We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We tried and we like it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bellavista Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Bellavista Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Panglao Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We tried and we like it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed on their sister hotel "HC"for a night since we have a flight on the next day and we had the chance to be in this place. There is a little pool in the top, a massage area where we had when we we're on the other place and so we decided to stay in this place for a try when we get back from Boracay since it looks a comfortable place to stay. It meets our expectations! They offers a free buffer breakfast and so we had it on the day when we're checking out and it was good. We left the place with a smile and nod and took taxi to catch the trip going to Tagbilaran City. They also offer a free round trip airport-hotel transfers.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvmyboyfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    38
    49
    17
    5
See reviews for
12
43
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

When we arrived we were given a double room looking straight at a brick wall just outside the window. We were then transferred to a twin room with a better view.Very average room and Hotel. Not a lot of interest by any of the staff. Guests were allowed to smoke in the restaurant and foyer creating very bad smoky conditions.Try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barry1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

The good part: Free airport shuttle service, simple but tasty buffet breakfast of toast, pancakes, bacon, scrambled eggs, hotdogs, meatballs, garlic rice, sliced fruits and mini tarts, affordable room rates.

The bad part: We stayed in room 322 and it was not very clean. There were microscopic roaches (like the size of a grain of rice) on the carpet (about 2), and on the bathroom sink counter (about 6) during our whole stay. We slept with the lights on to scare them away. The towels were clean but a bit yellowish. The bed and furnitures were old and smelled stale. I am not sure if we stayed in a renovated room or an old room. The room did not have a view. We went up the lifts then had to go down a flight of stairs to get to our room. So it felt like it was on an extension part of the hotel. There will be the occasional European/American who will get the entire pot of scrambled eggs thereby letting the other guests wait for the new batches to cook.

We just needed a cheap room to sleep in and it served it's purpose. But we might look for another hotel the next time we're in town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinesemafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

As the other reviews say this is an OK hotel which is reasonably priced. The food in the restaurant is good, but the breakfast buffet is disappointing.

Rooms were surprisingly high standard. [Many of the hotels in Cebu are improving.]

Staff are very pleasant and service is good.

It is in a shabby area and the views are not great. There are some shady places nearby.

I used it for the last night because it is convenient for the airport and there is a shuttle service. Though it is OK as a place to sleep I wouldn't go there for leisure. Not a resort and not in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamesguest2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

I booked online and was hit with the Icelandic Volcano disruptions. Staff responded to my emails as I tried to change my dates and were most helpful. Free airport transfer was welcome and staff overall very good. Rooftop resturant is a good location but service very slow. Breakfast was average. Free WiFi in reception. AirCon average. Emperor rooms are superior and you gain a view. I would use again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BadwellTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

A word of caution- book this hotel direct by the email address I will give you, not by one of the many agents seeking commission (some seemingly based in China). I did try to use one (Asia Rooms?) but found the security on using my credit card to be so tight that I couldn’t complete the transaction (Securecard or some such). The Bellavista email address is like gold to try and find. You can reserve a room for free and they are very polite efficient and friendly with their emails. It’s [--] My gut feeling was not to pay up front to someone in China anyway. (Sorry China)

I stayed at this hotel only one night, so I can’t profess to be an expert. I was met at the airport as is usual at this hotel. This proved to be a longish process as there was no transport waiting but a guy to phone for the transport. Taking a taxi would have been quicker and cost under 100 pesos (currently about £1.30). Once the transport turned up (after 10 minutes or so) it was quick and comfortable. I didn’t use the service to the airport on leaving, I think that would prove to be very useful though.

I know I’m sounding picky picky and that is not my aim, but if the services are there and they are advertised as part of the package I should assess them.

‘Welcome’ drinks on arrival proved not to be a cool beer or daiquiri with an umbrella and trimmings, but rather a glass of water or other soft drink. I did think that was mean and gave a new meaning to the expression ‘complimentary drinks’.

The Bellavista reception staff were friendly and efficient, giving me a great first and last impression of the place. Luggage was at the room promptly on arrival and me and my partner were left to enjoy the room (which we did promptly, ha ha). As others have written the ‘Bella Vista’ from your window is very concretey. However, the air conned room itself was very comfortable and the décor fresh looking. The minibar was well stocked and there was a selection of snacks, though I didn’t see the prices (see photo). As regards the restaurant, dinner was nothing special, but fine , breakfast was buffet style with adequate choice but not really lavish. My overall impression of the hotel was that it is good value for money and a pleasant place to be.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2009

We stayed there for a night on our way to Bohol and a night on our way back to Manila. Clean comfortable rooms with aircon and rotating wall-mounted fans but TINY bathroom and dated decor. Pleasant and helpful staff in reception but this is contrast to staff in restuarant. Buffet breakfast included and was enjoyable but evening meal was served cold (like the staff). We chose this hotel as close to airport and you get free transfers and would say it was okay as a stop-over both ways. Just to note this was the one place where we came across disagreeable taxi drivers who would agree a price for the trip before we got in the taxi (something you should always do!!!) and then they demanded more money at the destination. Worst case scenario was a driver quoting 150 pesos for a ten minute journey then wanting 1000 pesos on arrival at the destination! Not just on this occasion, we stuck to our guns and gave the drivers what had been agreed and no tip, which they might've got had they not been deceitful. Have to say this is not the norm though, most of the taxi drivers were chatty and friendly and offered advice about sightseeing, places to stay etc.

  • Liked — Clean and convenient and proximity to airport/port
  • Disliked — Some of the food, some of staff and views
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lapu Lapu hotels
0.0 mi away
Goldberry Suites & Hotel
Goldberry Suites & Hotel
#10 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
1.4 mi away
Eloisa Royal Suites
Eloisa Royal Suites
#6 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chambre Hotel Mactan
Chambre Hotel Mactan
#11 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
3.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
4.0 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#15 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bellavista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellavista Hotel

Property: The Bellavista Hotel
Address: M. L. Quezon Highway | Pusok, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bellavista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellavista Hotel in Cebu, Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Bellavista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellavista Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing