We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abaca Boutique Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$295
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goldberry Suites & Hotel(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eloisa Royal Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haruhay Dream Resort(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$36
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
382
45
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
45
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler servicehead butlerprivate boatinfinity poolpoolside suitelovely boutiqueoceanfront spapersonal butlercold towelsromantic dinnerour honeymoonisland hoppingcebu citythe penthouseairport pickuprelaxing vacationvisit cebu
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We came here on our babymoon over Easter, and have loved every moment of our stay. Most notable is the service. It's hard to imagine service to be so personalised and constant while at the same time totally unobtrusive and discreet. The staff do an amazing job of treating each guest like royalty while respecting the need for personal space on what is, for many, a relaxing retreat away from the hustle of the city.
Coming from Manila, where service is done so absolutely abbysmally, Abaca is a godsend.

The resort itself is small, which adds to its intimacy. This was not a downside for us, as we are doing very little movement. Everything - the pool, restaurant & our room is within 30 meters, which is perfect. The small size of the hotel also means that there aren't throngs of holiday makers competing for space by the pool, or seats at dinnertime. It also means that there is very little noise at any time of the day or night, again adding to the relaxing atmosphere of the resort.

Our room - a base room - is beautiful. Smooth whites and dark wood with lots of local carvings, shells, etc, make for an incredibly calming night's sleep.
The restaurant is similarly amazing - open to the air but never to hot nor too breezy. And the food... Wow!!!

We are already considering when our next stay here will be, and we haven't yet left.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This resort is small with only 9 villas but it was one of the best vacations I have ever had. Service was impeccable. They knew I had a baby with me and when they picked us up from the airport, they had a car seat in the van. Our room was personally equipped with a crib, sterilizer, baby videos and other baby stuff. The food in the restaurant is good and kids' meals are all complimentary. You can eat wherever you want in the resort - in your room, in the cabanas, in your front porch- and all have wonderful ambience and they do not charge extra for in-room dining. The staff addressed us by our names and the butler service was so efficient. they even ironed clothes for us for free! This place is amazing and you get your money's worth. I could never run out of good things to say about Abaca. I only wish they had a beach. If they did, it's perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Went to Cebu with my husband for my birthday weekend. He booked us at Abaca for my birthday, and it was a great choice. We loved the personalized service - staff addressed us by our first names and staff made sure we were having a great time during our stay. The room was so nice and spacious, with a lounge bed on the balcony where i spent my time reading a book, with a view of the infinity pool and the ocean. If i would pick my favorite areas in this resort - i'd choose the balcony lounge bed and the poolside cabanas.

Husband arranged for a candle light birthday dinner by the poolside cabana, and the setup was lovely. Food was also good, with ample servings. we weren't able to finish our dessert as we were so full already. They also gave us a complimentary bottle of bubbly to celebrate the occasion, this aside from the free mojitos we had sent to our room before bed time.

Towels are by Laura Ashley, and i loved them because they're soft and fluffy. Their bath amenities also smell good. Too bad we couldn't take them home, LOL. I only wish they also have a fluffy bathrobe in the bathroom.

There's a free car service to/from airport and within Mactan (well, up to Lapulapu shrine), with cold towel and water to refresh with after the flight. We also booked their transpo service (for a fee) to take us to the city center after we checked out. Their cars/vans are comfy and clean, with a nice blast of AC to counter the heat outside.

Breakfast was also another plus. We had our breakfast served at our room's balcony, and the staff made sure we had what we need and more. Not much selection, but they were of good quality. They taste so good that we even ordered second servings. another favorite was their fresh watermelon juice - so yummy and refreshing.

Too bad we only stayed for one night, as we already prebooked another hotel in the city center for our second night. But we're definitely going back to Abaca soon, especially when we're up for a relaxing weekend in Cebu. From the airport to the resort, during the stay and up to checkout time - guests are really cared for.

This is now my favorite resort in Mactan.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RezC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My husband and I have just spent 9 days at this magnificent boutique hotel. We cannot speak highly enough of the services we received, the friendliness and competence of each and every member of staff.

We made a point of trying as many things as we could on the menu, and its fair to say that everything we had was delicious, with extremely generous portion sizes. As I am not a big drinker I would have the complimentary night cap with my meal. Each of these were delightful and they even give you non alcoholic alternatives. The cakes in the room every evening were a nice touch also.

We didn't have lunch very often as we were usually too full from our delicious breakfast. However when we did order lunch we shared a dish and the ones we tried were excellent.

My husband took the kayak out every day and thoroughly enjoyed this. We booked a day trip island hopping on our own private boat organised by the hotel which was an unforgettable experience, including lunch , snorkelling and drinks. We also visited Bohol to see the chocolate hills, river cruise and tarsier sanctuary. It was a long day trip but well worth it. The staff again organised this and packed us a lunch in anticipation of us not enjoying the food on the cruise.

Whilst there are other hotels in close proximity that are not up to the standard of abaca they in no way tarnished our experience.

The spa is also lovely and the massage I had was one of the best ever.

We experienced 3 rooms , the oceanfront suite on the first floor my husband loved, it had a huge bathroom and private balcony. The poolside suite is where we stayed for most of our trip was on the ground floor . I liked this room as it was spacious and easy access from the pool. The final room was the spa villa which was stunning. The room was huge, the view was amazing , we would stay in this room again!

Although there is much more of the phillipines that we would want to see, we will incorporate this hotel into any plans we make next time we visit .

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 2006Taylors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We have been wanting to check in this place for a long time and finally we got our chance, we were offered a higher room since the room we wanted was already booked, they only have 9 rooms in the resorts, talking about exclusivity! So feb 22 glenn the manger called us saying they cant check us in early since the room was still occupied by 23rd but offered to arrange activites when i told him that im travelling with my 3 year old daughter he offered us kid friendly activities, when we arrived in cebu one of the buttler is already waiting for us and greeted us even ask the name of my daughter :) which is also important As a parent, they asked about my hubby who was flying in a later flight, they also arrange the pick up, when we arried at the resort glenn greeted us which is really nice and knows u by ur name he had as escourted to our cabana poolside to wait for our room it was a piece of heaven and a break from stress offered us drinks took care of our needs so many to mention about the dedication of everyone to serve you, even though the resort is small it a surprise to me they have the best most accomodating staff ever. The butlers are alwYs ready to help and the food! The best! Worth every penny spend! Our flight was pm so we check out 12 noon but glenn the manager surprised us that we will be transfered to another villa to wait for our flight. Talk about exceeeding every expectation for me its the best resort i have been in cebu thumbs up for the excellent commitment to service quality! Rooms are great food is great service is the best whT more can u ask for:) i will be definitely be back here soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keziah_0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews