We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abaca Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I have just recently returned from a three night stay at the Abaca Boutique Resort. We usually stay at the Shangrila when in Cebu but this time, opted for a smaller, more private property and this was a perfect choice! It's like being in your own private resort with the best trained staff looking after your every whim! We arrived early in the morning and were ushered into the cabana by the pool while waiting for our room to be ready. Staff offered us cool refreshing lemonade and even oatmeal for a light breakfast and then let us check in well before the usual time. The included Breakfast everyday was your choice from some very options served anytime and anywhere you desired and the food in Abaca is definitely top notch and not too expensive. Our room was very spacious and well appointed with his and hers wash basins, separate shower and bath and large, fluffy towels. The bed was so comfortable one was tempted to sleep in all day. Loved the infinity pool and the complimentary evening cocktails! That being said, Abaca may not be for everyone especially those looking for more activity but if you just want a relaxing weekend, this is perfect! We did a city tour if Cebu which I didn't really enjoy because the traffic was horrendous; also an island hopping excursion for snorkeling and some beach time; the islands were lovely but the beaches were painful to walk on because of stones and sharp shells. The best draw here is definitely the people who make your stay so pleasurable and anticipate your every need that you wish you didn't have to leave! Thanks to all of them -- chef Pat, GM Glen, Head Butler Raffy, Paul, Angelo, Jane and everyone for a memorable weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbugManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I decided to return to Mactan to celebrate our first anniversary. Since Shangrila was fully booked, we decided to shorten our stay there and transfer to Abaca (instead of changing rooms). It was the best decision ever! Abaca provides fantastic service! We wanted to stay longer! The room that we stayed in is huge! Everything you ever need is there. It's like heaven on earth. Breakfast can be served at your preferred time. There is no time limit. It can also be served in your room if you do not want to go out. The restaurant offers great food. We tried the boneless short ribs and we were just too happy! We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nezzlheiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here with my husband for a long weekend and could easily have stayed longer. This is a fairly small resort but the villas are incredibly roomy and spacious and we had our own private pool and small garden area where they served breakfast if you did not want to walk the few minutes to the dining area. There is a fantastic variety of food and the head chef greets and chats to you daily and if you request any particular dish they are more than happy to accommodate you. Be warned the portions are generous and the roast chicken dish could easily feed 3 people. There isn't much of a beach but a fantastic pool area where you are served a constant stream of drinks and nibbles and feel totally pampered. It is hard to fault this hotel but the biggest praise I would give is to the service, the staff are delightful and their service is outstanding you won't be disappointed with this resort. My only criticism is probably with the lack of Eco friendliness in particular the surrounding islands...they have some good snorkelling but I was dismayed to find shells and coral on sale everywhere......there is a fantastic snorkelling area but most of the coral has been taken.....
I would hate to return to find the sea beds empty!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buona23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Nothing can describe their excellent customer service, from picking us, going to our room, serving our foo d, drinks and even servicing our needs in the pool all the way from dropping us back in the city -- had great time, great food and very comfortable atmosphere -- will definitely go back here again

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Spent a couple of days at Abaca and I must say, we were VERY impressed by the service! The pickup to the hotel was a nice comfortable ride - a very warm welcome. As the gates opened to the resort, we saw a line of staff waiting patiently to greet us. They all knew us by name and we were also surprised to find a nice Honeymoon room set up for us - candles everywhere and a complimentary dessert + bottle of champers. Such a nice thought. I can vouch for all the positive comments about the service - check the definition of "excellent customer service" in a dictionary and Abaca should appear! The butler even gave us his personal mobile number so we can contact him whenever, if needed. They also helped us go to the city to buy an international prepaid card (the resort doesn't support IDD calling from their phones - but no biggie) and they also helped us book ferry tickets to Bohol, our next destination. Even more impressive, is they were glad to warm up some of our food (which we brought in from outside), and served it to us poolside! Not to mention the complimentary fruits, desserts, etc served to you throughout your lazy relaxing sessions in one of their private cabanas poolside. The staff are also fun and friendly, always looking for best photo taking opportunities and they would just do anything for you to make you smile.
The rooms were so stylish and clean - and the complimentary cookie and nuts were such a welcome treat. The beds were soft and so was the lounge chair outside our room. I can't say how many times I've sat on a hard chair but this one was welcoming. I especially liked that the deco was just so Filipino - perfect on a trip to Mactan.
I can't tell you all how amazing this place is - you must try it out for yourself and try to prove me and the other reviewers here wrong! But I think it will be a hard thing to do. LOVE THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: There aren't many rooms as it's quite a private resort. The one we had was on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzymckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Every year I visit Cebu with my wife and 2 daughters. In 2013 I ate at Maya a Mexican resto at Crossroads and the manager told me they also had a resort. I didn't mind it at first but looking for a place to relax for our 2014 visit we decided to try Abaca. We didn't have that much expectations except for the glowing reviews here in Tripadvisor. We were blown away by the level of pampering we got from the pick up at another hotel to Abaca and the wonderful reception and tour given by no less than the manager Glenn upon our arrival. The room was spacious and really nice. They accommodated the 2 day beds for our kids and the extra pillows I requested. Everything smelled nice and the bathroom was something my wife really appreciated, wide and as big as the bedroom. But the thing that made our stay memorable were the dishes that Australian Chef Pat prepared from breakfast to dinner. We cannot find any flaw in any of our dishes. Portions are quite big though but since they were so good we have to forego our diet. We can't wait to go back again and this time with the rest of our family.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bap2_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

It is hard to add further positive comments to the ones already shared in other previous reviews, but this place and its staff really deserve to be awarded! Our stay in Abaca was quite long (7 days) and at the end we really felt like part of the family. Overall comments are:
Rooms: immaculate, specious and homey.
Service & Butlers: even if we experienced some issues during our stay (mostly related to the gym that was under renovation), the whole staff has been actively involved to propose us solutions and alternatives that at the end were suitable for us.
Pool area: clean, private and supervised by a full day butler service at your disposal.
Spa: professionals, high standards (also in the product that they use), privacy granted.
Food: this part is becoming such an important factor in recent days holidays experience and none of our expectation has been turned down. Chef Patrick and his team made every meal a gourmet experience and they didn't disappoint us even when we specifically asked them to cook some Philippine's food out of the menu for us.
At the end, the really disappointing point is that you do not have proper access to the beautiful sea, but the resort can arrange for you a boat trip to the nearest islands to explore the amazing surrounding nature.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlesecret2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,459 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abaca Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaca Boutique Resort

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £252 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaca Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abaca, one of the most exclusive boutique resorts is located in the beautiful central Philippines on Mactan Island. Abaca is a tropical hideaway that offers the tranquility of very private deluxe suites set in a lush tropical oceanfront retreat. In addition to the spacious suites and villas, guests enjoy full luxury spa and restaurant experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Abaca Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaca Boutique Hotel Lapu Lapu
Abaca Boutique Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing