We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Overnight Escape that's only a hop and a skip away from Manila”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abaca Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Our long-overdue romantic getaway to Abaca finally pushed through in late 2011. We only had time for an overnight stay and were very upset to find out that our 3:00 pm flight was delayed to 6:00 pm. That left us less than 24 hours to enjoy Abaca. We imagined having cocktails while watching the sunset from a cabana and ended up eating fast food in a box while watching the sunset in the airport. Sigh.

After venting my frustations to Analyn (reservations staff) and relaying the flight schedule changes, she told me not to worry and assured me that they will take care of us when we arrive – and they definitely did!

Edwin, the head butler, whisked us from the airport to the resort in no time at all. Glenn, the resort manager, was there to welcome us as soon as we stepped out of the hotel's car. Understanding how upset we were about the delay (which was not their fault at all), Glenn surprised us with an upgrade from the Garden View Villa to the Seaview Pool Villa. Seeing that beautiful villa was a great way to "reset" our trip and enjoy the rest of our stay – private pool, iMac, wifi, daybeds, spacious bathroom, thick and fluffy towels…

The much-touted Abaca Restaurant lived up to the hype. We had three lovely meals during our short stay and everything we ate was good. The pizzas are a must-try. We loved their breakfast which included the skillet omelette we can't wait to eat again! Breakfast, by the way, was a la carte and served while we were lounging in one of their spacious cabanas beside the infinity pool.

One of the questions they ask in their comment form was - how well have they anticipated your needs. Arron, the butler who took care of us when we were by the pool, is the answer to that question. Before you can say "more iced water please," our glasses were constantly filled up or replaced. They had “chick lit” waiting for me in our cabana. Staff is always present around the pool in case you need towels, drinks, food, whatever. They also call you by your name, not just by a generic Ma'am or Sir. They’re there, but not obtrusive – which is the way it should be.

Abaca is quite pricey but it’s worth every penny. This is our new weekend hideaway, a perfect place to recharge tired minds and souls. An hour’s flight from Manila, 15 minutes from the Mactan Airport , good food, peaceful surrounding, cabanas overlooking the sea, service par excellence - I don’t think I can ask for more.

P.S.
If you want a nice beach, you should choose another part of Cebu ☺

Room Tip: For privacy, get a villa. For nice view of the sea, get the upper floor rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank a2tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
There are newer reviews for Abaca Boutique Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

It is hard to avoid repeating what others have already said, but this place is pure magic. The people are so awesome and we felt like royalty when we stayed there. Down to the last detail, this resort is the ultimate splurge. It is expensive, but well worth the money if you have a special vacation planned. In addition to what others have said, our experience included a free upgrade of rooms on our last night, two guys to go shopping with us locally to make sure we got good prices for our purchases (even bought a handmade guitar, which I couldn't have done without them to help). And they wanted to hold our bags. Very nice! At the resort, everyone knew our names each day, housekeeping hung up our wet clothes on hangers, they brought us any special requests, etc. It is hard to include everything that they provided and did for us, but it was truly amazing. The manager even arranged for me to purchase some of the straw items they use at the resort--beach bags, paper holders, water bottle holders. The butlers brought dry towels to us on the pier as we returned from a boating trip. Every detail was thought out and provided for, whether it was the service, the food, the drink, the room, amenities, etc. It was amazing, truly. You must go to this resort and spend the money; we wish we could go back.

Room Tip: The ground level pool view room is very spacious and convenient. The large villa was also excellent...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Traveling3Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here over Christmas, I was slightly apprehensive as we were traveling with a two year old and this did look like quite a 'grown up' resort, but reviews said the staff were great with kids so I figured we'd give it a go. It's quite central and as you turn off a busy street into the resort you start to wonder if you're in the right place, but once the gates close, staff whisk you and your bags off, you're greeted by a sophisticated and stylish little hideaway. The hotel has managed to take all the good parts of staying in a big 5 star resort (the great sheets, amazing service, good food, lovely rooms, great rainshowers, etc) and replicate it on a smaller, more intimate scale. For boutique hotel lovers, this place is a must.

Our two year old was treated like a princess for 5 days, everyone knew her name, the chef prepared pretty much anything we requested for her meals (for free too!). Pool toys were produced and on Christmas eve while we were having dinner they decorated our room with fairy lights and left a stocking for her! Our room was close enough to the restaurant for the monitor to work so we would put her to bed and have a long, relaxed dinner.

I wouldn't say this hotel is a place that families with kids should flock to as it is essentially a 'grown up' hotel, but certainly for reasonably well behaved children it's a brilliant spot for parents to relax. I think they are pretty good about trying to group families so that there are certain periods were it is mainly adults and other periods where it's more families.

A very relaxing Christmas, I would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrsB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Instead of just echoing the other awesome reviews, let me just add 1 experience that truly shows the level of dedication the staff gives to service

My girlfriend and I wanted to experience the famous cebu lechon for lunch so we asked the staff where the nearest resto was. They said it was about a 10 minute drive away, and sensing that we didn't really want to leave the resort, they offered to purchase the lechon for us. Happily we agreed and we just lounged in cabanas while waiting for our food. When it arrived, the lechon was served using the hotel plates and utensils, while the sauce was placed in a side bowl. To keep the lechon warm, they even seared the lechon prior to serving. Fantastic!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tdh1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed at this property in what you would term as "peak season" and as all the other reviews stated, everything was seamless. We were a big group (9 pax) with ages ranging from 22 - 78 requiring 4 rooms and after the trip, everyone said they had a really great and relaxing time! It is what a vacation should be, no stress, no worries, good food and superb accommodations.

There are only 9 rooms and 3 villas on this property and we took 2 penthouse suites and 2 poolside suites. The penthouses was roomier and offered fantastic views of the bay and adjacent island. Only downside if you can call it that, is you have to take a flight of stairs which we didn't mind since we needed all the exercise after each meal! Whereas the poolside suites offered the convinience of just walking out to the pool and cabanas to take in the sun.

At the end of the day, what seperates truly outstanding resorts from "great properties" are the staff. Not only have they been trained to anticipate every guest's needs but also work behind the scene to make sure everything is stress free and perfect for the guest.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

As a celebration, my wife and I splurged on a weekend away at Abaca in Cebu (Mactan Island). Sandwiched a bit unglamoriously between to looming beachfront resorts, Abaca nonetheless provides an impeccable setting, fantastic service, great food and an easy location.

We left metro manila at 10 and by noon were checked in and sitting in a cabana. The check-in was personal, the pick up from the airport flawless and the attention to detail simply amazing. Once at the resort we sat by the pool, ate delicious food and simply relaxed. The hotel was accommodating to some quirky demands without making us feel uncomfortable (e.g. allowing me to enter the accounting office to print confidential work documents).

At one point we mentioned offhand our desire to see furniture dealers in the city... the staff compiled a tailored list with recommendations and provided a car. It was indicative to making our stay seamless.

The rooms are well appointed, spacious and spotlessly clean.

The food...well, simply read the reviews, this is one of the best restaurants in the city. Don't be afraid to order off menu...they of course accommodate.

The resort does offer the typical water sports (island hopping, diving, jet skies) but they are pricey and more of a service. This is not a place to go for an active vacation nor with young children. Note, while on the water, it was not beach or swim friendly. But that’s not why we traveled to Abaca so it was perfect for us.

We have traveled fairly extensively in the South East Asia and this is one of if not our top escape...for pampering and relaxation, this is the place. The pictures don’t do this place justice, a rarity I’ve found.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank USExpatsInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend at this fabulous boutique hotel - we travelled from hong kong (perfect distance and flight timings for a weekend break).
Abaca hotel not only meets but exceeds expectations - a boutique hotel that has got it completely right. The entire trip, from the moment we arrived at the airport, was fantastic and this is mainly down to the staff who are professional, personable and efficient - they just know what their customer wants. So many top hotels in Asia have the best ingredients but are let down by the staff - Abaca, I thought was in a league of its own when it comes to customer service and I think this is down to good training and good management - the general manager - Glenn was always around and very present. Aside from the staff, the food was excellent - not over fussy or ambitious - just right, the pizza's are amazing - they even packed one up for us to take on the plane. The rooms are lovely and nearly all have sea views. The pool and cabanas are great and whilst it is missing a stretch of sand, we were informed that there will be a 'beach' added in June.
People had told us that the resort was not suitable for children - however it was clear that children would be welcome - there is a great little play room, babysitters and toys for the pool and highchairs.
We will definitely be returning to Abaca next year...

Room Tip: if you have a baby / small child you might want to select a pool villa.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LondonFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.4 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
7.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,331 reviews
2.2 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abaca Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaca Boutique Resort

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £250 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaca Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abaca, one of the most exclusive boutique resorts is located in the beautiful central Philippines on Mactan Island. Abaca is a tropical hideaway that offers the tranquility of very private deluxe suites set in a lush tropical oceanfront retreat. In addition to the spacious suites and villas, guests enjoy full luxury spa and restaurant experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abaca Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaca Boutique Hotel Lapu Lapu
Abaca Boutique Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing