We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abaca Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

Your stay at Abaca starts with a clean/ luxury pick-up and once you enter the large gates at the entrance you are transported into an enclave of lushness, tranquility, unparallelled service and a seamless check-in that seems not to have happened! (Thanks Glenn)

The rooms are large, very clean and Philippine chic; extremely comfortable+++, with views over the pool to the sea.

The food for all meals is superb, excellent size servings of highest quality produce from an imaginative menu. Bouquets to Chef Wade and his staff.

The days are spent lounging: either in the room , on the balcony or in the pool-side cabanas, a perfect place to relax and unwind. Activities are available but why leave your perfect cabana?

The butler service (thanks Arron) is unsurpassed, your every need attended to. The butlers most attentive and never too intrusive.
The novelty of being called Sir christian name and Ma'am christian name never tires.

If you have to visit Cebu/ Mactan Is. you must stay here, the neighbouring resorts though highly rated and cheaper do NOT compare.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lyn-tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    38
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
79
220
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed 5 nights on what was the final Philippine leg of our honeymoon.
I’ve written reviews on all the places we stayed and this was the one I found most difficult so I’ll apologise now if I sound at all like I contradict myself.

If you look at this purely as a hotel and restaurant, and are not worried about leaving the ‘walls’ then i guarantee you will not be disappointed as Abacca really is a beautiful hotel experience.

From the moment you are greeted at the airport the service you’ll receive until check out is nothing short of phenomenal, and while everyone we came in contact with was great I’d really like to say a special thank you to Arron who is one of the politest people i’ve come across, and who made every effort to leave us feeling spoilt rotten.

The rooms are decorated to a really high standard, especially the bathrooms, and the whole feel of abaca is one of luxury, none more so than in the restaurant where chef Wade really does delivery across every dish (he even created a 5 course meal for us that was not on the menu as we said we fancied something different!!).

So you’re probably thinking why the difficultly writing a review..........well simply because the location of Abacca really doesn’t live up to everything else that this place is about.
That is potential my fault for not researching Mactan/Cebu well enough prior to booking, however I took it for granted that there would be a great beach if not at the hotel then very near by, which unfortunately there isn’t (though they do offer a really good snorkelling boat trip).
It’s also smack next to one of the most hideous hotels buildings i’ve seen in a long time (the Hilton – decorated in PINK CONCRETE?!?!)
If i could lift this place up and stick it on a secluded bay somewhere I would probably never want to holiday anywhere else in the world again, however it’s surrounding are simply not in the same league as the property and atmosphere created by the staff.
Don’t get me wrong the local people are really really lovely and Cebu is a nice enough city, but this place deserves to be in a beautiful setting too.

If you are in Cebu then I definitely recommend staying here, though if you’re travelling from the UK like us (or somewhere else thats a long way away), there really is not need to stay longer than a couple of days).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Clappo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
134 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

We stayed at Abaca for 3 nights having travelled to Cebu for a special family wedding. Abaca was a complete haven after staying in the city for the wedding. The service was absolutely outstanding, the staff anticipate your every whim. The room spacious and well appointed. The pool was perfect - with the choice of either being under the shade of a cabana or in the sun on a lounger. I really have nothing to fault this wonderful small hotel. I did have one or 2 (very minor) points which the manager responded to in person which is why this hotel is what it is - managed deftly and hands on. Mention has to be made of the food at the restaurant. Breakfast, lunch and dinner for all 3 days were superb. The seafood in particular was so superbly cooked, the flavours of each dish sublime and quite frankly the food was faultless (trust me that's high praise from someone like me!!). The small gym was well equipt for such a small hotel with a good treadmill to run off those glorious meals. We loved the homemade ciabatta which was noticed by the staff so they gave us a bag of it to take home and freeze - what a lovely touch. Thanks Abaca!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MataiDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

Yes, another rave review for Abaca. Considering its mid-range cost, it beats the big end of town, hands down. It's easily better than what passes for luxury in this part of Asia - Banyan Tree and Shangri-la have nothing on this place.

Friendly helpful staff collect you, show you to your spacious and well appointed villa. I believe they are five years old, but they really don't look it. Huge well appointed bathrooms too.

Whenever you are out of your room it gets refreshed too, and there's no mistrust or nit picking you get in this part of Asia - no forms to get a towel at the pools, for example.

And what a pool... a cool black beauty and plenty of sun lounges and cabanas for everyone.

The Abaca restaurant is great too. We ate their 4 times during our stay and loved it all.

If you were to criticize this resort you would have to dig deep. Something as unimportant as the beautiful taps in the bathrooms actually bump into the gorgeous bathtub or basins.

Oh, and like the rest of this part of the world, the power cuts out during the night so you may need to restart the air con, and of course there's mosquitoes but the staff make sure their are mozzie coils aplenty.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LookingLooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

We decided to book Abaca to celebrate Chinese New Year after reading the reviews on both Trip Advisor and Mr & Mrs Smith.

It was the best decision we have ever made!!

What a truly ‘amazing’, lovely, ‘romantic’ in fact it’s a ‘perfect!!’ hotel.

It’s the BEST hotel we have ever stayed in!!

Let’s start with the staff. Everyone is SO friendly and they all bend obvert backwards to assist you in any way.

The rooms are just perfect. Modern, contemporary, spotless and well maintained. It’s clear someone have given the decor a lot of thought.

Now, let’s talk about the hotel food. I read somewhere on the web that the owner is a chef...............well is comes as no surprise because the food is ‘out of this world!’ From breakfast, to lunch to dinner and all snacks in-between you won’t find better food anywhere in Cebu.............or maybe the whole Philippines!!

The hotel grounds are extremely pretty and again very well maintained.

To be honest I could go on and on about this hotel there are so many positive things to say but I’m going to leave it you to see for yourself.

Just one word of warning, there are only ‘nine’ rooms/suites in this hotel so if you want to stay here you need to book well in advance. We book our February 2011 holiday in September 2010.

If you’re looking for the perfect hotel in the Cebu, stay at the Abaca Boutique Resort. You won’t regret it............I promise!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gmoney71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

I booked this place (as opposed to the Shangri-La) because of the good reviews. We were travelling with a 9 month old and wanted a place to relax. The hotel did not disappoint. In fact I was surprised and I think many hotels can take an example of how this place is managed. We were picked up at the airport, cold towels, water, baby seat in the car. Everybody in the resort knew our names, especially my son's. Once we entered the room (check in was so fast and in the room as there is no reception per se) everything was already prepared, the baby cot, they even provided toys (excersaucer etc.), baby bath tub and high chair for feeding. We had a Poolside Oceanfront with pretty much instant access to the pool which we really enjoyed. When you are lounging at the pool they bring water and home made ice cream for refreshment. We were there for 5 days in total and only left the place once. We were amazed at the yummy food they serve at the restaurant and the breakfasts were amazing, no running around at a buffet, which I find particularly nice with a baby. This resort does not have a beach, but we did not need one. You can swim in clean ocean water right there or kayak over to the Shangri- La if you want beach. The resort has a lot of green so there are mosquitoes around, but they provide repellent and coils. I can recommend the foot massage at their spa. All in all, we really had a really good and relaxed time here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

Staying at Abaca resort is heavenly down to the attentive but unintrusive
service . Butlers just there to serve your every need from swimming
goggles when in the gorgeous infinity pool to cold lemon scented towels, cold drinks .
As there are only 9 huge villas/suites, this place is like having your own private oasis.
The restaurant is stylish/casual with devine food and again the service is faultless.
Guaranteed relaxation and sophistication on a holiday at ABACA.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldCoastHellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.4 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
7.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
2.2 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abaca Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaca Boutique Resort

Property: Abaca Boutique Resort
Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abaca, one of the most exclusive boutique resorts is located in the beautiful central Philippines on Mactan Island. Abaca is a tropical hideaway that offers the tranquility of very private deluxe suites set in a lush tropical oceanfront retreat. In addition to the spacious suites and villas, guests enjoy full luxury spa and restaurant experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Abaca Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaca Boutique Hotel Lapu Lapu
Abaca Boutique Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing