We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vista Mar Beach Resort & Country Club
Ranked #41 of 53 Lapu Lapu B&B and Inns
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice accommodations”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I stayed at the Vista Mar site on the hotel complex. It is on a man-made beach with two beautiful swimming pools. The environment around the hotel wasn't great, it's in a heavily locked down compound and while nice, the beach was not particularly spectacular. Still, all in all I really enjoyed my stay and felt especially welcomed by staff. The food at both facilities (Vista Mar and adjacent Soto Grande) was very good. They provided shuttle service into town and I must say I came to love Philippine culture.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    16
    19
    14
    15
See reviews for
25
20
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Hotel located something like 15 minutes taxi ride from Cebu airport, which is convinient if you are waiting for your flight. To the Cebu city center you need about 45 minutes journey. The best advantage of this hotel are nice swimming pools (2 of 3 as one is closed and dirty) and great sea view. In general hotel buidlings are quite impressive although a bit "tired". Rooms are big enough, with comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Beach unfortunately in not very nice. Breakfast is a choice of philippino or western dish with cofee/tea served in nice restaurant with great view - pool and sea. Staff is amazingly nice and helpfull, always with smiles on their faces :). In general good option , however a bit far to restaurants and bars. For short stay - perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

from mactan airport, this place is just 30 mins away. the room we stayed in has double beds, clean and roomy. It has a sliding door that leads to the pool amenities and the beach. there are many pools, but the main pool seems to be the favorite of all as it has a scenic view of the sea. each unit seems to have direct access to a personal jacuzzi, but when we stayed there, it was covered. it would have been a nice feature to experience. though the place is clean and quite, it is a bit old. furthermore, the beach is not well maintained. if you are after a quite place to just relax and have a personal retreat, it is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelbizdevco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Vista Mar … Oh, where do I start?
When I booked the hotel I ordered a pick-up from the airport, oops didn’t turn up. So got a taxi and asked for the Vista Mar Hotel. Sure no problem, but what address is it I was asked. This was where the trouble started, it appeared the taxi driver thought he knew where it was but when we got there it wasn’t there. Some two hours later and a taxi fee of 600 pesos we finally arrived at the hotel. It turned out that nobody could understand the address. It has to be noted that we arrived at the Vista Mar village after only 20 minutes ride from the airport and were told by the guards that Vista Mar Beach Resort & Country Club was not in the village. During our two hour journey around Mactan my wife tried to ring the hotel three or four times, but the phone only rang out, no answer. Eventually we had a local person ride with us in the cab trying to find the hotel. After two hours and many circles we stopped at the Vista Mar Village again and the local and my wife (a Filipina) got out to talk to the guards. While the cab was parked, the driver and I noticed a sign with the Vista Mar name at the top with an arrow pointing straight ahead 10 metres. Again after a short detour it turns out the sign should have pointed right. The guards claimed that they were new and weren’t aware of the hotel.
Lesson – the address for the hotel is incorrect and the only way people can find the hotel is to ask for the Soto Grande Hotel. The telephone number listed for the Vista Mar is only manned till 5 pm, after that time there is no one to answer it. The number needs changing to the reception number.
From that bad start it only got worse. The state of the bathroom equipment was terrible. The shower mixer was stuck on tap and shower so there was insufficient water to get a real shower, and the waste cover in the shower was broken, leaving a 2 inch hole, dangerous to say the least. The waste plug on the wash hand basin had become detached from the waste pull lever so it was impossible to get a basin of water.
Then there was the coffee and tea set-up. Everything was there to make cups of tea or coffee but NO kettle.
The following morning the WC drain blocked so it would not flush properly, but after talking to room service it was fixed within a couple of hours.
The only saving grace for us was that the rooms were clean and the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, and, as there appeared to be only one or two other guests in the hotel, the two pools that were open were basically our own.
This appears to be a hotel in financial trouble, with no money being spent on normal room or facility maintenance. As a result no one seems to want to use the hotel even though heavy discounts are offered. As it appears that the Soto Grande Hotel has the same owner it is hard to understand why the Vista Mar is allowed to be so run down and bad, especially as the location and the potential facilities of the Vista Mar are wonderful.
Until the hotel is fixed up I could not recommend it.

Room Tip: Arrive in daylight and ask to see the rooms available. Upper level rooms may be better than ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lapu Lapu hotels

Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

personally I think it is all about value, what you get, what you pay...
this is not a 4 star hotel, but it has a lot going for it;
close to the airport, nice pools, a reasonable beach, great staff
if you can stay there for about 3,000 peso's then I think it is worth it, but I would not pay much more than that
a couple of things, there is wi fi but not in the rooms, only in the lobby and it does not have a/c so if you want to update your facebook it is ok but if you have any real work to do (online) this might not be a good choice
there is also more to the hotel than at first glance, a basketball court, table tennis, a bit of a sanctuary
would I stay there again, yes, as long as i did not have to do any work on the internet

Room Tip: groundfloor easier to get to the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ron e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

you must try their clubhouse sandwich, once you’ll stay with this resort.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shimmerpurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Infinity pool is relaxing. Check Agoda rates first before booking. Rooms are well-maintained and clean. Bathroom is modern and bright. However, floor tiles in bath area are very slippery and maybe dangerous. The Continental breakfast was heavenly but cooking time and preparation are very slow.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talonglang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.3 mi away
Sotogrande Hotel & Resort
Sotogrande Hotel & Resort
#20 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
649 reviews
1.2 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#14 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach
2.0 mi away
BlueFins Resort
BlueFins Resort
#13 of 53 in Lapu Lapu
31 reviews
1.6 mi away
Karancho Beach Resort
Karancho Beach Resort
#2 of 24 in Lapu Lapu
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Mar Beach Resort & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Mar Beach Resort & Country Club

Property: Vista Mar Beach Resort & Country Club
Address: Dap - dap Mactan, Lapu Lapu, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Mar Beach Resort & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vista Mar Beach Resort & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Mar Beach Resort & Country Club Hotel Lapu Lapu
Vista Mar Beach Resort And Country Club
Vista Mar Beach Resort & Country Club Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing