We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sotogrande Hotel & Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$321
US$298
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$296
US$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eloisa Royal Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
US$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goldberry Suites & Hotel(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haruhay Dream Resort(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
16
49
44
22
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
49
44
22
22
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012

A great place to stay for a little getaway. We went with 2 other couples in October. The weather was unpredictable but overall very good. Enjoyed making use of the two pools they have, one with a great view of the sea, the other quite and relaxing. Staff was very friendly and helpful when it came to taxis, massages, restaurant reservations and excursions. The women at the front desk negotiated for us and got the best prices. Only suggestion is that many times when leaving the complex we went right, try to go left. There looked like some great places to go and have a drink and dinner. Enjoy and take advantage of the boats.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnudyNudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is a good place to stay if you're looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is a bit far from major commercial centers and restaurants. If you just want to go swimming and relax, then this place should be alright. Hotel guests can use the beach at Vistamar, which is just a few steps away. You can park your car at Vistamar's parking area as well.

We booked the room through agoda.com, which offered lower rates compared to booking directly with the hotel.
Breakfast buffet selections are not the usual "breakfast dishes," but are very filling. I actually liked them.
Kettle and (free) coffee provided in room.

PROS:
* Deluxe Room is spacious with balcony
* Ample countertop space in bathroom; basic toiletries provided (soap, shampoo, shower cap)
* Very good water pressure
* Complimentary water bottles
* Airconditioned and marbled hotel lobby (most beachside hotels have open-air lobbies)
* Staff doesn't linger expecting tips when performing services for you

CONS:
* Moldy spots on shower curtain as well as some rusty spots on fixtures need to be thoroughly cleaned/replaced -- problem is not severe and can easily be corrected
* Room walls could use some scrubbing (wall stains from AC)
* Overcharging for food items could happen if you're not the type to double check the bill

Remember to always pay attention to the food bill. The prices listed on the menu are exclusive of tax and service charge. We were overcharged for certain food items. We were being complacent and caught the error too late the first time. The second time, they rectified the "mistake" after we pointed out that a certain food item only cost half the amount being billed to us. It helps to know how much the ordered items are listed on the menu.

Despite the cons and the "billing slip up," I'd still consider staying here.
The overall hotel/room quality (luxury feel) and it being by the beach make SotoGrande a good deal at only roughly US$66/P2800 per night. There are not many resorts/hotels offering nice accommodations within the same price range.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadeVert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I visited this resort last year with my close friend. We didnt stay for a night because friends have told me that this place is not that big and attractive.
Fortunately, during my "day use" with my friend turned out well and i think i didnt have much expectations from them that i wasnt disappointed at all.
I like the food that they serve for lunch buffet because they are really flavorful and it think it was worth each penny i paid ( it's part of the day use package by the way).

Moreover, the beachfront isnt that wide and free from seaweeds but at least they maintain the shoreline from being garbage-free.
The pool is big and families can enjoy and feeling safe as there are lifeguards on the look out~!

I think , if you want to enjoy the day with friends and family for outdoor activities, you should visit this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sooky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

my boyfriend and i booked to this hotel for a day and a night of stay considering the fact that the price is hefty! surprisingly, as soon as we entered the hotel, the receptionist told us that no more rooms available for two! so, we didnt have choice but to be accommodated in a suite room for four with two beds!(too huge for us!) the room was nice, however the water coming out from the shower and the tub was sooooo dirty and rusty that made me stop to take a shower. in addition to that, the door couldnt be easily opened that it needed several tries! its sooo upsetting that the aircon wasnt that cool as well.. last but not the least, food served for breakfast is either salty, super sweet, super oily... i cant describe!!!!!! and u know!! the staff were not that kind and polite especially the ones on the front desk..

overall, its not worth our single penny!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeongsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The Hotel is perfect for a tourist like me who went there for a timeout from a very busy lifestyle at work and in the city. I felt like it was the safest place in Mactan Island. The crew were very accommodating, the food in the hotel were really fantastic. The View is superb and the room is very neat though. I never had a problem getting a cab from the hotel, a call to the receptionist would be the most awesome way of getting a cab from the city to get in the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BushLacson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews