simply complying with the government mandate Expanded Value Added Tax and local Taxes.

We only have a 5% Service Charge which is considerably less than the 10% Service Charge of other similar properties.

Our property enjoys a very good international guest following .

Our beach is cleaned regularly by the local community employed by the Resort. Our beach is our enjoyed by both of our local and international hotel guest who enjoy snorkeling and other water sports. Infact I personally do my swim workouts on our beach and take a point of check it regularly .

Sea grass you see is endemic to the area and this is where the local marine take shelter and get their sustenance. We protect the local environment where we are and against the removal of local marine fauna and flora.

Some of the pictures you took unfortunately are outside our property clearly seen from the rope line in the picture and not reflective of the resort .The rocky areas shown is not within the resort property.

The picture that you took is that of our catch basin. It collects the water coming coming from the pool and cascades it down ,Which give an effect of a waterfall , this chlorinated water and tested daily.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best,

Garry A. Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.5 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
2.3 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Resorts - Mactan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Resorts - Mactan

Property: Be Resorts - Mactan
Address: Punta Engano Road | Mactan, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Be Resorts - Mactan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in our Cebu hotel's stylish accommodations while you simply recharge and get away from it all. Find yourself in a higher state of bliss as you experience Be Resorts Mactan's award-winning and contemporary interior design. Beyond the comfort and elegance of Be Resorts rooms is an extensive list of amenities that make your experience at Be Resorts Mactan a memorable and pleasurable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotelopia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Resorts - Mactan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Resorts - Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Microtel Hotel Lapu
Microtel Hotel Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing